James Moss-Solomon resigns from all government boards

• James Moss-Solomon resigns from all government boards

Will not try to say why in case I mess it up, but we are sure to hear more.

He encourages all others in similar positions to do the same.

Some decent people are left in Jamaica. He is one. The others need to take a stand against dishonest politicians, esp. when they are as twisted as Bruce Golding.

anedda JC termite...

The report says he has lost faith in the credibility of persons elected to serve the nation.

Clearly, this is primarily due to the Gelding's blatant lies, half-truths and distortions over the last several months, with no sign of let up by the Crime Minister. At some point, decent people have to tek a stand!

The report says he has lost faith in the credibility of persons elected to serve the nation.

Clearly, this is primarily due to the Gelding's blatant lies, half-truths and distortions over the last several months, with no sign of let up by the Crime Minister. At some point, decent people have to tek a stand!

James Moss Solomon resigns from government boards

Former GraceKennedy Executive and influential businessman James Moss Solomon has resigned from several government boards.

Mr. Moss Solomon tendered his resignation with immediate effect on Tuesday.

The businessman resigned as Chairman Scientific Research Council; Deputy Chairman of the University Hospital of the West Indies; and Director of another research unit at the University of the West Indies.

Speaking on RJR's Hotline on Tuesday morning Mr. Moss Solomon explained the reasons for resigning from the government boards.

Mr. Moss-Solomon says he has lost faith in the credibility of the persons elected to serve the nation.

“You know we come to a point in time where sometimes you have to stand for something…My resignation is due to my inability to accept the numerous incidents that impune the credibility and honesty of those elected to serve the nation from both sides of parliament,” Mr. Moss-Solomon said.

Mr. Moss-Solomon is also hoping that other persons with integrity issues will follow suit.

“It is not the first time that I have had the cause to resign from various positions, even as a schoolboy. If you believe in something you need to stand up for it, if you don’t stand up for something you will fall for anything,”

“There are a lot of people who have called me to say congrats on the stance that I have taken. I can only hope that those who have called would taken a similar stance themselves,” he said.

Clearly, beacuse those elected to serve the nation have done a sterling job over the last 40 years!

Not the way to go

Published: Wednesday | September 1, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

Gary Spaulding and Livern Barrett, Gleaner Writers The resignation of prominent businessman James Moss-Solomon from public-sector boards, in protest over a perceived failure of both Government and Opposition to give strong effective leadership, has been met with a difference of opinion from a prominent state board chairman.
            Wayne Chen, chairman of the Urban Development Corporation (UDC), said he respected Moss-Solomon's decision, but urged other public ser-vants not to follow his lead.
            Chen asserted that Jamaicans of integrity, experience and com-petence need to actively engage in the management of the country's affairs.
            "The danger is, if all of us were to resign tomorrow, in a sort of mass protest, nobody can predict what would happen next in terms of the quality of people who would take up the vacuum," he argued last night.
            Moss-Solomon, a well-known public- and private-sector figure over the past 30 years, told The Gleaner yesterday that he had dispatched his letters of resignation from the boards of the Scientific Research Council, the University Hospital of the and the International Centre for Environmental and Nuclear Science.
            The letters were sent last week but the resignations took effect yesterday.
            Moss-Solomon, who served the in both political administrations, accused both Bruce Golding and Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller of failing to provide strong, decisive, moral and ethical leadership to Jamaica.
            "Our leaders are just not on the ball," he declared.
            Moss-Solomon referred to a common line in his resignation letter that captured his disgust with the political directorate.
            "This resignation is due to my inability to accept the numerous incidents that impugn the credibility and honesty of those elected to serve the nation from both sides of Parliament," the correspondence asserts.
            Sense of disgust
            Moss-Solomon communicated a sense of disgust as he spoke with The Gleaner.
            "They need to have more respect for people," he declared. "There are many things going and the nation is getting poorer and poorer by the minute."
            Moss-Solomon contended that the situation continues to deteriorate in the face of the obvious failure of the leaders to do what is right.
            He was critical of the People's National Party (PNP) for the retention of former state minister in the energy ministry, Kern Spencer, in Parliament, even as he challenges criminal charges relating to the Cuban light bulb scandal in which millions of dollars were allegedly misappropriated.
            Moss-Solomon also frowned on former PNP General Secretary Colin Campbell's plan to return to representational after his involvement in the Trafigura scandal.
            In commenting on the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), he chastised the party for keeping Joseph Hibbert, former state minister for transport and works, and Everald Warmington, current state minister in the Ministry of Water and Housing, after serious criminal allegations were made against them.
            More required
            Hibbert has been named in a bribery investigation into British bridge-building firm Mabey and Johnson, and Warmington is being investigated by Contractor General Greg Christie.
            Karl Johnson, general secretary of the Jamaica Baptist Union, said it would require more than a resignation if Moss-Solomon wants to make a statement on how governance is exercised in Jamaica.
            "It would require conversation. Because resigning alone, while commendable, will not necessarily address the issue."
            Moss-Solomon told The Gleaner he would be placing much of his attention on his philanthropic activities to assist those in depressed communities.
            He promised to use his influence in the private sector to engender greater change to the welfare of the people who are forced to live in vulnerable areas.
            gary.spaulding@gleanerjm.com

Yes Mosiah, this is clearly all Bruce's fault!

Bruce must resign!!!

I figured you people with an ulterior motive would try to pin it on Golding. Monday evening during an interview he mentioned his frustration with the leadership on both sides of the House. You clowns are so predictable now.

believe what u want.

Believe, it was the man's own words. But as usual, you and the other collection of clowns jump to a conclusion then hope the facts fall into place.

He is about 10 years too late.

What happen ? Him dun rich ahready ?

Tainted move.. should ah do it before 'Grace Financial Services'..

Mi nuh chuss di suddenly born again..

Tek time bredin.. yuh ah guh mek mi spit up mi latte..

Is juss now him 'lose faith' ?

LOL !!!

Mi nuh chuss di suddenly born again..

how yuh chuss Bruce?

That is the crux. Grace get whe dem want areddy. All pallicies renewed.

If I could ongly give the full 100.

LoL

We must all stop the hypocrisy now. NONE AH DEM HANDS CLEAN AND THE FAKE MORALITY ON BOTH SIDES AND FROM "SOCIETY" is now comical. The "small" man is constantly being taken for a ride...and I dont mean the masses, I mean the salt of the earth working Joe in Jamaica that pays taxes. Is HIM/HAR mi sarry fah! Di one liike HILE salvation will be frittered away too, if we continue the effry.

how yuh chuss Bruce?
                            LOL!

He never knew love before...Then Came Bruce

suh now Jimmy is soiled too, huh?

well, i guess it really is a matter of degree, and Bruce is di wussest!