OBSERVER: Buju Banton Jury In Recess For The Night

• OBSERVER: Buju Banton Jury In Recess For The Night

The OBSERVER has reported that the jury in the Buju Banton trial has adjourned for the night and will resume deliberations Friday morning.

I dont wanna be left out of Zion Gate

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVd5pqIcp_M

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Hold the faith

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-aG1yPb-1Ns

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Dem caan get mi down .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eqqhT...eature=related

Mi hear the bredda Professor David Rowe saying on NNN that Buju more than likely will be going down.

Maybe him know more bout the jury in those parts than we do.

I have to say, as ****************ed off as I am with Buju, I would not find him guilty on those serious charges based on the evidence I heard. I dont think he is an innocent victim but there was just too much encouragement on the part of the govt to make the case.

I think he is innocent based on the info, not financing the deal goes a far way.It has to be entrapment.

Poor choice of acquaitances.

Buju: Will 'the full' be told?
                BARBARA GLOUDON

Friday, September 24, 2010

FOR FANS of hometown drama, notice is hereby served... the long-running soap opera of MP and P is in hiatus. Resolution of the Brady Bangarang will have to wait a bit. Shiney and Dual Citizenship moves down a notch. Post-mortem of the kiss and make up of Sister P and Bredda P is being sidelined for the time being as Buju occupies prime time.
                The mega-drama of the week is being played out not here, but in a Florida courtroom where one of our most famous men of music is on trial for his freedom and his reputation. It is sobering to consider that Buju has already spent nearly a year incarcerated, waiting for the trial which has finally become an international and national event. Media interest has helped to make it everybody's business.

Up until mid-week, when the trial began moving into high gear, the talk here was that Buju had been set up by the "b-men dem". It is common knowledge, say the people who make knowledge common, that "dem set up Buju", because of that certain song which has brought him dubious fame. He has been targeted many times overseas, to the detriment of his earnings. No Jamaican wants to believe that there could be any truth in the allegations that he was actually entering into a drug deal with a man who, to no one's surprise, turned out to be a professional informer. Why, people ask, would a star who is on the list of the 10 richest reggae artistes - according to a report published last week - endanger himself by going down that road? Surely Buju could not be that naïve?
                So, up to mid-week as the trial got under way, nobody here saw it as anything more than a set-up. Then the reports began to come out and voice tapes and film footage, the latter being the most challenging. It is becoming hard for Buju fans to keep the faith when, it is reported, he's actually seen on film tasting the stuff.
                If Buju were to be proved "not innocent", a lot of disillusionment would follow. A guilty verdict is the last thing we need right now. Brand Jamaica is taking too much of a beating these days. A "Buju-gate" we don't need. It is not only a matter of national image, but the pride of those who have awarded our star performers the accolade of "icon".
                A Rastafarian, speaking on radio here the other night, was outraged at the very idea that any man of his faith would stand accused of being mixed up with the forbidden "white girl". The contrition which Buju expressed to the court did nothing to appease the Rastaman. He, like so many others here, are unmoved by confessions and repentance and all that jazz. We have heard that story too often.
                So now, the drama continues in Florida which still proves itself to be an extension of the Jamaican coastline. It's not only that "nuff a we" live there, but nuff about we happen there. So all eyes are on Tampa and that courtroom where it is not just one man against the law, but Brand Jamaica against US Drug Enforcement.
                While Buju is making the news for all the wrong reasons, his name was appearing on a list of the 10 richest Jamaican reggae artistes. He is listed as taking in some US$4 million, equivalent to $1.8 billion. (How Audley would love that in the coffers!) The report didn't say if this was before or after taxes. Big "diffrance". You don't need much imagination to see the taxmen -- at home and abroad -- salivating as they prepare to jump in and reap what they did not sow.
                Four million US dollars is a lot of hard-dough bread, my friends, enough to incite protest that Buju wouldn't need any cocaine deal. He is doing well, right? Or is there something we don't know? In comparison to what others in the Top Ten rake in, Buju is way down the line from the leaders. His four-mill is a long way off from Shaggy's reported US$22 million which works out to $18 billion in our language. (Eat your heart out, Audley.)
                Whether the list is fact or fiction, we do not yet know. There has been no published comment from any of the stars. While we speculate, only their accountants know for sure. People in the business have pointed out that we shouldn't get carried away when we hear of all that big money. The bigger the money, the bigger the bills. By the time the accounts have been settled, after the taxman has taken his cut, big can become surprisingly mawga. Never mind that one man's "mawga" is another man's nuff and plenty. If the list is for real, let us wish the winners cool runnings and sound investments for the future.
                By the way, have you noticed how low-key the really big stars are about their private lives? That's how come you didn't know that Shaggy recently became the daddy of twin girls. That makes three daughters for the mega star who's said to be a great family man. Good for you, boss.
                WHERE ARE THE GIRLS? How come there are no women on the entertainment top-earners list? Because... the industry is still a man business. Never mind that there are women out there whose talent and skill make some of their male competitors look like Muss-Muss, even as they pose as Big Rats. Women are expected to work for less, and be prepared to fight (sometimes very literally) for their turf. From the long-established divas to the stars wanting to rise, the struggle continues. It would be interesting to see what a top female star's pay-slip looks like next to the big boys'. It's about time things changed, yuh nuh.
                I'VE GOT MAIL: A gentleman took me to task for praising the Fashion's Night Out promotion in last week's column. He wasn't excited one bit by his experiences. Tacky goods in most places, he said. Little, if any, quality stuff. His sister tried in vain to find some good leather shoes. Nil. Why is everything China synthetic? As to the discounts... not as generous as claimed. No... he was not a happy camper... and he seems to expect that these comments would not see the light of day. Read on, Sir, read on.
                Last week, my query was, where did so many people get money for a shopping spree in the midst of hard times? A woman in one of the popular on-the-street bawlie-out shows, spoke directly into the camera. "We always say, we nuh have no money, but when we waan spend, we can find it." True word, Madam, true word, but... could somebody please tell the rest of us where the loot is stored?
                CYAAN BELIEVE IT? Cuban government laying off workers? Cutting the size of their public sector? And all this happening while Fidel is still alive? Truly, what never happen in a year, definitely happens in a day. Whether you say it in Spanish or whatever, is a different kinda revolution. Listen for social scientists writing the epitaph for socialism... although Up So, Obama's foes are accusing him of embracing the doctrine, just because he wants to help poor people. Whatta world.
                gloudonb@yahoo.com