• Like how Man ave more Cyar..Danville doan tap atall

Panton arrested - Key Motors boss charged

BY PAUL HENRY Observer staff reporter henryp@jamaicaobserver.com

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

KEY Motors boss Desmond Panton was yesterday afternoon arrested and charged with 50 counts of evasion of Customs duties and taxes, taking steps to defraud the Government of duties, and unlawful removal of goods.

Panton's car dealership along Hagley Park Road in St Andrew was also shuttered by the Customs Department.

The gates to the premises and the doors to the Key Motors offices along the auto strip were sealed with tape bearing the Jamaica Customs Enforcement logo and the word "detained".

Commissioner of Customs Danville Walker said in a release yesterday that no one would be spared in the clampdown on illegality.

"One set of rules must be followed by everyone, and when persons breach these rules the full measure of the law must be applied, regardless of who you are," Walker said.

A Customs Department source told the Observer last night that other auto dealers were being probed.

"All bonded warehouses are now being audited and investigated," said the source.

Panton's arrest came after a year-long audit of the operations of Key Motors by the Customs Department, which said it uncovered a number of discrepancies regarding the evasion of Customs duties by releasing vehicles using improper procedures.

The department said yesterday that its Contraband Enforcement Team (CET) discovered that more than 50 vehicles, amounting to approximately $40 million in duties, have been illegally removed from the warehouse at Key Motors and unlawfully licensed.

The Customs Department source said that nine of those vehicles have so far been recovered from unsuspecting customers across the island between Saturday and Sunday. Key Motors carries the Hyundai brand of vehicles.

Following Panton's arrest, the Customs Department expressed regret over the seizure of the vehicles and assured that they would be returned "as soon as possible".

Hours after his arrest, Panton was released on a summons to appear in the Corporate Area Criminal Court on September 14.

If convicted, the businessman could be slapped with $100 million in fines and penalties. He could also be imprisoned for up to five years on the unlawful removal charge.

Fuss im elp clean up di electoral system...like im ah duh di said ting fi Customs

Nice!

Double nice.

Ah long time we want ketch dem owl pirate yah. Now fi di breddah!

If I could tell some a what mi hear. LoL

Again them things yah fi gwaan fi limit imports. Now you see, all this beating the system and dumping killing our economy. Straight up

Remember the story of Claude Clark?

I know a lot of people happy about this. He was not well-liked in some circles.

SOME??? Try most.

LoL

"I have a team that is committed.."

Really? Well, do something about that rogue, Warmonger!

He must fancy himself a PJ....

Again them things yah fi gwaan fi limit imports. Now you see, all this beating the system and dumping killing our economy. Straight up
                      you don't learn do you.... this will limit imports? So demand for vehicles will be suppressed by actions like this?

Quit... mi beg yuh!

Really? Well, do something about that rogue, Warmonger!
                        dem fi duh sumtin bout di corrupt, liad head ah di team...LoL!

can u imagine?!

if me like Warmonger and Liad Bruce try tell me anything...bangarang!

Bruce is so compromised...sigh!

Heh, heh.. look like yuh tink seh is Babylon yuh still deh...

Dem bwoy yah ah bayed long long time, mi wouldah like fi know ah how come dem jus ketch up wid him. If dem guh back from way back suh, di collector ah guh smile off him face.