• A debate in the making

A debate in the making
    JAMES MOSS-SOLOMON

Sunday, August 22, 2010

AT last I am beginning to see a light that may not belong to an oncoming locomotive. Last week, I reiterated a recommendation that I made to Caricom Heads in 2005, which had been studiously avoided by them and subsumed by petty short-term propaganda. I am not claiming any praise, but I am noticing a resurgence of a debate on the way forward for education.

Whatever the genesis of this dialogue may be, if it is not politicised or demeaned by our petty tribalism, it could be an example of the superiority of brains over brute force.

One of the important measurable waypoints will be the CSEC results in key subject areas. But statements to the media at the time of writing are in gross figures so far, and we must be patient and wait for the disaggregating of data required for an informed analysis. The short-term joy of a greater number of passes may be a real improvement, or may simply be a result of more students sitting the exams, and I therefore will reserve further comment.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...making_7889418

We need to realise that every child entering high school in Trinidad and Tobago in September will receive a free laptop computer for their personal development. There is our competition even as we are arguing about where the lunch money and bus fare is coming from. It is brutal but true; we are still in the dark ages.

We buy cellphones and have no credit, or when we do, we only access "fass book and quitter", and assignments remain uncompleted. Believe me when I say that who this or that Hollywood movie star is sleeping with will not be on the exam.
    sigh

It tek one College man fi injek some kina reasoning inna di emotion...