Growing up stupid under the Union Jack

• Growing up stupid under the Union Jack

I read in the Gleaner that Mr. Golding is leaving it up to his party to decide whether he should leave or stay, and that seems quite quite reasonable to him and his party. Afteral the party is the government, and the party is Jamaica, and the people don't count. That is bad but not too bad. What is really troubling is that he mentioned that he has some legislative changes to make, and I assume he would like to be allowed to make these changes before he is booted out. Again, that is reasonable. I think he means well, and we do need changes. What is troubling to me, is that one of the main reasons for the delay in making these changes, as per Mr. Golding, is that he is seeking advice from British and Canadian legal authorities. Is Mr. Golding for real. I thought we got independence from Britain decades ago. We grew up stupid under the Union Jack, got rid of them, and now he wants advice from them as to the kind of legislative changes we need to make going forward. Someone should remind Mr. Golding that the British don't even have a useful constitution for themselves, let alone to be advising others. What next Mr. Golding, the singing of God save the damn Queen at morning devotion?. What a joker.
    Maybe he should leave before the changes.

do you know what those amendments are by any chance? maybe they actually involve bilateral or multi-lateral relations.

in any event it is not unusual for a sovereign country to look to the legislation of another country in helping it to craft its own.

AML legislation springs to mind...as do extradition treaties...HMMMMMM

AML?

There are few effective ways one can learn..

The other path is profundity and attempts to re-create the wheel..

There is serious work to be done and we are faaar behind..

I thought we left those quixotic ways behind in the 70's..

Alive and well ?

anti money laundering

thanks!

Looking to the British for legal advice on AML legislation? You are kidding me, right.

The British, including the crown have been the biggest money launderers and thieves for more than the last 500 years. Look at what the Chinese warriors had to do to get rid of those clowns during the opium wars. They should have sought advice from the crown for crafting of antidrug legislation, or the citizens of New England should have asked the crown for legal advice on the taxing tea?. I agree that we have to look oveseas for legal 'examples', but England is not one such country.
              If an American presidential candidate, or a supreme court nominee should ever make a statement to the effect that he/she is looking to Britain and Canada for legal advice in crafting American legislation, that person would stand no chance of assuming office. My friends we are independent. We should craft laws that are consistent with our constitution, and we adjust our constitution to suit our needs. Plain and simple.

i think the problem is we are hanging on to our British masters for dear life! hell, the Queen (Long Live Her Majesty) is the head of state! we are hanging on to the Privy Council, our flag is directly derived from the Union Jack, and we look to England to supply our Reggae Boyz too! so why shouldn't the British advise us on legal matters!?

nope. not kidding. AML legislation also involves some reciprocity especially where asset tracing is concerned.

as i said before i don't know which legislation is under consideration but i can certainly see without stretching my imagination where international considerations are taken into consideration especially where multi-lateral treaties are concerned.

and anyway, whether the say it or not is a fact!! if there is a particular provision that is being considered, then it is reasonable to get advise on how it has been interpreted and whether there are loopholes or other issues that arose.

then there is the commonwealth thing again....btw....what relationship the queen have to independent jamaica and where is our final court of appeal?

thanks!
                    AML = A Mighty Liad

Let me ask. Why is it to seek advice from the UK and Canada so wrong.

Everyday mi unnu come on here telling to adopt everything about the US system. EVery system have fault. How is it Bill Clinton lied, impeached and didn't leave office. There is politics is both system and the democrats took advantage of that in the Clinton era. You think nuff republicans never think the system jilted them then?

Who should we seek advice from? USA, Canada, Brazil, South Africa, Cuba, China? Even if we are building a system from scratch you still going to need advice from someone. Unnu thing the Caribbean Court got no advice from noone.

How is it Bill Clinton lied, impeached and didn't leave office.
                        At the risk of being accused of twisting your words, I am seeking some clarification. Are you saying Clinton's lies are as damaging as Bruce's?

Thanks!

I never said such a thing. Clinton matter was a personal one but he lied and could been made to leave office if he didn't get the support of the democrats. That goes to show that the US system can be used as well.

Instead of us working with what we currently have and punish who fi get punish we keep on dreaming everyday. I think there are laws on the books that if we weren't so partisian could have solve a lot more problems. In the meanwhile the American, English or nobody else system is not perfect and even if we mek our own it won't be perfect. Sorry fi all who want to impose the perfect system and think it a go solve our problem with these current politicians.

i asked a question!

thanks!

you get an answer, right?