Clarendon Terrorists Killed
Published: Saturday | August 21, 20100 Comments and 0 Reactions
Two men were fatally shot while a third was left nursing gunshot wounds during a clash with the police in Pennant, Clarendon, early this morning.
According to the police, the two men, who are yet to be identified, were killed in a clash in the district.
The other man was shot and one of his cronies arrested a short while later. The arrest took place metres from where the first incident occurred.
In keeping with their new information policy, the police did not provide details of the two incidents, as they will have to await the findings of an investigation by the Bureau of Special Investigations.
However, the police say three illegal firearms were seized during the incidents.
Residents of Pennant have claimed that three of the men had gone on a terror spree - setting two buildings ablaze - in the community about 1:30 yesterday morning.
One building was burnt to the ground, while another was damaged, before the blaze was put out by residents.
Frightening!
Clarendon man relates ordeal after gunmen fire-bomb his house
BY OSHANE TOBIAS Observer correspondent
Saturday, August 21, 2010
CHAPELTON, Clarendon — A man, who could only hide as gunmen invaded and fire-bombed his house in Turners, Clarendon early yesterday morning, is today heaping praise on the May Pen police for their quick response and for cutting down two of the hoodlums, while capturing two others.
"The police dem work good, give thanks fi dem quick response because dem save a life," said the man, who asked not to be named.
The house which gunmen fire-bombed in Turners, Clarendon early yesterday morning. (Photo: Oshane Tobias)
1/1
He said at about minutes after midnight he heard an elderly man, who lived in a section of the house, cry out for help and upon opening his window he saw the gunmen, whom he initially mistook for police officers.
"Just as I was about to fall asleep I heard the old man bawl out for help and when I looked through the window I saw some men with long rifles, but I didn't see any [police] vest," said the man. "So, me say a nuh police dem, and me jus draw back me window."
His sister, who also lives at the house, was not there at the time.
The gunmen, he said, told the old man to go under his bed and assured him that they were not going to shoot him. After that, they went to the front of the house and kicked in the front door.
"Dem come [in] and dig up the front room and the middle room, but a God mek dem nuh come around the back because we under the bed and we nah mek nuh sound," the man related, explaining that his nephew was in the house with him.
He said the gunmen then set the house ablaze, but he and his nephew remained under the bed and avoided making a sound.
"So they went outside and started firing shots, but we didn't come out. When the smoke a come down all me do is just cover me nose and get flat," he said, adding that he and his nephew remained under the bed until they were certain that the gunmen had left.
"A when me hear dem a lick shot go up the road me just get up and bawl out fi murder... and nobody nah respond, so me mash out the window and a so me escape," he said.
The men then reportedly sped away in a waiting motor car, but were later intercepted by the May Pen police in the community of Pennants where two of them were killed during what the police said was a shoot-out.
Another of the gunmen, who was shot in the reported firefight, is under police guard in hospital. A fourth man was taken into custody.
Residents, who gathered on the scene were tight-lipped for the most part, but also hailed the quick response of the police.
They believe the incident may have been linked to the shooting death of a man in the community on Wednesday, but Superintendent Dathon Henry, who is in charge of Clarendon, said while he's aware of both incidents, he could not say if they are related.
Henry also said three firearms were recovered in the operation.
Asked if he has any idea why his house was targeted, the man said: "I don't know, probably is the wrong house because me nuh do nobody anything."
He, however, believes that persons from within the community might know about the incident.
cap
The house which gunmen fire-bombed in Turners, Clarendon early yesterday morning. (Photo: Oshane Tobias)
Published: Saturday | August 21, 20100 Comments and 0 Reactions
Two men were fatally shot while a third was left nursing gunshot wounds during a clash with the police in Pennant, Clarendon, early this morning.
According to the police, the two men, who are yet to be identified, were killed in a clash in the district.
The other man was shot and one of his cronies arrested a short while later. The arrest took place metres from where the first incident occurred.
In keeping with their new information policy, the police did not provide details of the two incidents, as they will have to await the findings of an investigation by the Bureau of Special Investigations.
However, the police say three illegal firearms were seized during the incidents.
Residents of Pennant have claimed that three of the men had gone on a terror spree - setting two buildings ablaze - in the community about 1:30 yesterday morning.
One building was burnt to the ground, while another was damaged, before the blaze was put out by residents.
Frightening!
Clarendon man relates ordeal after gunmen fire-bomb his house
BY OSHANE TOBIAS Observer correspondent
Saturday, August 21, 2010
CHAPELTON, Clarendon — A man, who could only hide as gunmen invaded and fire-bombed his house in Turners, Clarendon early yesterday morning, is today heaping praise on the May Pen police for their quick response and for cutting down two of the hoodlums, while capturing two others.
"The police dem work good, give thanks fi dem quick response because dem save a life," said the man, who asked not to be named.
1/1
He said at about minutes after midnight he heard an elderly man, who lived in a section of the house, cry out for help and upon opening his window he saw the gunmen, whom he initially mistook for police officers.
"Just as I was about to fall asleep I heard the old man bawl out for help and when I looked through the window I saw some men with long rifles, but I didn't see any [police] vest," said the man. "So, me say a nuh police dem, and me jus draw back me window."
His sister, who also lives at the house, was not there at the time.
The gunmen, he said, told the old man to go under his bed and assured him that they were not going to shoot him. After that, they went to the front of the house and kicked in the front door.
"Dem come [in] and dig up the front room and the middle room, but a God mek dem nuh come around the back because we under the bed and we nah mek nuh sound," the man related, explaining that his nephew was in the house with him.
He said the gunmen then set the house ablaze, but he and his nephew remained under the bed and avoided making a sound.
"So they went outside and started firing shots, but we didn't come out. When the smoke a come down all me do is just cover me nose and get flat," he said, adding that he and his nephew remained under the bed until they were certain that the gunmen had left.
"A when me hear dem a lick shot go up the road me just get up and bawl out fi murder... and nobody nah respond, so me mash out the window and a so me escape," he said.
The men then reportedly sped away in a waiting motor car, but were later intercepted by the May Pen police in the community of Pennants where two of them were killed during what the police said was a shoot-out.
Another of the gunmen, who was shot in the reported firefight, is under police guard in hospital. A fourth man was taken into custody.
Residents, who gathered on the scene were tight-lipped for the most part, but also hailed the quick response of the police.
They believe the incident may have been linked to the shooting death of a man in the community on Wednesday, but Superintendent Dathon Henry, who is in charge of Clarendon, said while he's aware of both incidents, he could not say if they are related.
Henry also said three firearms were recovered in the operation.
Asked if he has any idea why his house was targeted, the man said: "I don't know, probably is the wrong house because me nuh do nobody anything."
He, however, believes that persons from within the community might know about the incident.
cap