Mosiah...step over here for a minute...thanks

• Mosiah...step over here for a minute...thanks

I don't want to hijack Assasin's post on roads below.

Here's my question to you: is it true that there are no construction companies in Jamaica--capable of constructing a road/highway?

Thanks in advance.

not true!

if they give jamaican companies the same amount to construct the road as they give to Bouygues, we will see.

Yeah....rrright!

The lions' share of the loan from China will go back to Chinese company that will construct the roads.

Very silly to spend so much money when it could be done locally for less. Or maybe the local companies have not demonstrated the required engineering skills......

HL that is always a condition of these loans. You shoulda see the amount of European a work pon the North Coast hiway.

Is not only because we don't have the expertise but China nuh lend no third world country money without them doing the administration. Only IDB, Worldbank and IMF money you can get without these strings.

HL that is always a condition of these loans. You shoulda see the amount of European a work pon the North Coast hiway.

Is not only because we don't have the expertise but China nuh lend no third world country money without them doing the administration. Only IDB, Worldbank and IMF money you can get without these strings.
          A weh yuh get hit dat under IDB, World Bank and IMF loans yuh nuh affi contract wid fus worl company dem?

Not a must Karl but it has to be reputable companies with experience. In many cases if Jamaican have the experience they can apply for contract or position but not so with the loans sponsored directly by a direct country.

Based on their track record and the quality of roads locals have built, it would be obscene to allow those companies to construct highways.