He will either be found guilty or there will be a hung jury necessitating a new trial.
i read this and is concerned about buju's fate...
Yep. In Florida, even if you did not plan the crime and even if you did not know there was going to be a crime, if you are there as part of the group when the crime is committed by other parts of the group, and if a gun is involved, you are considered to be guilty of a gun crime.
Either he will be found guilty outright or there will be a hung jury. Whichever, he will not see the light of freedom any time soon. His undoing was the recording of him chatting about mouths to feed, etc. That is much more damning than him taking a taste of stuff. The taste by itself does not mean he was getting into the marketing biz. It just meant he was a user of drugs."Jah Jah see dem a come, but I & I a Conqueror!"
i don't think that it is common place but they may have thought they would have to treat him as a hostile witness and that would be too risky OR they felt that they had done enough with the other witnesses and he would not add anyhing.
everything seems like a concerted effort to get buju from the get go......
I did not know that Westman, re Florida gun laws.If even if you did not KNOW a crime was being planned?
Bwoy that is a tough on for people who live inna certain areas. Discriminatory even."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
there is a gun charge too? wasn't aware. based on what you just said though, if he is not guilty of the conspiracy because of entrapment I fail to see how he can be guilty for the gun crime if he wasn't even there at the time the deal took place anyway.
him definitely run up him mouth no doubt but i think the case against him is flimsy especially because of the involvment of the informant who gets paid per arrest, if that isn't an incentive to entrap i don't know what is.
indeed... concerted effort to get buju from the get go... the informant said as much... on the job from day one... the others were not on the flight... notsure if this was brought up in the trial, the question of who puchased the informants plane ticket and seat assignment... i think that line of argument could have advanced the entrapment defense since the informant admitted being on the job from day one... when did day one begin...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
what about day one pertaining to buju's case... it appears too much of a coincidence that the informant could just arbitrarily be seated next to buju on the flight... does the informant just arbitrarily engage passengers he is seated next to in drug conversations in an effort to entrap them... could buju's lawyer subpoena the airlines to provide info on the ticket purchase... when, where, who, method of payment...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
that could be coincidence.....buju is famous suh he would have known buju i am sure and then just hatch a plan to say..THIS would be a big fish to land! of course buju's running off at the mouth would have sealed it...
Originally posted by Gamma View Posti don't think that it is common place but they may have thought they would have to treat him as a hostile witness and that would be too risky OR they felt that they had done enough with the other witnesses and he would not add anyhing.
everything seems like a concerted effort to get buju from the get go......
The defense lawyer did not want to use them because they had signed a deal with the govt and may attempt to recant their story.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
heheheh ... so witness credibility was an even bigger issue than i thought initially .... i wonder how much of this information the defence was able to get to the jury?
Well, six must have thought the crime occurred when he was not there. The wildest thing I have seen in this state of Florida, is that someone had a weapon at a crime and his co-criminals did not know that. The weapon holder did a plea bargain before the others and the others received added years because it was considered a gun crime."Jah Jah see dem a come, but I & I a Conqueror!"