• US Sorry Over Deliberate Syphilis Infections

US sorry over deliberate sex infections in Guatemala

Syphilis can cause blindness, insanity and even death
    The United States government has apologised for infecting hundreds of people in Guatemala with gonorrhoea and syphilis as part of medical tests almost 60 years ago.
    Many of the infected were mentally ill patients and prisoners who did not give their consent.
    Secretary of State Hillary Clinton has condemned the research as unethical and reprehensible.
    At the time, the US wanted to test vaccines against venereal diseases.
    Many of the infected patients were never given adequate treatment.
    Evidence of the programme was unearthed by Prof Surab Reverby at the Wellesley College. She says the Guatemalan government gave permission for the tests.

Experiments
    No offer of compensation has been made yet but an investigation will be launched into the specifics of the study which took place over four years in the 1940s.
    The study by Prof Reverby shows that US government medical researchers infected almost 700 people in Guatemala with two sexually transmitted diseases.
    The patients, prisoners and mental heath patients, were unaware they were being experimented upon.
    The doctors used prostitutes with syphilis to infect them, as they tried to determine whether penicillin could prevent syphillis, not just cure it.
    The patients were then treated for the disease but it's unclear whether everyone was cured.

Dis must be a joke.

HL! Is what wrong wid unnu?

Cho !@#$%^&!!

didn't they also do this to black people in Alabama?

Yep. The Tuskeegee experiment I believe. Careful Jawge claims this is all propaganda.

Babylon itself has been forced to acknowledge the evil

yuh mean "careless jawge" ....

perhaps...but that does not mean that the once noble chiron formerly sagest of all centaurs cannot see through it for the propoganda that it is....

yuh have to wonder where else was this experiment done, and if they are currently running one...hmmm...AIDS in sub-saharan Africa, the Caribbean...nah! Dem coulda never suh wikkid!

what you seh, half-man half-a55 blinded by all that is Americana?

half man...full a55!

hey... mosiah remember the Tuskegee Experiments. Same thing.............

President Clinton apologized for this 'mishap' during his presidency....

AIDS in sub-saharan Africa, the Caribbean...nah! Dem coulda never suh wikkid!
                        a suh de all-americans dem wudda want us to believe... mi nuh put nutten pass dem... from a long time wi a hear seh hiv was an american experiment gawn bad... mi still believe dat...

if mi membah? mi will neva figget! especially like how is your school was a run it!

That is just the tip of the iceberg. The CIA aided and supported tyrannical regimes that oppressed and brutalized their people from Argentina & Brazil to Congo and beyond......

hey... mosiah remember the Tuskegee Experiments. Same thing.............

President Clinton apologized for this 'mishap' during his presidency....
                              Important that you point out that the Tuskegee Experiments were done on poor Black people.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran