• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Remove Fern Gully Obscenities

Remove Fern Gully obscenities

Published: Thursday | September 9, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

The Editor, Sir:
    Please publish the letter below which was sent to Police Commissioner Owen Ellington, the deputy superintendent in charge of Ocho Rios and also to the minister of culture, Olivia Grange.

Dear Commissioner,
    Re: Obscene Publications (Suppression of) Act - Obscene objects (large erect penises on Rastafarian men) in Fern Gully.
    I am an attorney-at-law and, I believe, a decent citizen of [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR] with a fair degree of moral standing. I wish to bring to your attention the subject captioned matter as I wince every time I drive through Fern Gully with my two-year-and-10-month-old daughter as there are several Rastafarian scupltures with large, erect penises enlarged for a more egregious effect.
    These sculptures ('obscene objects') are in my view in breach of Section 2 of the Obscene Publications (Suppression of) Act. The section reads, inter alia, "Any person who -
    (a) For purposes of or by way of trade - makes or produces or has in his possession - or any obscene objects ... shall be guilty of an offence".
    The Concise Oxford Dictionary, 10th edition, defines obscene as 'offensive or disgusting by accepted standards of morality and decency'.
    The situation is worsening as at least six separate stalls along the Fern Gully now display for sale these obscene (in my view) objects that are multiplying not only in the number of objects for sale but the size and erection of the penises prominently protruding from the sculptures.