• Improved CXC results this year

Jamaicaobserver.com

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

JAMAICAN students showed significant improvement in a number of subjects, including mathematics and English Language, in the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) exams written in May and June this year, CXC officials told reporters yesterday.

At the same time, officials of the regional examining body sought to assure Jamaican students and educators that its system for dealing with unusual cases has been comprehensive and robust, amid concerns about students affected by May's stand-off between gunmen and the security forces in West Kingston.

Education Minister Andrew Holness addresses yesterday CXC press conference at Overseas Examinations Commission in Kingston. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)
    Education Minister Andrew Holness addresses yesterday CXC press conference at Overseas Examinations Commission in Kingston. (Photo: Bryan Cummings) 1/1

CXC registrar Dr Didacus Jules explained that CXC assessment model, which included school-based assessments and ratings by teachers of students' performance, was used in assessing the results of students affected by the unrest.

"For the last 30 years we have allowed classroom teachers and subject teachers to have an important say in the assessment of their students," Dr Jules said at a press conference at the Overseas Examinations Commission in Kingston yesterday.

No detailed results were made available yesterday, but a power point presentation indicated that approximately 27,000 students gained passing grades in English A in the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC), up from about 22,000 in 2009.

It also showed about 16,000 students passing mathematics in CSEC, up from about 13,000 last year.

Other CSEC subjects showing more students passing this year include Caribbean history, English A, English B, mathematics, geography, electronic document, social studies, religious education and principles of business.

In the Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE) improvement was shown in computer science two, economics, food and nutrition, Spanish, French, law and English Literature, while there was 100 per cent passes in a new subject, applied mathematics.

No comparison was given with other Caribbean territories.

Minister of Education Andrew Holness expressed satisfaction with how the CXC handled the affected students.

"We take the position that what CXC did was equitable and appropriate", he said.

A statement from the CXC said during the period May 24 to 28 when the State of Emergency was declared, six CSEC subjects and 12 CAPE subjects were affected.

Some 351 CAPE candidates or 2.8 per cent were affected by the unrest, the CXC release said. For CSEC, 1877 candidates or 2.4 per cent were affected.

Thirteen centres were affected by the violence, resulting in some students being moved to other centres to write their exams.

The results are currently being distributed to schools and the CXC promised to make the full results available to the media on Friday.

A total 77,924 students wrote the CSEC, while 12,315 candidates sat the CAPE in May and June.

Education Minister Andrew Holness addresses yesterday CXC press conference at Overseas Examinations Commission in Kingston. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)

I remember the feeling waiting the last few days for CXC results!

Dayum.

Over 22% improvement in Math and English passes in one year and even with the Dudus unrest.

How come no one is cheering this? GREAT NEWS.

what are YOUR thoughts?

them nuh wan't the JLP fi get nuh credit.
          The quick to point out the ills which they should do but temper it with the good.

Dat is one thing, but I dont even care about politics here. Just glad that the youngsters are improving. Any port in a storm.

Dont care it its JLP/PNP/NoP/etc. Just happy for a ray of sunshine pon mi long suffahring peeps! We hardly have much to smile about nowadyas outside of Track and Field (and football when facing TnT, LoL).

I don't really care either. The fact that it happen under their watch don't mean we should talk about it. We should look further into what is happening. However when it get worst we have no problem blaming the government so....

Dat is one thing, but I dont even care about politics here. Just glad that the youngsters are improving. Any port in a storm.

Dont care it its JLP/PNP/NoP/etc. Just happy for a ray of sunshine pon mi long suffahring peeps! We hardly have much to smile about nowadyas outside of Track and Field (and football when facing TnT, LoL).

Says who, yuh nuh see the smile pon the people face when dem DAGGERING!!

Demonic smile.....

Degenerate smile dont count.

Very good news. I hear it is not a one time thing either, the reults have been gradually getter better over the last few years.

what dat have to do wid politics, Sass? Is Andrew Holness a teach dem?

No but could it be better leadership and polices?

I assume somebody did a teach them last year too.

It could also be in part polices by the PNP who left 3 years ago.

"I have a team that is committed..."

Don't go down that road...

Big tings, love dis. It did deh pan di decline fi ah long time. Membah dem days, bwoy man head did tough likkah diamond.