Bleaching in Jamaica?

• Bleaching in Jamaica?

The inspiration for this post is a recent picture of Vybez cartel. To put it kindly, he was never an attractive man at the best of times, but now he looks like something from a horror movie...yuck...defintion of "ugly". What im interested in is how do people like him have the confidence to walk around looking like a zombie and with everyone knowing they bleach. Is it acceptable to bleach in certain communites or circles in Jamaica? I have only ever heard jamaicans ridiculing people who bleach, but surely there must be some acceptance (somewhere) for people like him to continue doing it?

Yes it really is a strange thing. You are correct, often the act of bleaching is ridiculed yet it remains popular in some circles. Some people clearly must think that it is attractive.

I can only conclude that the self-hate many of our people have within themselves is still very strong.

Yuh mussi a refer to the pic of him with Daryl Vaz. The man skin look so unnatural and him soon haffi go deal wid the medical consequences of bleaching.

croaking lizard belly?

anyway when badman/gunman bleach...who a guh seh ennyting to dem face? kartel a bad man?

why yuh haffi bring up di PM?

Bwoy neva a dull moment on this forum, and yuh still a "carry feelings" with the PM.

One EscaLIADe ever run ova yuh big toe yet?

Arite. Mi dun talk!

Yes it really is a strange thing. You are correct, often the act of bleaching is ridiculed yet it remains popular in some circles. Some people clearly must think that it is attractive.

I can only conclude that the self-hate many of our people have within themselves is still very strong.
                It's puzzling, I've never met anyone who thought a bleached face was attractive, yet people still do it? Surely Kartel is a laughing stock now? It most be more than self hate though, self-hate mixed with a heavy dose of delusion and ignorance. Does Kartel really think he looks good?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                  Yuh mussi a refer to the pic of him with Daryl Vaz. The man skin look so unnatural and him soon haffi go deal wid the medical consequences of bleaching.
                  Yes that picture
                  He looked even more scary and unreal standing next to two light (genuinely) skin men.

Seriously, this topic is not about Bruce, there are many other topics about Bruce you can contribute to if that's what you want to talk about. Please leave this thread Bruce free. Geez

post it mek wi si nuh? context is always important.

I have met a few who think it is okay. But then, I hang out in garrisons, even the former mother of them all!

I didn't start it!!!

cho!

Here is a recent pic

post it mek wi si nuh? context is always important.

giid thing yuh post di picha otherwise i woulda walk right past him....