• Patois Bible coming soon. . .

Patois Bible
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I hope they put it online like the Gullah bible translation

http://gullahbible.com/

Who is goin to read it??? Total waste of type...Jamaican dialect is not a written language, better dem mek mp3 or cd:

An example of the patois translation:
      Luke's Gospel, Chapter 10: vs 30, 31
      Patois: Jiizas ansa im se, 'Wan man a go dong fram Jeruusilem tu Jeriko an som tiif grab im. Dem tek we im kluoz, biit im an go we lef im haaf ded. Wan priis a go dong di siem ruod, si di man, an paas pan di ada said.'
      Revised English Bible: Jesus replied, 'A man was on his way from Jerusalem down to Jericho when he was set upon by robbers, who stripped and beat him, and went off leaving him half dead. It so happened that a priest was going down by the same road, and when he saw him, he went past on the other side.'

Good Points!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        Who is goin to read it??? Total waste of type...Jamaican dialect is not a written language, better dem mek mp3 or cd:
        Exactly what I’ve been saying for years! In addition to what you’ve said in your post above, patois is very difficult to read.

Patois is actually very beautiful coming from the lips of women like Diana King, Cherine Anderson, Etana, all the female singers in the Top 10 section of Digicel Rising Stars, etc. etc. However, sitting down and reading books of the Bible in patois will be very challenging for the average Jamaican.

but ah wha dis faada?? A voice from the past.... re-entering the madding crowd

er...that is why it needs to be taught?

dem teach English in England, SPanish in Spain and French in France....apparently dem teaching Haitian creole in South Florida...children of a lesser god syndrome.

Why we must gwan like God send down English from heaven? Bwoy oh bwoy.

Can you imagine what Miss Lou did haffe put up with when she start write her poem dem inna patois back in the day?

yup and we have regressed or are regressing.

What would Miss Lou think of a patois bible, I wonder.

She woulda tenk Puppa Jezas fi hit!

suh mi seh tuh!

The real question is if Jamaicans need any bible at all. Don't you all think enough damage has been done?

a dat...

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                          The real question is if Jamaicans need any bible at all. Don't you all think enough damage has been done?

good lord!

Dem might not need it but them want it, so......