• Phillips wants provision to screen all political candidates

Phillips wants provision to screen all political candidates
    Monday Exchange
    Alicia Dunkley
    Tuesday, August 24, 2010

CHAIRMAN of the Opposition People's National Party's Communications Commission Dr Peter Phillips has called for provisions to screen all persons who offer themselves for political office.

Phillips told editors and reporters at the Observer's weekly Monday Exchange yesterday that such a provision would be one way of preventing persons with ties to the criminal underworld from sneaking into the ranks.

"I think some fit and proper provisions should be developed for all those who would offer themselves for elective office, whether at the national or local level, to be properly administered by an electoral commission," Dr Phillips said.

"There are issues about how far you want to deny persons their legitimate right to offer themselves but sometimes there are no perfect solutions. What you have to do is determine what is the primary threat we face," he added.

Dr Phillips said the procedures "would be applied anytime somebody offers themselves for election", but noted that it can't be willy nilly; "it has to be worked out; a judgement has to be made because information doesn't necessarily constitute truth".

"I believe we need to do more on this issue of sanctions and anti-corruption efforts," he told editors and reporters.

The East Central St Andrew Member of Parliament was responding to queries on whether a mandatory requirement for parties to disclose their sources of funding for political party campaigns would help blot out criminal associations.

Dr Phillips, while supporting the requirement for disclosure of party financing, said it was not as far-reaching on its own.

"We shouldn't underestimate the significance of organised crime for contaminating all the institutions of civil society. What the country has to deal with is how are we going to ensure we can in fact retreat from the brink [of] where we find ourselves," he said.

Why Phillips don't leave Bruce alone?

Phillips told editors and reporters at the Observer's weekly Monday Exchange yesterday that such a provision would be one way of preventing persons with ties to the criminal underworld from sneaking into the ranks.

The mirror has 2 faces

Well perhaps Peter should begin by looking in the mirror and talking to himself first

Hahahahahaah.

All the oldies and the ones in the garrisons would be automatically disqualified.

www.childofthegarrison.com is a good read. Shows how the Sochies and Labarite dem mush up many communities for firtherance of their own agendas.

Funny to read how this stauch labourite, who cant stand Portia and Manley, glibly reveals how Tivoli gunmen declared war on Greenwich Farm. Seaga and Finson are not on her dinner invitation list either.

What do you know of Phillips. Spill the beans!

I doubt you can!

Is this the man at the front row Willy Haggart's funeral and apologized for it years later. Is this the man who have ties to Skeng Don.

LOL

How them a go screen candidate when Dudus, George Phang, and others never charge for a crime in Jamaica and Vaz, and Robinson don't even cuss badwords???

Mi want fi know how dem a go do it, them a go say we suspect you of a crime so you can't run? Nothing but hogwash.

Mosiah wha the committee that the PNP set up again? The committee nuh realise that Colin Campbell a go run again?

Inna this case a pure "ghetto" candidate them a go weed out.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                Is this the man at the front row Willy Haggart's funeral and apologized for it years later. Is this the man who have ties to Skeng Don.

LOL
                Chirp ...Chirp ... Chirp ....

Apparently Mosiah has left the building.

what about any of what you just said?!?

What kind of "Business" you think Haggart was involved in? Your portfolio is crime and you are colleagues with Haggart. Your protfolio fi reduce the drug thing in Jamaica and Skeng organize your events. How him going to pass the screen.

Anyway, I forgot once it involve the PNP or Boxhill, you dont care who the person is associated with.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                      What kind of "Business" you think Haggart was involved in? Your portfolio is crime and you are colleagues with Haggart. Your protfolio fi reduce the drug thing in Jamaica and Skeng organize your events. How him going to pass the screen.

Anyway, I forgot once it involve the PNP or Boxhill, you dont care who the person is associated with.
                      Well Phillips did say that he was not aware of what Haggart did so maybe that could help him.

How them a go screen candidate when Dudus, George Phang, and others never charge for a crime in Jamaica and Vaz, and Robinson don't even cuss badwords???

Mi want fi know how dem a go do it, them a go say we suspect you of a crime so you can't run? Nothing but hogwash.

Mosiah wha the committee that the PNP set up again? The committee nuh realise that Colin Campbell a go run again?

Inna this case a pure "ghetto" candidate them a go weed out.
                        It will be interesting if the 'new & different' PNP (sound familiar) allows Cambell to run again after Christie has recommended he be criminally charged for his role in the Traf. affair. As to the two angels Vaz and Robertson. In the game of angelic poker I will see your Immaculate conception and raise you to the heavens via Liquid Natural Gas . ( I know its a gift). What original sin did Jamaica commit to deserve these people as leaders.

did you say omar apologised?

The focus is MPP and Bruised Gelding, Lightweight and Lies. That is the focus!

voting in the name of party and not performers.