Soca IS Calypso!

ok ..but i still have a plane to catch

calypso is is to reggae as soca is to danceha...MY look at the time. i have a plane to catch...

when yuh jetting off to boss - another vacation

where u going now!? and why yuh don't tek di yacht?

Deh yacht tek 2 long, plane faster

Originally posted by Historian View Post
            I’m surprised that none of the so-called music experts on this forum saw it fit to correct an erroneous statement made by another poster yesterday that “calypso is not soca… first thing.”

Calypso, despite the early success of Harry Belafonte, never had a mass following outside of the Caribbean community, and (again, in my opinion) the shift to the more “chart friendly” soca was an effort to make the genre more chart oriented.

Their was a calypso following that started 1920 that peaked with a world wide craze 1950 and early 60. The first calypso recording was done in 1910 . but check out the links

Lord Kitchener - Speaks on harry Belafonte contribution

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t8GTbL1Im5o

Kitchener did develop a following in England ...Nat king cole had a song called CALYPSO BLUES http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rf5ivCfZ_cw ... however harry belafonte sang over alot of calypso tunes like this ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F3vga...eature=related

Finally harry on his influences in documentary with sparrow and lord melody http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HWuXc8Y1Rk4

oh and historian is this calypso or mento by lord flea in this movie you decide he was Jamaican btw
            http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YkrB4oL3SW0

Minister Louis Farrakhan - Extempo(CALYPSO FREESTYLE)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzxy9yyB94I
            Last edited by Naminirt; September 16, 2010, 12:07 PM.

well is not for a couple of months but....

yow naminirt... tonks fi de link... mi juss watch de belafonte & nat king cole... enjoyed it... will watch de ress lata... nice...