Teen found with illegal gun gets 5 years

• Teen found with illegal gun gets 5 years

The Gun Court has handed down a five year prison sentence to a teenaged schoolboy who pleaded guilty to the charge of illegal possession of a firearm.

He is 18 year-old Omar Kelly of Fletcher’s Land in Kingston.

The matter was heard by Supreme Court Judge Roy Jones.

Crown Counsel Nadine Flowers told the court that on June 27, 2008, Kelly was at the Half Way Tree Square in St Andrew when he was seen by the police acting in a boisterous manner.

She said he was approached by the police, who reprimanded him.

The court further heard that while doing this, a cell phone was found in the schoolboy’s possession.

A picture of a firearm was seen on the screen of the phone.

Kelly was questioned about the weapon, which led the police to his home where a homemade gun was found under his bed.

He was then arrested and charged.

In handing down sentencing, Justice Jones said he had to send a strong message because firearm offences are too prevalent in the country.

He added that the fact that the schoolboy had a firearm underneath his bed, indicated that it must have been there for a reason.

What about those so called major players in the guns for drugs trade that were caught? How we nuh hear when these cases will be mentioned?

Are you fricking serious?!? You support Gelding who supported perhaps the biggest gun-runner in the country and yuh have a nerve to ask that question?!??!

As predicited. Not even afternoon yet and yuh change position again.

what position change?!?

You've done it so much yuh start forgetting now. Jump admit you have a personal vendetta against the PM. Its about time you get 'shelved' like Karl and Bittah1.

you are hopeless.

i have a personal vendetta against LIADS and CROOKS!

you are hopeless.

i have a personal vendetta against LIADS and CROOKS!
                Hopeless? Because I deal with facts unlike the numerous speculators around here? So shoud we take it you have a personal vendetta against yuhself?

"Twenty three positions in a one night stand"- 'Gett Off' by Prince, some times in the 1980s.. wicked tune