CSEC/CXC Rresults for Wolmer's Boys is better than last year. Of the cohort of 213 students, 130 passed 8 subjects or more. WOW !!! There is only 120 places for 6th form!! What a problem to have !!!
Wolmer's Boys School 6th Form Problem
While we in Jamaica busily counting number of subject passed, down here people counting 1's and 2's. That's a problem to have. My brethren daughter just get seven 1's and an A, plus well rounded, plays football, FB etc....If you dont get a 1, yu could hardly get to do the subject here....unnu gwaan blow trumpet....
Congrats to Wolmers still....need to get the formulae to other schools...
Originally posted by Maudib View PostSuh wheh bout Campion 6th Form.. wi have dat problem fi decades now..
When a school can IMPROVE on the intake cohort...mek mi kno... ah dat wi intressed inna..
di skool whey cyan tek ah substandard or average cohort an convert dat to above or way above average performance...dat is GOLD!.... if wi cyan get di formula..Last edited by Don1; August 22, 2010, 06:21 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Let's get the stats for this year nuh? In fact, all these stats are so biased since some of these schools get a betetr product to strat with anyways...they hv good students, facilities and good teachers...of course sm like Maudib slip thru the cracks. LOL.
No question about that, all of the top JA schools get a better product to start with. Giving high school preference to the top GSAT achievers will ensure that it continues.
What we really need to know is how much improvement, if any, has been observed in the upgraded high schools. The ones that the middle and upper class kids never have to attend."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
I have often said that, Exile. Jamaicans always think we have the best passes. Barbados, T&T and Guyana consistently have better results! I wouldn't be surprised if the other islands beat us as well.
Settle down, Jamaica! As a country, even with our 20% improvement, wi have a long way to go before we should be satisfied!
Nobody who has gone to UWI has ever believed that JA has the best passes.
I don't know if this is still the case since there are many more options than UWI these days, but in my time if some of the faculties like medicine and engineering did not have quotas per country it would be difficult for more than a handful of Jamaicans to get in based on A level results.
We would count how many A's and B's you get, while the Trinis would have to drill down into the A's to decide who's A's were of higher quality."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass