Can anyone confirm hearing of the passing of
From Wiki:
ARROW DIED ON THE MORNING OF WEDNESDAY, 15TH SEPTEMBER, 2010 AT HIS HOME IN MONTSERRAT. Montserrat, the Caribbean and the rest of the world mourn the passing of one of Socca's Greatest Artist, THE MIGHTY ARROW OF 'HOT HOT HOT FAME'. May his soul rest in peace!
Really Sad
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostHe was 55.
Although he has been out of the limelight for the past couple of decades or so, his 1980s hits such as “Hot, Hot, Hot” are genuinely memorable gems. People like Arrow and Gabby (“Government Boots”) marked, in my opinion, the highpoint of the soca genre.
Originally posted by Historian View PostArrow will be missed. He had been going regularly to the USA for treatment during the past several months.
Although he has been out of the limelight for the past couple of decades or so, his 1980s hits such as “Hot, Hot, Hot” are genuinely memorable gems. People like Arrow and Gabby (“Government Boots”) marked, in my opinion, the highpoint of the soca genre.
Not in My Book They Don't (lol)
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostSo, yuh mean T&T artistes don't feature when it comes to good soca music?!?
By the way, it’s ironic that really big calypso/soca artists like the Mighty Sparrow (born in Grenada), Arrow (born in Montserrat), etc. were not Triniadian natives.
Montana is good.
Arrow is very good but only that he seemed to have taken a recording break. Saw him in action once.
I also like "Soca Ruma", "Bill Bill, Bills", and "long time."
RIP Arrow- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Calypso is not Soca...first thing...Arrow was good with Hot Hot Hot..back in 1983...Pointdexter made it more popular with American version...saw him perform in the early days as well as recently as the Commonwealth HOGs Summit....in POS last year I think...and he still looked the part, despite sm age...
Sparrow...although born in Grenada spent most of his life in TT his adopted home...and is unparalleled in his use of diction, double entendre and social commentary in his era...he still performs although he seems to have some health problems as well...
The Might Kitchener, Attilla the Hun, Mighty Duke, Terror, Blakie, Black Stalin are some of the names you should check. Many were pioneers of their time...singing out against social injustice, colonialism and its aftermath etc...they were the voice of the people....and played a major role in self actualization and pride of local people...also mixed in was humour...I could go on....
Interestingly, some years a ago, I heard Gen Colin Powell say that during the Gulf war he played Sparrow's calypso's...to relax him and he "like the smutty ones" as well.