so shahine robinson finally decide to give up...

• so shahine robinson finally decide to give up...

Robinson throws in the towel

Former North East St. Ann MP, Shahine Robinson. (Gleaner Company photo)

Jamaica Labour Party Member of Parliament for North-East St. Ann, Shahine Robinson, is reportedly ending her fight against an election petition brought against her, by the People's National Party's Manley Bowen.
    Thursday, at her pre-trial hearing in the case, Mrs. Robinson told the Supreme Court, that she no longer intends to oppose the petition.
    Unfit MP
    Supreme Court Judge, Roy Jones, has given her until Friday, to file the notice of her intent, with the registrar of the Supreme Court.
    As soon as she files the notice, she will be out of Parliament.
    Pundits say any such concession on the part of the MP is tantamount to an admission that she is unfit to sit as MP.
    Former People's National Party Member of Parliament, Manley Bowen had contended that Mrs. Robinson was not eligible to remain in Parliament, because she was an American citizen, at the time of her nomination, ahead of the September 2007 General Election.
    Bombshell evidence
    RJR News reported, Wednesday, that lawyers representing Manley Bowen, the man challenging her right to remain in the seat, say they have unearthed evidence showing that she is a US citizen.
    The lawyers filed the new information before the Supreme Court, last week, and have asked Mrs. Robinson and her attorneys to respond.
    Mr. Bowen's attorney, Raymond Clough, told RJR News they have found information that Mrs. Robinson holds a US alien registration card; a certificate of naturalisation; and that she had sworn allegiance to the US government in 2006.
    When contacted, Manley Bowen's attorneys said they were constrained from comment due to an agreement to allow Mrs. Robinson to speak publicly on the matter.
    Shahine silent
    However, the troubled Member of Parliament Shahine Robinson says she is withholding public comments on the latest developments.
    When contacted on Thursday afternoon, moments after news emerged that she will not be contesting the case, the third term MP told RJR News that she is reserving comment on the matter.
    Mrs. Robinson says the matter will be handled by her attorneys and as such she will be allowing them to respond.
    Efforts to contact her lead attorney, Nesta Claire-Smith, were unsuccessful up to news time.
    Attorney-at-law Ransford Braham, who is also a member of the MP's legal team, told our new centre that he was neither commenting on nor off the record on the matter.

she just going to step away like that? what about all the money that was wasted trying to defend against the indefensible?!? she should pay back every cent!

and she is no different from her boss. SHE IS A BAREFACED LIAR!

was thinking the same thing... what a way she and her boss lie and audacious... dem feel like dem a monarchy... she should stand the cost yes... all a dat could be avoided if she and her boss knew honesty...

bruce nuh resign yet...

"Comrades, we always believe that we are best for Jamaica, so ANYTHING that will cause us to be in power is therefore best for Jamaica..."

Pity the decades of evidence indicates quite the contrary...

Jamaica is PNP country and the state of the country since it became so in 1972 is proof positive..

Unnuh hero Joshua was a sociopath and unnuh a bawl bout non-disclosed citizenship status in the context of a politricks bakkle ?

LOL !!!

getting harder by the day isnt it? Bway your boss dem a give you basket fi carry water. Keep cashing those checks bro.

yuh kno di tribalist dem inna bad way annna fret wen dem start talk bout di "Jamaica is PNP country" "18 year inna di wildaness" an "Is Manley Fault" etc

Talk bout Bittah! All dem did haffi duh is play it strait an nuh tell suh much lie...fi keep out di PNP wich did suh discredited by failure & corruption.... but instead di corruption an lie dem ah bun fiya pon di JLP dem inna record time to ****************!

The day of reckoning draweth nigh.... and the time at the trough may be coming to an early end...

Mi ah gwaan watch di foolfool politician dem baba...

LOL!!
            Last edited by Don1; September 17, 2010, 09:12 AM.

and to think that i had expected the laborites, after being on the sidelines for 18 yrs would have brought some positive change... weed out the corruption that had begun to adversely affect the country and usher in an era of accountability in governance... couldn't be more disappointed... this govt has taken corruption to a whole new level... from the support of a known criminal at the expense of the decent law abiding citizens... political skullduggery to protect said criminal... attempted deception and manipulation of the electoral system... a laundry list of lies, deceptions and obfuscations... worse, it all begins at the top with the prime minister... therefore, there are anyone within the party with moral authority to demand an end... they should be ashamed but dem shame tree dead long time...

Wishing and hoping...

Yuh shoulda know bettah but I figure di reality is too much to bear..

Guh look pon di pictcha of Obama and Bruce smiling again..

Aftah yuh can watch Bruce ah defend him wicket vs Sackur pace bowling pon Hard Talk.

Bad one I think it's the devices and mechanisms that are left in place (in Ja) why you would think that way. JA is still being run as a colony and this forces the majority to think along this line. it will be hard because many are made to feel that they are part of the elite (the subtle trick of the then colonists) hence the huge social problem.

Why would one not think the members of the JLP are capable of lying, aiding and abetting criminals? hmmmm Bet if this was Nanny P everyone would say "ah I'm not surprised, what else could she be capable of?" hmmmm
                  Last edited by Jawge; September 17, 2010, 01:15 PM.

yuh mean brown people (Bruce, Shahine) can lie like any ghetto person?

Well nuh so it ah look now http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=my85lC0bPQ8&feature=fvsr

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                        and to think that i had expected the laborites, after being on the sidelines for 18 yrs would have brought some positive change... weed out the corruption that had begun to adversely affect the country and usher in an era of accountability in governance... couldn't be more disappointed... this govt has taken corruption to a whole new level... from the support of a known criminal at the expense of the decent law abiding citizens... political skullduggery to protect said criminal... attempted deception and manipulation of the electoral system... a laundry list of lies, deceptions and obfuscations... worse, it all begins at the top with the prime minister... therefore, there are anyone within the party with moral authority to demand an end... they should be ashamed but dem shame tree dead long time...
                        Suh yuh did fall fi di Betta Mus Come hype inna 2007 tuh? Don1 predic di flop an call it yahsuh.... mi did tell unnu seh JLP corrupt & foolfool jus lika PNP.....but mi surprise seh di flop suh dramatic an di corruption an tiefin bad like yaws..

Mek mi search fi di Hard Talk ting

but mi surprise seh di flop suh dramatic an di corruption an tiefin bad like yaws..
                          a dat mi a talk bout...

weed out the corruption that had begun to adversely affect the country and usher in an era of accountability in governance...
                          please, mi was being sarcastic... nuh dat de laborites dem did a talk bout during de election and offer as de reasons fi change...

mi was hopin fi a surprise... mi know long time de crime minister wuss dan puss...

suh when bruce a resign... yuh can buss de news pon de site... nuh dat dem did a discuss yessideh... seems like yuh awgiment get weak from wha day... look like a big hole deh inna yuh sail...

Shahine gives up

Way now clear for judge to declare NE St Ann seat vacant

BY KARYL WALKER Online editor walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com
                              Saturday, September 18, 2010

ATTORNEYS representing embattled Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) member of Parliament for North East St Ann, Shahine Robinson yesterday filed a notice in the High Court indicating that they no longer intend to contest a petition challenging her citizenship status.

A pre-trial review is now set for mention next Wednesday before Justice Roy Jones.
                              Shahine Robinson
                              1/1
                              Once the presiding judge accepts the notice filed by Robinson’s attorneys, the North East St Ann seat she now holds will be declared vacant. A by-election will then be held in the constituency.

Robinson’s attorneys had on Thursday informed Justice Jones that she would not fight the election petition brought against her by former People’s National Party (PNP) MP Manley Bowen.

Robinson’s decision to give up the fight followed the filing of new documents showing she holds American citizenship and had sworn allegiance to the United States.

In a release to the media issued just after 12:00 yesterday morning, Robinson, in apologising, said she believed she had renounced her US citizenship in 2006.

“Sometime in 2006 I became an American citizen by naturalisation. In June 2007, prior to nomination day which was on August 7, 2007, I attended the Immigration and Naturalisation Services Office at Biscayne, Miami, Florida and handed in my United States passport with the intention to renounce my US citizenship. At the time, I was led to believe that this was a sufficient act to renounce my US citizenship so that on nomination day, August 7, 2007 I was of the view that I was no longer a US citizen,” the release stated.

Robinson said she was refused a visitor’s visa when she applied to the US embassy in Kingston after she had returned the US passport.

“At the time when the application was made by me to set aside the judgement which declared my seat vacant, I was in possession of a preliminary opinion from a US attorney-atlaw confirming that the acts carried out by me as set out before did in fact, in the view of that attorney-at-law, amount to renunciation. Since then I am now advised that although I intended to renounce my citizenship in June 2007 the acts carried out by me were not sufficient to constitute a renunciation under American Law. Having regard to my present advice I do not propose to contest the petition when it comes up for hearing on October 4, 2010,” she added.

She said that she intends to complete the process of renunciation in order to be eligible to sit in the house of representatives.

There were reports earlier this year that the ruling JLP and the Opposition PNP had agreed to bury the dual citizenship hatchet and discontinue their bids to unseat Robinson and the PNP’s member of Parliament for Western Hanover, Ian Hayles, whose citizenship status is also being challenged.
                              However, it was not clear yesterday if that agreement still stands, given the new development with the North East St Ann MP.

Three other Government MPs — Daryl Vaz (West Portland), Desmond Gregory Mair (North East St Catherine), and Michael Stern (North West Clarendon) — who all had their seats declared vacant following dual citizenship challenges by the PNP, were returned to Parliament in subsequent byelections.