• www.BrownMen@War.Com

Vaz vows to stay in race for JLP gen sec

BY INGRID BROWN Senior staff reporter browni@jamaicaobserver.com

Thursday, October 07, 2010

DEPUTY treasurer of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) Daryl Vaz vowed yesterday he will not back out of the race for general secretary of the party, despite an announcement from the incumbent Karl Samuda that he is contemplating re-entering the race for the post he currently holds.

Samuda, who made the announcement in a radio interview yesterday, had officially indicated to the party's Standing Committee on Monday night that he would not be seeking re-election for general secretary during the JLP's annual conference in November.

But Vaz made it clear yesterday that although Samuda was well within his right to change his mind, he has no intention of withdrawing from the race.

"That is the right of every individual who serves in the party, and if it is that you can get an answer out of him as to what changed between two months ago and which was formally announced on Monday to the Standing Committee, one of the highest bodies in the party, and for him to announce on radio

or television, on Wednesday morning, that this decision is no longer, then good luck to him," Vaz said.

Vaz, who was responding to questions posed by journalists following yesterday's post- Cabinet press briefing at Jamaica House in Kingston, denied that there was any bitter rivalry brewing between himself and deputy general secretary, Aundre Franklyn, who is also vying for the post.

"As far as I am concerned anybody who is a member of the party that feels that they can serve in a particular capacity should be free to do so," Vaz said.

He, however, maintained that the energy he would be bringing to the table is needed to take the party to victory in the next general elections.

Vaz explained that he initially offered himself for the post after Samuda indicated at an officers meeting two weeks ago that he had advised Prime Minister Bruce Golding two months ago, that he would not make himself available for nomination in November.

"It was on that basis that I put my name forward," Vaz said.

Quizzed as to whether he would consider withdrawing from the race if Samuda decides to run, Vaz said no.

"I have put myself forward on the basis of a platform and, therefore, if there is a change of mind then we should go and sell to colleagues in the party what our vision is and how we intend to fund and organise it," he said.

Noting that Samuda is one of two general secretaries to take the party to victory, Bruce Golding being the other, Vaz said they have left the template and winning method.

"A lot of credit has to be given to him for that but at the same time it needs a level of dedication and energy which I believe I bring," he said.

He added that he will need Samuda to work with him, to share his experience with his energy if he is successful in his bid for the position.

He explained further that he entered the race because of what he thought he could bring to the table going into the next two years.

"It's not about who has had shortcomings or what has not been done. It is a matter of what do I bring and how do I intend to implement it and that is what I will be doing in the coming weeks in a very civilised, normal manner," he insisted.

Pressed as to whether he has been overly confident about the support he will receive from within the party, Vaz said he never enters a race on the basis of over-confidence.

As to how much of the 180 members of the Central Executive he can rely on to vote for him, Vaz said he has not solicited even one vote so far.

"I have not made one telephone call in terms of soliciting because those days are done... what they want to see and hear is what is your plan," he said.

He said he is currently developing that plan and will be hitting the streets with a Power Point presentation along with a team of young and energetic persons as well as some older members of

the party.

He noted also that he would be prepared to give up his information portfolio if he had to.

"Daryl Vaz is prepared to do anything that is required to make sure the 100 per cent effort that is required to put this party back in fighting fit election mode is done," he said.

all well and good for the Daft One to be Gen Sec. All we need now is for the deputy prime minister to be replaced with another congenital liar, and wi set!

hmm.. I detect some color prejudice here..

you have some grouse against Brown Men ?

Out Of Many One People!

sigh!

how Batman and Robin operate when Batman nuh like Robin color ?

all well and good for the Daft One to be Gen Sec. All we need now is for the deputy prime minister to be replaced with another congenital liar, and wi set!
            coming out of the closet .....

Colour prejudice is historically the JLP's stock in trade.

Probably one reason that tribe is not more successful at the polls.... and there is loose chat about Jamaica being so-called PNP country.

One doesn't have to make that up...it's viewable for all to see...In Living Colour.. LoL!

...or lack thereof!

yuh ever notice how these racists quick fi draw fi di race card when the obvious is pointed out? and they hide behind our silly motto just to justify their own racism!

it don't fool me!

...or lack thereof!

yuh ever notice how these racists quick fi draw fi di race card when the obvious is pointed out? and they hide behind our silly motto just to justify their own racism!

it don't fool me!
                  that defensive maneuver is all they have..

oh ?

And what color is the JLP prejudiced against ? Does this include its membership ? wheh yuh seh.. self-hate ?

lol ! woiiee !

racists ?

hmm.... how we reach there ?

A Ghetto Boys tune comes to mine.. gwaan thump di concrete...

self hate? of course not! out of many...

It is Outameni... don't tink dat is a JLP creation...

makka everywhere yuh tun..

i couldn't care less if it was even PNP created. fact is it was created by a certain sector of the population that needed a way to justify their prejudice and discrimination. it so happens that sector is mostly found in one particular party.

but yet is di oddah party create a whole tourist attraction out of it... bling it up..

keep digging...