• Lazie and Maudib, unu miss dis:

Jamaica's GDP falling
    Mining and Quarrying only sector to record rise
    BY JULIAN RICHARDSON richardsonj@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, August 25, 2010

THE Planning Association of Jamaica estimates that real gross domestic product (GDP) during the June quarter contracted by an estimate of 0.8 per cent relative to the corresponding period last year, with the goods producing and services industry declining by 1.6 per cent and 0.9 per cent respectively.

According to the PIOJ, aside from Mining and Quarrying which grew by 4.3 per cent, all categories within the goods producing industry declined over the quarter. Agriculture was hit hardest with a 3.5 per cent decline, catalysed by a sharp fallout in Traditional Export crops. The Manufacturer and Construction sectors fell by 1.6 per cent and 1.5 per cent respectively.

All categories within the services industry declined, with the greatest decline posted by the Finance and Insurance Services sector, down by two per cent against the background of the Jamaica Debt Exchange which resulted in a reduction in interest income for many financial institutions, foreign exchange losses due to the appreciation of the Jamaican dollar and a reduction in the stock of commercial bank loans and advances. The Hotels and Restaurants sector was down by 1.6 per cent, attributed to a 5.4 per cent falloff in total arrivals and a 13.4 per cent decline in cruise visitor arrivals. Electricity and Water Supplies posted a 1.5 per cent decline.

“The declines recorded during the quarter reflects the impact of the lagged effects of the global recession on the local economy, the lingering effects of the drought conditions on agriculture output and police operations on the business activities in sections of Kingston and St Catherine and as far away as farm communities in St Elizabeth, St Thomas and Portland, as well as international travel” said newly appointed PIOJ director-general Gladstone Hutchinson at a press briefing today.

Expect further contractions...

The declines recorded during the quarter reflects the impact of the lagged effects of the global recession on the local economy
    ...and no companion stimulus to offset that decline which is in its early stages.

There shall be further contractions!

what are you basing that on Karl?

Yes, turning things around isn't easy, but of course you ppl with ulterior motives continue ignoring reality.

Congrats in advance to the responsible minister(s)

LoL!

what are you basing that on Karl?
            I have been here before Assasin. ...besides the US current situation is one both of us are living through. ...and we should learn from it.

When you have situations like our current one where the mood of the country is 'tighten the shutters and baton down' it is serves to restrict spending and curtail investments. ...on top of that you have a GOJ that is actively firing government workers right, left and center, institutions of learning that are disgorging vast addition persons on the job markets....growing unemployment...

btw - I hope you have not forgotten that I said the JDX will cause disappearance of vast source of funds from the economy and having dumped the JDX on the country with such speed that there was not sufficient time for alternate plans to be put in place by the many whose income suddenly underwent dramatic erosion to allow for a gently landing of the weight that sudden contraction of income brought. We may even have some financial institutions that were hard hit, failing.

...how is construction starts doing in Jamaica? Residential real estate and commercial real estate? The real effects are not yet upon JA.

and don't forget.. we cannot allow this Govt to succeed.

I have been here before Assasin. ...besides the US current situation is one both of us are living through. ...and we should learn from it.

When you have situations like our current one where the mood of the country is 'tighten the shutters and baton down' it is serves to restrict spending and curtail investments. ...on top of that you have a GOJ that is actively firing government workers right, left and center, institutions of learning that are disgorging vast addition persons on the job markets....growing unemployment...

btw - I hope you have not forgotten that I said the JDX will cause disappearance of vast source of funds from the economy and having dumped the JDX on the country with such speed that there was not sufficient time for alternate plans to be put in place by the many whose income suddenly underwent dramatic erosion to allow for a gently landing of the weight that sudden contraction of income brought. We may even have some financial institutions that were hard hit, failing.

...how is construction starts doing in Jamaica? Residential real estate and commercial real estate? The real effects are not yet upon JA.
                JDX ah di bes ting since slice bread...dem need fi exten dat to di foreign loan dem...strait

Paradigm shift away from debt....and Omar Paper Chase madness of money tied up in Govt debt instruments instead of being directed to production

big ting dat.. One Turd rules

aldo im rack up even more big loan...but wi gi im ah bligh tru di recession..plus im a get some good term pon di big money dem
                Last edited by Don1; August 27, 2010, 04:47 AM.

Tru talk Don.

Golding, in the meantime, chided the banking sector for its apparently slow reaction in reducing interest rates after Government's debt exchange initiative.
                    "For years bankers never had to do banking, they never had to practise banking because they know that the Government, the Ministry of Finance, or the Bank of Jamaica would be offering some new instrument," said the prime minister.
                    "But that game has changed. Commercial bankers now have to do what they were trained to do, which is to go out and find borrowers," he said.
                    Golding also questioned the operation of commercial banks recently accused of collecting fees for lodgements.
                    "I am still trying to understand what was reported to me a few days ago that banks are now charging fees for accepting lodgments. I don't understand that kind of business, I thought banks were glad to take your money," he said.
                    "I would like the Bank of Jamaica to look seriously at what is happening," said Golding.

Golding, in the meantime, chided the banking sector for its apparently slow reaction in reducing interest rates after Government's debt exchange initiative.
                      "For years bankers never had to do banking, they never had to practise banking because they know that the Government, the Ministry of Finance, or the Bank of Jamaica would be offering some new instrument," said the prime minister.
                      "But that game has changed. Commercial bankers now have to do what they were trained to do, which is to go out and find borrowers," he said.
                      Golding also questioned the operation of commercial banks recently accused of collecting fees for lodgements.
                      "I am still trying to understand what was reported to me a few days ago that banks are now charging fees for accepting lodgments. I don't understand that kind of business, I thought banks were glad to take your money," he said.
                      "I would like the Bank of Jamaica to look seriously at what is happening," said Golding.

Nice talk...clearly this is the JC side of Gelding

Clearly anything good is from our side: A.M.D.G!

We ah nuh di ones with the gunnark talk bout shoot and miss! LoL

Wi liff up tings, not tear dem dung.

I am happy to hear the PM address the issue of banking fees. The banks have raped the people of Jamaica for years and need to draped up for it. The trouble is Bruce should not be around to drape anybody!

LoL

Yuh is part Bulldog? Remind me to NEVA mash yuh corn.

I understand your stance, but I dont appreciate your head in the sand for the alternatives. Fact is we are starved for good choices.

Maybe we need fi start our owna party...mek mi see. How bout the BustaManley Renewal Movement, formed on the principles of NWManley with the passion and down to earth quality of a Busta? Initial is BRM.

Like in a new BRM sweeps clean? LoL

That is how badly Bruce has soiled himself. I do not agree there are no alternatives. There are alternatives within the JLP and there are alternatives across the aisle. Certainly, wi cyaan bi dat bad dat Bruce, with all his major faults, has to remain.

He needs to GO!