China denies 'hidden agenda' in JDIP programme

• China denies 'hidden agenda' in JDIP programme

KINGSTON, Jamaica, CMC – China has denied having a “hidden agenda” in a J$36 billion (US$421.5 million) development infrastructural programme being carried out by the Jamaica government.

Chinese Ambassador to Jamaica, Chen Jinghua, said that Beijing’s cooperation with the Bruce Golding government on the Jamaica Development Infrastructure Programme (JDIP) is open and transparent.

"We have always given full respect to the sovereignty and development paths of Jamaica. We have always followed the principles of mutual respect, mutual non-interference, in each others' internal affairs," Chen said at the 2010 China Harbour Engineering Conference that ends here on Friday.

"We have always been offering sincere and friendly assistance to Jamaica and never touch any political conditionality for such assistance.

"We will never follow the old path of colonialism or imperialism since we have no such policy or desire, nor is it ever in our tradition or genes to do so,” he said, adding that Beijing has always offered sincere and friendly assistance to Jamaica and never attached any political conditionality to such assistance.

"We have always given full respect to the sovereignty and development paths of Jamaica and never interfered in its internal affairs," the Chinese ambassador added.

The five-year JDIP programme is funded by a loan secured from the Export/Import Bank of China.

A government statement said that the conference, part of activities to mark Engineering Week in Jamaica, coincides with the 30th anniversary of the China Harbour Engineering Company (CHEC) that will participate in the JDIP “which has been described as the country's most comprehensive road rehabilitation initiative”.

Chen said the JDIP would not only elevate the travelling comfort of Jamaicans, but would also set up a solid infrastructure foundation for the country, as it strives for economic and social development.

He noted that CHEC "has maintained a keen sense of social responsibility alongside business expansion in terms of creating the greatest value for its clients, establishing win-win cooperation, carrying out technology transfer and fulfilling both commercial and social responsibilities."

The conference is also part of the technology transfer process, as it will illustrate the most advanced technology that are commonly used in China for highway and bridge construction, as well as mountainous road designs, which may be more feasible in the rural conditions of Jamaica.

Local engineers are expected to benefit from the knowledge and expertise of Chinese engineers on design and construction of roads and highways, and solidify long-term, professional relationship among the engineers, the government statement said.

Meanwhile, CHEC Latin America general manager, Tang Zhongdong, said that the knowledge sharing experience would contribute significantly to improving road conditions and subsequently, the economic development of the country.

"This will be accomplished through the provision of educational opportunities for qualified candidates as well as technical training," he added.

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=22842

China cares only about it's well being. China does not care about the welfare of Jamaica. China is not known for it's humanitarian traits nor habits.

It's quite amusing to see some folks jump head-over-heels...being happy about how the Chinese are "investing" in Jamaica.

China is attracted to corrupt governments. And they are making headway because a broke (and corrupt) government will easily succumb to a dangling carrot.

I can bet that most of the terms from these negotiations are not made public!!

LAST:

I recall the Koreans constructed the road from MoBay to Negril. It required lots of skilled engineering. Why did local engineers not benefit from that experience....? All of a sudden they will benefit from the Chinese--and will be able to build roads after this:!!!~~sigh~~

Oh BTW...Good post King Lazie!!!

The chinese are constructing a few buildings near MoBay.

On those buildings are extremely large Chinese (calligraphic) writings. Does anyone one knows what these writings say?

Would be nice to see the english interpretation next to the chinese writings.

For all I know they could be telling the people to......

Look, let me stop:

Solid points HL. On the question of engineers; I think the answer you will hear is that the local engineers can do the job and even better. The local enigineers are just "getting a fight an certain peeple nuh waan see man eat nuh food".

The truth of the matter is that there are some skilled engineers on the island (though few) but it's the poor negotiation skills of our present and past govts. One also has to factor in the fact that JA is always seeking aid with very little to offer in terms of trade. Therefore the aid/loan can come in the form of expertise (in short everything goes back to the lender), thus the island is only left with the finished product (and not an ongiong learning of expertise) and loans with interests.

It's now time for the people to insist that any foreign firms that comes to build or repair Ja's infrasturcure must have the civil engineering students from CAST coopting on the project.

HL, the above also amplifies my call for a school of History and political science in JA.