Improved CXC results this year

But if we fail to examine the causes how are we going to repeat it? Maybe praise to go all around????
    LoL! nuh yuh did waan eggs up an praise JLP wen yuh nuh kno how tings guh? Yuh tink test score of a country tek 1 ar 2 year fi improve significantly??

unnu too excitable...irrational exuberance of a tribal nature

where ever did you see me say that?

Reading is overated to rhatid.

i agree wholeheartedly

A journey of 1,000 miles begins with what???

22% increase in one year is astounding. Cause to bruk out the champagne, not a reason to wait and see...

A journey of 1,000 miles begins with what???

22% increase in one year is astounding. Cause to bruk out the champagne, not a reason to wait and see...
            time to analyse the cause...and replicate widely

celebration can wait til it bonafide & sustainable over time

"celebrate Good Times, Come On"

No sah, we can buss a jinks, then investigate and if we find we can replicate, buss anadda jinks.

LoL

Good talk. One way to increase the % is to have those students who are showing poor grades prior to the exam not to sit. When CXC is open to all students across the board (with no interference from teachers) then we will get a true picture.

And you think that this happening more now than it did in the past?

I don't have the data to give confident yes. What I know is that the CXC is not an open exam (meaning once a student reaches eleventh grade they can sit) hence any result is not a true reflection in terms teaching quality and the students' ability to learn. In the US no teacher can stop from taking the Regents, SAT or even the AP for that matter. In Ja with its post slavery and colonial approach that's different story.

That may be so but that does not make the 20% improvement a meaningless statistic. That is not a new thing. In fact I suspect that there is a higher percentage of students sitting CXCs today than there were students sitting GCE's in the 70s or 80s.

Not saying it's meaningless but I was just supporting exile's view that other factors may determine the increase (and not just that it's the JLP is in power).

Yes more students are taking CXC as opposed to the 70s and 80s because many schools have been renamed to be high schools. The policies remain the same though.

Is like unno dont get it, refuse to read and comprehend or just have a fear of giving any credit to the guvvament!!!!! Even under PJ a few good things happened and so you can afford to say "good job" when a good result is offered. I recall when PJ slapped a visa in retaliation on Cayman and I was the first in line to grant kudos...and I think PJ was the WORST PM we ever had.

Not saying it was mainly due to the JLP GOJ, but they have now been in power 3 years and have made secondary eddication "free" again, so it seems reasonable that SOME credit must go to them.

Read the article again. I highlight the relevant section below. IT is not a pass rate increase that I celebrated but an ABSOLUTE number of passes that increased over 20% in the 2 most important subjects. For all I know the pass rate couold have even gone down, but so what? Especially as you described cases where they can play with the numbers actually sitting the exams to influence the pass rates. The only possible negative here is if the CXC lowered the actuall passing grades accross the board (unthinkable) and thus lowering standards.

No detailed results were made available yesterday, but a power point presentation indicated that approximately 27,000 students gained passing grades in English A in the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC), up from about 22,000 in 2009.

It also showed about 16,000 students passing mathematics in CSEC, up from about 13,000 last year.

Is like Butchalitis ketch Mo. When ask a few months a go name the performing ministers. He claimed that He was bias and MOE and him a drinkng buddy. It seems like them stop drink now.LOL

Willi the discussion is not really about numbers... it's about CAUSE

What is needed is not champagne sippin' or praising politicians in office when their presence MAY be coincidental to the event....but determining the causal factors and replicating them...and if the politician is responsible..more powa to him

Let's examine what policy or resource changes impacted this particular cohort achieving the improved results...

That's the key....
                                Last edited by Don1; August 19, 2010, 10:38 AM.