Jamaica Aces IMF Test - More Than J$4b Avail For Drawdown

Did I say Chung was mentioned in the article? Okay then!

Both economists were on Beyond the Headlines last Friday. You can choose to believe or not. Could not care less!

And no, I don't have it on letterhead!

Did I say Chung was mentioned in the article? Okay then!

Both economists were on Beyond the Headlines last Friday. You can choose to believe or not. Could not care less!

And no, I don't have it on letterhead!
      No need to give yuhself a wedgy .... the review indicated that they've met their targets .... I can understand why yuh trying to find fault though ... ppl with ulterior motives ..... hehehe

During the first quarter, the government had drawn down on several public sector agencies, including the Bank of Jamaica in order to meet this vital solvency test. This helped to push the central bank’s losses to $10.0 billion during the first six months of this year.

Similarly, central government and the public sector accumulated over $100.0 billion in suppliers, employee and tax arrears during the period to March 31, although the programme calls for zero arrears.
        okay, if that is fine with you!

Where does the budget allocation to these agencies come from? These people have the task of correcting the mess.

Why yuh never cite this tuh?

""All end-June quantitative performance targets were met. A faster-than-expected improvement in macroeconomic conditions, especially the decline in interest rates on government securities, has had a net positive effect on the overall fiscal deficit," Alleyne said.

"Strong GCT (General Consumption Tax) collections, reflecting improved tax administration efforts, and the continued cautious execution of expenditure were key to meeting the primary surplus target. The exchange rate has stabilised at an appreciated level and the NIR (Net International Reserves) floor was exceeded by a large margin," added Alleyne"

As mi say .. people with their ulterior motives.

for me it's simpler than that - did u achieve the target or did you not?

Lets deal with the facts .... the agents of and external entity has just completed a review and have reached the conclusion that the targets were met. Case closed.

Passing IMF quarterly test is no biggie for me as if our economy is moving in the right direction we shouldn't have problems passing their test. If we fail one of these test then that is where problem come in.

I expect the government to pass them as a routine thing.

Passing IMF quarterly test is no biggie for me as if our economy is moving in the right direction we shouldn't have problems passing their test. If we fail one of these test then that is where problem come in.

I expect the government to pass them as a routine thing.
                  Really!!!??!!

I thought passing such tests was reason for celebration and good cheer all around? No?

Reason for congratulatory messages to the politicians concerned?

Reasons for cheering our improved fortunes??

Surely you cannot believe that momentous events like passing IMF tests should not garner front page headlines and a cheering squad?

Joke yuh ah mek... get with the program...and back on the reservation
                  Last edited by Don1; August 30, 2010, 12:42 PM.

For years we were unable to meet our fiscal targets. Now due to fiscal responsibility the country is meeting the targets. Why shouldn't the nation be aware of that?

I can bet you'd be dancing on the ceiling if the review was bad. At least Karl told us all from day one he cannot afford to see this gov't succeed. Obviously he wasn't talking just for himself.

Yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Months ago you spoke highly of Trevor Alleyne. Whats the problem now?

I cheer for good economic news, not IMF test. It would have been good not to borrow IMF money but we are where we are because of years of economic stagnation and lack of growth, not because of the IMF.

Months ago you spoke highly of Trevor Alleyne. Whats the problem now?
                            Yes what's the problem? Did I say I had a problem with him? I still hold him in high regard.... and intimated that even in this thread.

Spit it out...

Seems to me "Jamaica" is happy about borrowing money.
                              Well, whats the alternative at the present time?

so you are part of the cheering squad now?