The Truth about economic growth

• The Truth about economic growth

While people talking about Jamaica didn't benefit from growth in the 80s, if it means you have 2 or 3 years of positive growth as Jamaica did not everybody will benefit and benefit can come in many different ways. It means a job on the high scale, but it may also mean a helper and a gardener been employed. While some of unnu a cuss bout free zone was slave labour I know many people who had it was greatful for it. It was in that period that tourism started to boom and many people got employment in that industry.

Yes the capitalists made money but if they are the investors and the risk takers they are going to make more money and if you check even in the downturn they are making more money.

Let us take a brief look at China with at least 8% growth a year and many people getting rich but they are still a third world country with one of the lowest per capita income per year so it means many capitals and communists are getting rich while many still a suffer. Over time the growth will include more people and the government have more leverage as it is not engulf in debt and poverty.

The shouldn't even be reasoning about economic growth, it should be just a just a regular part of our country developement, it should be how much and not if and when. When are acting like growth should be a party thing? It should be a Jamaican thing as we hold all parties responsible. ANYBODY WHO CAN'T GET IT SHOULDN'T BE IN OFFICE.

As usual your arguments miss the essence of the discussion. What else is new?
    Keep up the vacuous search for "growth" when what's really needed is reform.

You will be supported in that misguided orientation by most Jamaicans, a people allowing themselves like lemmings ...to be led by corrupt & visionless tribes.

As to China...it helps to learn a little history.

The commies realized that change was paramount if the country was to advance..and launched socio-political reforms in the early 1980s after the dinosaurs Mao & Zhou Enlai died. The reforms were the springboard for their growth spurt...and real development....so the China example demonstrates my case...doesn't debunk it.

Jamaica is dysfunctional and needs reform...

Yuh fi tap spout halfbaked, simplistic nonsense.
    Last edited by Don1; August 22, 2010, 08:13 AM.

So wait we must wait on reform???
      Should we have to wait on reform for growth???
      Can't reform happen with growth???

With reform you are talking will everyone benefit and explain that to me. Isn't it gurantee that even with economic growth there is some people still going to be left out???

What country you want us to follow??

I think your are more into theory than been practical.
      Last edited by Assasin; August 22, 2010, 08:12 AM.

mi naah kip nuh more argument pon dis...dis play out areddy fi mi.

mek wi jus agree fi disagree...mi ave wuk fi duh.. yuh cyan elp mi bill one flash website?

what did I expect from you???
          explain yourself.

what did I expect from you???
            explain yourself.
            thanks for caring.. here goes..

I'm trying to build a flash site for a particular project but have very limited programming skills & even less interest in learning dat...but I did find a wikkid service www.wix.com whey mi a try masta.. any suggestions?
            Last edited by Don1; August 22, 2010, 08:42 AM.

I will check mi designer brethren. Normally I just ask them fi do a little thing fi mi when it comes to flash. My programming was good but that was a long time ago, never really exite me either.

tenks!

While people talking about Jamaica didn't benefit from growth in the 80s, if it means you have 2 or 3 years of positive growth as Jamaica did not everybody will benefit and benefit can come in many different ways. It means a job on the high scale, but it may also mean a helper and a gardener been employed. While some of unnu a cuss bout free zone was slave labour I know many people who had it was greatful for it. It was in that period that tourism started to boom and many people got employment in that industry.

Yes the capitalists made money but if they are the investors and the risk takers they are going to make more money and if you check even in the downturn they are making more money.

Let us take a brief look at China with at least 8% growth a year and many people getting rich but they are still a third world country with one of the lowest per capita income per year so it means many capitals and communists are getting rich while many still a suffer. Over time the growth will include more people and the government have more leverage as it is not engulf in debt and poverty.

The shouldn't even be reasoning about economic growth, it should be just a just a regular part of our country development, it should be how much and not if and when. When are acting like growth should be a party thing? It should be a Jamaican thing as we hold all parties responsible. ANYBODY WHO CAN'T GET IT SHOULDN'T BE IN OFFICE.
                  What do you mean?

Question: Would you be advocating as great boom 80% of the people being employed at $10 a day?

Next: The so called boom years? ...where the advances similar to the above?

No one can come to me and tell me nonsense about the wonderful boom years of the 60s or the 80s. Sure my family made tremendous advances during those years and their where the few who lived high hog on the land then and now...but it was not only about my family and the few other families that did well or the 'hogs feeding at the trough...it was and is still all about the majority...and factually about THE PEOPLE...ALL OUR PEOPLE!

The pain the rest of the people were going through was my pain. When I saw at some of the many schools I attended the manifestation of suffering and actual suffering in my friends and by extension their families...when I traveled the country with my parents and family members and saw the conditions under which the majority...the vast majority of my fellow country men, women and children lived...I did not need anyone to tell "it bad", I saw it.

As I said before on this board and have been repeating year after year - It does not take a rocket scientist to recognize that if 20 people together share the proceeds of 'great economic boom' with 2 enjoying the 'good life' and 8 enduring poverty the politriks can always spin the stats to claim "the people are enjoying prosperity"...when merely opening one's eyes to the actual conditions of the majority 8 shows abject 'sufferation'!

Simple example - 10 persons with a $1,000,000 to share. 8 share $80,000 equally. 2 share 920,000.00! The politicians can always claim great prosperity abounds! Any half-assed fool...and certainly one likle bwoy who lived through a similar situation...knows our Jamaica even until today, matters not PNP or JLP...knows as fact - LYING DAMN FOOLISHNESS to speak of boom!

I have not yet lived through any boom period in our history!

Secondly: What do you mean about Tourism starting to boom?
                  What facts and figures do you present to claim advances in tourism started in...or even can be claimed to have 'started to boom' during the period the name? What are comparing those figures with?

Facts: During the last 18 years the greatest build out of hotel rooms in our history as far as number of additional rooms (and by extension jobs attached to same) occurred.

Are we going to sit and claim we took full advantage of opportunities for our people as it pertain to our tourism product?

Our politicians - JLP and PNP...a look at our 'progress' over the years.

"They have facilitated Jamaica's under-development since independence, but they think they have done very well for the country. They cannot see that they are millstones around the necks of the Jamaican people. This break with reality by us makes 'it' extremely dangerous to the survival of Jamaica."

We should not wallow in the nonsense about Seaga's tremendous stewardship or Michael's enthusiasm and overlook...where we were in 1962 and where we are today! Like it or not, it is fact...and facts are stubborn things: "They have facilitated Jamaica's under-development since independence, but they think they have done very well for the country. They cannot see that they are millstones around the necks of the Jamaican people. This break with reality by us makes 'it' extremely dangerous to the survival of Jamaica."
                  Last edited by Karl; August 22, 2010, 10:01 AM.

there is a big difference between hotel boom which has happen over the last 20 years and tourism boom. In the 1980 because of the politics tourism became a trickle. Between 1980 and 1988 it moved to 2 million. Since 1988 to now we are having only 3 million visitors. You can check that in % growth by any means. Yes there is still growth in the sector but not as much.

Karl do you realise id more people are working the government collect more taxes? If more businesses are open the government collect more taxes and thus can better help schools, hospitals etc. With economic growth the government are better able to set a wider safety net, without that we are living on borrowed time.

Look at America presently, we are having 2% growth and look at the unemployment but hope is that over time not only the bigger companies will make the money but they will be spending more and employing more people.

There was only about 2.5 year growth under Seaga and that is no growth to spread to majority of the people. China have growth over 30 years and still can't spread it to majority of its people and they are communist country. Growth will be spread uneven as so too the lack of growth.

With the lack of growth for tha last 18 years you think we are better off for it??

In the 1980 because of the politics tourism became a trickle. Between 1980 and 1988 it moved to 2 million.
                      I guess you meant "In the 1970" (sic).

Whose politics made it a trickle?

the politics of Jamaica, both JLP and PNP who were shooting at each other. Yes I mean't in the 1970s.

You ever try using the online contract programmers for small projects? Them cheap and them do good work once you spec things right.

Me nuh hesitate fe use them for small programming projects that me nuh have the skills to do nor time to learn anymore. Plus its just better use of my time to contract it out.

elance.com is where I use. Haven't been disapointed so far. Programmers fe stone dog from all over the world, plus all kinds of other skilled resources.

You ever try using the online contract programmers for small projects? Them cheap and them do good work once you spec things right.

Me nuh hesitate fe use them for small programming projects that me nuh have the skills to do nor time to learn anymore. Plus its just better use of my time to contract it out.

elance.com is where I use. Haven't been disapointed so far. Programmers fe stone dog from all over the world, plus all kinds of other skilled resources.
                            yeah mi use one bredda fram Moldova fi search engine optimization tru one freelancer website an mi ave couple programming tings ah bwile said speed whey mi waan one ah dem Indian firm fi deal wid.... but sometime di savings dem nuh wort di bodderation
                            Last edited by Don1; August 22, 2010, 01:44 PM.

I will check mi designer brethren. Normally I just ask them fi do a little thing fi mi when it comes to flash. My programming was good but that was a long time ago, never really exite me either.
                              nuh bruk yuh neck...is like mi ave dat unda control now... respec said speed