• Cops seek gang members' girlfriends, mothers

Cops seek gang members' girlfriends, mothers

The police in Spanish Town, St. Catherine, are seeking to question 20 persons who are either girlfriends or mothers of suspected members of the notorious One Order and Clansman gangs.

In a release yesterday, the police asked the 20 persons to report to the nearest police station as soon as possible.

The list includes Sharon James, the mother of alleged gang leader Tesha Miller who was arrested during the recent state of emergency and Charmaine Johnson, the mother of Rohan Hope, otherwise called 'Placka'

James was reportedly held by the police during that period before being released.

Others who are urged to turn themselves in are:

Peta Gaye Bunda, otherwise called 'Qunnie', girlfriend of Jermaine Morrision, who is also called 'Speedy'.

Natalie Fergurson, girlfriend of Renard Harrison, otherwise called 'Rodrick'.

Tiffany Thomas, girlfriend of Nevardo Hodges.

Sophia King, otherwise called 'Caren', mother of Jowell or Rowell Jennings, also known as 'J.J'.

Nava Lee Branford, girlfriend of Vaughn Wint, otherwise called 'Vagga'.

Patricia Williams, girlfriend of Wayne Douglas, otherwise called 'Toney'.

Sherleen Green, girlfriend of Christopher Johnson, otherwise called 'Pepper'.

Vivia Clarke, mother of Myron Hawkins, otherwise called 'Ice'.

Millicent Brown, mother of Andrae Bryan, otherwise called 'Blackman'.

Andrea Gayle, otherwise called 'Joy', girlfriend of Simeon Helwig.

Pauline Rodney, mother of Marlon McLeary, otherwise called 'Ritchie Blacks'.

Samantha Minott, wife of Everton Minott, otherwise called 'Rado'.

Carla Deacon, girlfriend of Dalton Thomas, otherwise called 'Jassman'.

Norma Hamilton, mother of Winston Sewell, otherwise called 'Ice Man'.

Diana Morris, girlfriend of Courtney Vassell, otherwise called 'Terro Blacks'.

Venisha Campbell, girlfriend of Lucien Simpson, otherwise called 'Kevin'.

Monica Bright, mother of Fitzroy Matthias, otherwise called 'Scuffler'.

Nickeisha McIntosh, girlfriend of Anthony Barrett, who is also called 'Saddle Head'.

don't we need the SOE to do this sort of thing?!?!

this shouldn't be a regular feature in our crime fighting SOE or none SOE. Why round up the family? Is this a GAZA thing and I am not talking bout Kartel them.

Are you guilty of anything because you have a family member who is a criminal?

what happen your name deh pon the list?

are you guilty of anything because you are male and between the ages of 15 and 30?

no? So I support them picking up suspected criminals but not suspected criminals mothers or fathers.

did u support the recent SOE and the way it was being conducted?

intelligence gathering yaaaard style maybe....?

W. O. also known as Assasin...

I support the SOE. Know there were some abuse of power but I also spoke to someone who lived in Tivoli and was held for 4 days and he said he was released because "the police know who they are looking for". He said he wasn't treated badly. That was while I was in Jamaica.

I can excuse them for taking suspect criminals but what crime do they suspect these mothers and girlfriend of? For been the mother of a criminal who is a grown man.

don't we need the SOE to do this sort of thing?!?!
                    Yes we do. If these are not wanted then they don't have to turn themselves in. Where is the JFJ?

firstly, your example of one person who did not experience abuse means nothing. i was never beaten or killed by a police officer. that does not mean police don't beat and murder people.

so i guess the 4,000 youths that were picked up by the police during the SOE were "suspect criminals". in my view, mothers and girlfriends (why not wives as well?) of "criminals" are more suspect than an arbitrary 17 year old inner city youth.

you are balking up the wrong tree. There is a big difference when the police going down a Tivoli and guns are been fired at them.

Again the police can say the youths are suspect criminal as they did with the 15 year old but what can they accuse 20 women of? I guess if the badman them did married them woulda call the wives too. Don't you think the police claim the 4000 were criminals until they let them go?

They have no reason fi round up the woman dem because them related to criminals all the had to do was get a warrant search their houses and remind them of what it means to support a criminal. That is all they are going to do when the people them turn up at station anyway as they can't charge 90% of them with anything.

By the way didn't you say you wanted Tivoli clean? How them a go clean it if you nuh want them detain nobody?

kinda agree with mo here... the fix is anti-gang legislation whereby if you are in a gang (proper definition now) they can go after you.

you are balking up the wrong tree. There is a big difference when the police going down a Tivoli and guns are been fired at them.
                            and the 4,000 youths were firing at the police, right? i would be more concerned about the 100s that chose not to shoot at our security forces and instead might have gone home to their complicit mothers and girlfriends.

Again the police can say the youths are suspect criminal as they did with the 15 year old but what can they accuse 20 women of? I guess if the badman them did married them woulda call the wives too. Don't you think the police claim the 4000 were criminals until they let them go?
                            same can be said about the mothers and girlfriends - they are criminals until they let them go. and I would say that the women have more knowledge of their men's criminality than 4,000 random inner city youths.

They have no reason fi round up the woman dem because them related to criminals all the had to do was get a warrant search their houses and remind them of what it means to support a criminal. That is all they are going to do when the people them turn up at station anyway as they can't charge 90% of them with anything.
                            yes they have reason to round up the women, certainly more reason than rounding up teenagers randomly. of the 4,000 men they rounded up, they charged 20! imagine how many of those charges will stick. yuh talking bout 90%? 20 out of 4,000 is 0.5%. great going, security forces!

By the way didn't you say you wanted Tivoli clean? How them a go clean it if you nuh want them detain nobody?
                            so random detention of youths will clean up tivoli?!?

But most times nuh the girlfriend and wives of the criminals who launder the blood stained clothes & probably hide a weapon or two