• Da Bredda yah is really PJ fren

and him obviously smoking crack!

Old JLP and PNP politicians must stand down
    FRANKLIN JOHNSTON

Friday, September 03, 2010

Political corruption and ineptitude keep us a poor, crime-ridden nation. Can you name one aspect of our nation that works well? Our ills today are the same as in 1962 - education, jobs, health care, food, shelter and security and all are on the urgent list. The oldsters "celebrate" 40 years in politics; where is our joy? Their gain is our pain! Many were good men who lost the plot and to win elections became their goal - they won, the nation lost!
    Let's be clear on one thing. Governments have done little for us. What we achieved for our nation is as individuals, little with politicians' help. The British set a course before 1962 that would have got us at least to where their colonies UKVI and Cayman are today - safe and prosperous. I can't put a value on nationalism; but our politicians enrich themselves and underdevelop us and as the trough is sweet most will not go willingly.

POLITICIANS IN PARLIAMENT... as the trough is sweet most will not go willingly.

Our country is immensely beautiful. God crumpled this little bit of land into fruitful riverain plains, valleys to "cotch up" picturesque cottages and high peaks to catch a glimpse of glory! We scarred the hills by open-pit mining, denuded the land, stanched and polluted the rivers, raped the fish and "concrete over" the fruitful plains. We should now be wealthy and disciplined as Singapore which got Independence when we did. We did all that the politicians asked - sacrificed, tightened belts, bought local - the lot! We have not grown above the secular trend line and bad things happened to us because of politicians. Yet we are a prominent, much loved country. What accounts for this?

First, our people are warm and welcoming. We produced excellent entertainers, sports people and men of letters even before 1962. To icons Manley and Marley we add Stewart and Bolt - one mooted a new world order, a minstrel gave the world "one love", one sold the world a concept of leisure and the last pushes the boundaries of human speed. These build our brand and politicians steal the limelight. It's true - "We likkle but we tallawah!" Despite the failed politics, our parents produce lovely children gifted in academia, music, entrepreneurship, sport, etc, and built our global credibility!

Second, our brand is not defined by politicians or the state and some politicians smear our good name. We now spend millions on PR damage control because of one PM's vile actions! The politicians' job is to provide the means for us to be well-fed, healthy, educated, housed and protected. They have failed! They savaged the land. Our built icons Ward Theatre, Hope Gardens, Half-Way-Tree clock, Spanish Town Cathedral, Hermitage Dam, Port Royal, Devon House, etc, were done under the British. PJ's world-class highways and Emancipation Park are our only icons the diaspora marvel about. Our brand is not the result of politics or governance. Private people built our brand on personal initiative, while parents and civil society helped. So, why do ministers hog the praise and the photo ops with Yendi, Asafa or Usain? To steal the glory from their parents?

Peter Phillips has put ageing politicians on the agenda. It needs no debate. We pay politicians to make our country safe and prosperous, but neither the JLP nor the PNP have done so and some have made our lives hell by consorting with gunmen and dons. Some MPs were ministers in their 30s and are again so in their 70s. Why do we discuss this? Just go. Please!

The old fogeys failed, but I am not ageist so let's clarify the issue now:
    (1) Politicians set a retirement age of 65 for all jobs except their own. Why? Even business owners retire from their firms. MPs as Bruce dealt with Mr Matalon, Mahfood, Issa, etc. These same MPs deal with grandchildren of those pioneers now! How many generations of beauty queens has Ed kissed? Some have been minister 4 or 5 times! Shame on you! We want no ruler for life! Do not steal our children's birthright! Please go quietly!

(2) An MP for 25 years served most of our 48 years as a nation. Is this not enough for him?

(3) Age is not the issue. We need old heads but not those of the last 48 years. Give us 10 years of fresh old heads as Bill Clarke, Blossom O'Meally Nelson, Doug Orane, Gordon Shirley and top retired persons in Cabinet! No more quarter-century MPs!

(4) MPs are public sector workers. We pay them, so the job must be open to all on plain criteria. The selection under law and you join the party before your candidature is ratified.

(5) Few MPs were into public service before politics.The few still are and will be after they leave politics. Heroes like R Danny Williams ran a big firm, Lister Mair centre and Jamal, pro bono; gave service in politics and went back to the job and charity work. Some MPs live for politics; when the pay cheque stops "public service" ends.

(6) An MP should serve four terms and a PM two terms maximum, as we have lots of talent trained after 1962. This limit should be reviewed in 2062 when we hit the century.

*The slate of each party's candidates in 2012 should be:10 of the oldsters, 20 new people over age 45 (as Orane) and 30 below age 45 to reflect our demographics.

*For continuity, retired MPs can work through parties to groom new MPs. For God's sake, Bruce, Portia; give new, old and young people a chance! "The times are a-changin'!"

*We do not need old MPs for continuity in government. The British set up our Civil Service for just that purpose. Portia did not have to orient Bruce or Dr Davies brief Mr Shaw as the institutional memory in the service guides ministers, writes documents and their speeches. Samuda is not our best business mind; nor Audley a finance whiz, Mike a transport guru, Ruddy a health-care wizard or Pearnel a jobs giant - civil servants work all night to write the plans and speeches. We have too many recycled MPs and ministers!

*My list of MPs who should retire before 2012 will soon be in print. There are a few who by their acumen and record could continue. Do you have a list too? Stay conscious!

Portia's Integrity Commission needs men and women under 44 - some 60 per cent of the nation and a partner of a firm like KPMG, which does modernisation for political parties abroad, has access to templates and are confidential under law. More to come, my friend!

Dr Franklin Johnston is an international project manager with Teape-Johnston Consultants currently on assignment in the UK.

franklinjohnston@hotmail.com