Surprising Reasoning

you would opt for a dead language (latin) over patois?!?!
    Why do you se the choice as between patois and Latin? Surely there is nothing in what Reggaedoc said that should have lead you to this comment.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
      Why do you se the choice as between patois and Latin? Surely there is nothing in what Reggaedoc said that should have lead you to this comment.
      On the contrary:

Patois is not the answer. Frankly, I think patois would be surrendering to a lower standard. Shouldn't 5 years be enough time to prepare a child for GCE, no matter what the result of the Comman entrance 5 years earlier was.

I remember there used to be a Grade 9 achievement test years ago. It was specifcally geared towards students who failed the common entrance exam, ended up in a secondary school, and needed a chance to matriculate into a traditional grammar school. Many who passed, and went on to some of our finest traditional high schools, ended up as excellent students. Indeed after 2 years on traditional education, many equalled, or even surpassed some who started high school in first form. They were probably a little behind in English, as most would have not have had the opportunity to do latin, which was a required of the first/second forms in good grammar schools up until the late 60's.
      BTW I strongly think that latin/greek classics should be returned to high schools. This would probably improve the use of English in our society.]

mi ah try post di Newsetta editorial bout CXC an a flop fram mawnin...ah wha? yuh ban dem??

EDITORIAL

Answer this one please, CXC
          Thursday, August 26, 2010

We've been having such an inspiring time celebrating the achievements of our young students in the recent Caribbean Examination Council's (CXC's) CSEC (Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate) examinations.

That is why we find the view expressed by Mr Richard James, a private tutor with over 20 years of experience teaching Mathematics, so painful.
          According to today's edition and that of our sister title, the Observer West, Mr James says that the CXC's CSEC Mathematics examinations have become less and less mentally challenging over the years.

Mr James, who entered several pre-eleventh graders — including three eighth graders — for the May sitting of the Mathematics examination, says that if the papers of yesteryear had been put before the students, they couldn't literally dance through them as they have. He goes further to say that the challenges posed by the CXC cannot facilitate a conclusive assessment of the students' mastery of the discipline.

The thought is frightening. For if what Mr James is saying is true of Mathematics, we are forced to wonder if the same thing could possibly be happening in the other subjects for which the CXC grants certification.
          And if it is, we will be forced to ask why.

Could it be — heaven forbid — that like the quality of the values and attitudes which have manifested itself over the years, the quality of the education being provided to our children has also taken a nosedive?
          Are we being bamboozled into believing that the improved results being reported by the CXC represent an improvement in the education system, when they really don't?

We hope that the CXC can set us straight on this one.

For the dangers of playing around with the integrity of an exam which has, to its credit, gained recognition in the international community over the years, should be obvious.

We submit that the CXC needs to answer Mr James' concerns post-haste, with a view to removing the question mark from over its head.

The Council needs to tell us whether the eighth graders who are dancing -- as Mr James says -- through exams that are designed for eleventh graders, are able to do so because they are exceptionally brilliant or because the exams have been watered down to facilitate a failing system.

If it is the case that the eighth graders are brilliant, we need as a society to make adequate provision for their educational needs and stop dragging them through years of unnecessary instruction. If it is the case that the eleventh graders are being under-tested, then we need to address that too.

Either way the council, and indeed all of us, have some serious reviews to do.

Mosiah...do you think they should have patois as a CXC subject?.

And since I am at it...do you think they should have a national patois spellin' bee contest...?

ThankX in advance.

no and no!

but it should be recognised as an official language of jamaica.

what?!?

Tenks!

Is jus one likkle question amidst the Irrational Exuberance around CXC results

wi need some independent scientific analysis (UWI??) .... CXC nah guh self-incriminate an seh dem dumb down di ting

Did the other Caribbean countries experience a 20% improvement as well? Before some a wi jump up inna wi bati rider, I think we should find out about some of these things first.

...you and your bwoy a act as eff patois is not the recognized means of communication in jamaica. Wat is wrong wit yuh?

I am surprised that you are not bald by this. You and him juss pull unu hair out --with your support for patois--as if you are not makin a moot point.

bati rider.................................................. ......

You know...this forum provides the stress relief I need!!!

That's my primary reason for logging on:

bati rider.................................................. ......

You know...this forum provides the stress relief I need!!!

That's my primary reason for logging on:
                        i'm happy we could assist in your therapy!

Mosiah, apart from probably writing ballot papers(which would be exactly what the party tribalists need), and cencus papers in patois, what other useful purpose would declaring patois as an official language of Jamaica serve?. You said we shouldn't have spelling bee in patois. I assume that if we declare patois as an official language, then it should be the language of instruction in physics, chemistry, information tech, civics, bible studies, mathematics etc throughout the school system. Do you think declaring patois as an official language would improve learning in Jamaican schools?. There is a natural experiment to disprove that going on right now 100 miles off our shores. It is called Haiti.

Decades ago Haiti had an educational system that was at least equal to an other English speaking Caribbean country. For a multiplicity of reasons the system broke down and illiteracy skyrocketed. The majority of the people fell back on patois. Patois was declared an official language of the country. Haitian patois is a far more developed language that our English patois. They have a well developed lexicon, and many of their books are written in that language. Did that improve overall learning in Haiti?. The answer is NO. In fact illiteracy has increased even further, with many people becoming illiterate even in patois. Mind what you wish for my brother, you might just get it.

i srongly believe if we declare a language, first, make a clear distinction between it and English, we would be better off.

then, if we make it an official national language, it would go a long way of de-stigmatizing those who speak it naturally. and then we learn English as a foreign language, or a second language, distinct and separate.

i was impressed with South Africans, many of whom speak several native languages and perfect English at the same time. they have 11 official languages. if they can do it, we can too!

Its a very attractive argument Mosiah, albeit a rather weak one. S. Africal is a vast country which is an amalgamation of numerous tribes/nations, having different languages going back centuries. Jamaica is basically a tiny, almost homogenous society. In the case of Jamaica, the only reason to declare patois as an official language would be to mask the extensive rate of illiteracy in the true official language. It would be a cosmetic, feel-good thing. You would simply be soothing the egos of those who are either unwilling, or unable to learn English. Not a good thing.

They seem to have started to do a similar thing in maths, if Mr. James in Mobay is to be believed. The kids are too dunce, so make the test easier. Not a good thing. At the end of the day, we have to compete in a fiercely competitive world. Lets not voluntarily race to the bottom.

we are all entitled to our opinions! it's a free forum! as long as you are not brucegoldious, you are welcome to post!