Yu still a defend Tivoli to the hilt...eh Willi?
Jamaica's monthly murder rate dips below 80 for the first ..
((L - T)/T) * 100% = 300% where L is last year, T is this year
L = 3T +T
If we this year is 1, then last year is 4
If we this year is 5, then last year is 20
The result is never negative... unless people are raised from the deadThe same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Use logic man.
Most of the gang killing was PNP on PNP. I know nuff PNP bloggers were bawling about it and said the politicians turned a blind eye. Tivoli had nutten to do with that.
Yes, they had their fair share of criminality and gun running and that get cut, but that alone does not even come close to justifying the stunning fall in the murder rate.
To my mind, the only RATIONAL explanation is the shift in the fear factor. The power is with the armed forces and NOW people see what they can do without restraint and can guess what they can do fully unleashed.
I recall talking to people here back in April May about Gorillas and I am still laughing. UNNO NEED FI UNDERSTAND THE AWESOME POWER OF THE DEFENSE FORCE. SO FAR UNNO ONGLY SEE 1%. The criminals suss out that dem cant manage even that 1% and so are taking a different tack.
Originally posted by Lazie View PostWhen the numbers were going in one direction, unuh complain. The numbers are now going in another direction, unuh still a complain. Oh well ...
Yup! That rate of murder is unacceptable and thus still too high!
Complain we must ...and rightly so.
Matters not if it is PNP - (Lazie: I wonda iffin yuh memba dat wi used to cuss pure r@#$$$ and call dun fiyah an brimestone pan di PNP fi dis?) - or JLP complain we must as the f!@#$%^&iin high murda rate is wikedly too high!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
You amazing. You deh pon an agenda.
How the hell you try sell man poon the fact that all that was evil in Jamaica is Tivoli. Is dem cause Jungle fi war wid dem one annadah.
There are MULTIPLE evils in Jamaica and all had their share in that portion of the murder rate that has fallen.
When you have a PNP street in Jungle with 4 egresses and 3 a dem PNP and one JLP and those people can only leave the area safely via the JLP egress, what dat tell yuh???
PNP on PNP gang murders have been out of control for over a decade! Dat was significant. Tivoli had their fair share as well, with their Rema internecine war and their extension to Span Town and parts beyond.
Unno can gwaan do ostrich. I am seeing it all in its entirety and dont give any a free pass.
I agree with you there Karl. Right direction, but absolute number still unacceptable.
I just dont like the political football Mo is playing trying to lay it ALL on Tivoli, when we all know nutten nuh go so. That is a STATISTIC.
There are lies, damn lies and then there are statistics. LoL
Originally posted by Karl View PostRe: Complain
Yup! That rate of murder is unacceptable and thus still too high!
Complain we must ...and rightly so.
Matters not if it is PNP - (Lazie: I wonda iffin yuh memba dat wi used to cuss pure r@#$$$ and call dun fiyah an brimestone pan di PNP fi dis?) - or JLP complain we must as the f!@#$%^&iin high murda rate is wikedly too high!
Acknowledge that the numbers are trending down, but more needs to be done. But the continuous bitching even though the numbers are reducing month after month is ..........."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Willi View PostI agree with you there Karl. Right direction, but absolute number still unacceptable.
I just dont like the political football Mo is playing trying to lay it ALL on Tivoli, when we all know nutten nuh go so. That is a STATISTIC.
There are lies, damn lies and then there are statistics. LoL
Tivoli's effect was significant. It was widely believed that Dudus controlled the wharf thru which many guns and ammunition flowed. It is widely believed that they also controlled rogue cops who were being supported with fat salaries on the side. Wi don't even have to talk bout di drugs.
As for protection from cops and the army - where do these criminals run to when they need to excape from the law? Where in Jamaica was safer for them to go? Where in Jamaica was out of bounds for our security forces?!?
Gangsters don't care where they get their stock from. If that assembly line pop dung, fi di most part, then the stocks (guns, ammo, drugs, etc.) will decline, hence CRIME will decline. It's pretty simple!
With the demise of the Tivoli Kartel, there is now increased hope! Thank God for Bruce Golding!
uh... not sure maybe you watching too much tv.. the weather in toronto is no different from NY City. The point I was making is 80 murders is still too much.... The gov can talk all they want about policing but what have they done to create jobs. I see where Mr. Hart suggest a national house building plan thay would be used as a stimulus and provide jobs and homes and clean up the squatter mess and I agree. Proably more so after the Hyway 2000 project. That will drive done crime if done properly.