• How the sh*tstem worked for Chen Singh and his community

Opportunity Amid Buckfield Tragedy
    Published: Tuesday | August 17, 20100 Comments and 0 Reactions

Chillum pipe
    The Editor, Sir:

As a clinician in the field of addictions, I feel compelled to write to you with the hope of edifying the public at large, with regard to the disease of addiction. The killing of Ian 'Chen-Singh' Lloyd, a reputed drug-addicted person in Buckfield, St Ann, though tragic, is the perfect opportunity to highlight the shortcomings of our substance-abuse treatment and rehabilitation programmes in Jamaica, as well as how a lack of knowledge can lead to death and devastation.

I deliberately described Mr Lloyd as a person because, despite his addiction, misunderstood behaviour and criminality, he is just that - a person, and I will go further to say one who needed a lot of help. The lack of humanity that was exemplified by both the police and community members during the entire ordeal leading to his death, demonstrates the anger, frustration and fear that the community had for this man, coming generally from a lack of understanding about why he behaved the way he did.

It is also quite possible that Mr Lloyd himself also did not understand his own behaviour or the unquenchable desire that he had for crack (a derivative of cocaine), and how it drove him to commit various crimes, live in unsanitary conditions and literally torment his community in an effort to maintain his drug-using lifestyle. All maladaptive and dysfunctional behaviour have a context within which it can and should be understood, and Mr Lloyd's situation was no different.

Family, societal disease

Addiction may be classified as a family and societal disease or dis-ease as it is referred to by many in the field. I include here family and society as the behaviour of drug-addicted persons ultimately brings harm to families and communities. Two of the most salient features of an addiction can be found in both the psychological and physiological nature of the process. Simply put, the addiction will consume your thoughts and feelings, as well as impact your body as it is forced to adapt itself in order to process the substance.

Crack, in particular, because of its nature, has a deleterious effect that causes the need for rapid action. As quickly as the addict gets high, in minutes he goes into depression, this cycle causes him to try as best as he can to stay high. So crack-addicted persons in particular are not only driven by the desire to get high through the stimulation of the pleasure centre in the brain, but also the avoidance of depression and other negative feelings.

So while Mr Lloyd is somewhat responsible for initial crack use, once the disease addiction sets in he is going to require additional assistance and oftentimes, professional help to be able to have a chance at arresting this problem.

Limited resources

If Mr Lloyd had ever been arrested for any of his petty crimes, perpetrated to sustain drug use, an intervention opportunity could have been staged via referral to the drug treatment court. However, this I presume was not possible, as there are only two such courts in Jamaica, in Kingston and Montego Bay, St James, after much promise of establishing these courts in every parish from as far back as 2001.

As a former drug-treatment provider, with this special court, I can state from experience that offering rehabilitation rather than punitive measures is the way to go when dealing with drug-addicted persons. This court represents, for many drug users, their first contact with any form of treatment; and I know of many individuals who are now productive members of society that have been saved and transformed as a result of one of the two drug treatment courts.

We need to increase the knowledge base of all Jamaicans with respect to dealing with addicted persons as well as develop and initiate sensitive and meaningful policies as it relates to how those in authority treat with addicted persons.

I am, etc.,

RICHARD HENRY

richardhenry4@yahoo,com

RISE Life Management Services

57 East Street, Kingston

Share |

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Where it worked and where I disagree with the author

Demonstrates the anger, frustration and fear that the community had for this man,

Not only anger , frustration and fear for the man but the failed system as shown by residents encouraging the police on to shoot the man.

Coming generally from a lack of understanding about why he behaved the way he did.

That might be true but as the authour stated the only course of action left to deal with Chen Singh left by the government and its failed system was the only one that worked , The police force, left to deal with his addictions , actions of his addictions , anger of his addiction , frustration of his addiction and murder caused by his addiction.The outcome was inevitable.

Now through in 15 to 20 armed gunmen in that equation ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Bloodbaths and burials
      Heart to Heart
      With Betty Ann Blaine

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Dear Reader,
      The picture of the small boy sitting on a stool and staring into space with a cold, blank look on his face told half the story, and on the front page of this newspaper, a young woman with tears flowing down her face told the other half. The terror unleashed on the Tredegar Park community resulting in the death of eight people presented a most shocking and barbaric scene even for a country accustomed to a daily diet of murders.
      When the carnage was over, among the dead were three generations of Jamaicans - a father, a daughter and a granddaughter only eleven years old - and a community overwhelmed by grief and obviously riddled with fear.
      There is no doubt that Jamaica has crossed the criminal threshold, and can now easily be described as a state characterised by blatant acts of terrorism. What transpired at Tredegar Park was more than a gruesome criminal act. The obviously well-organised and premeditated assault reportedly carried out by a 15- to 20-man armed terrorist militia, the multiplicity of houses targeted and the firebombing of some of them, are alarmingly similar to the kinds of terrorist attacks we see in other parts of the world.
      And Tredegar Park was not the only such story. As I watched and read the reports, my mind raced back to the Hundred Lane massacre off Red Hills Road in Kingston, a few years ago. That too was a blatant terrorist attack that left women and children lying dead in the aftermath. I visited the community the day after it happened, and was forced to inhale the stench of death and rubble that permeated the atmosphere.
      That was the first time I came face to face with Jamaican "refugees" as I watched the residents pack their meagre belongings on to anything that moved on wheels and hurriedly made their way out of the community. I felt compelled to ask one woman where she was moving to. Between quick and nervous gestures she replied, "Mi nuh know, Miss. Wi nuh 'ave no weh fi go, but wi cyaan stay ya mek dem kill wi."
      The media and police reports of that massacre described the attack as an orchestrated joint offensive involving criminal networks from the eastern and western belt of downtown Kingston, combined with those from One Hundred Lane and the nearby Park Lane. It contained all the elements of terrorism. The heavily armed men moved in at night and with military-like precision, cut off the main electrical supply to the entire community. Under the cover of darkness, the armed terrorists moved from door to door spraying bullets from high-powered weapons, bombing homes and raining terror on the community. So heavily armed were the attackers that the police were pinned down for a considerable period, and until back-up arrived were initially incapable of countering the attack.
      If the powers that be and the rest of us underestimated the Red Hills Road massacre at that time, it must be clear that the country is now faced with terrorism, and has to aggressively seek foreign intervention and assistance to pursue a counter-terrorism mandate, post-haste! The kind of terror that we are now seeing is clearly beyond the capacity of the Jamaican police, and require a more specialised and targeted strategy.
      Of course, the ambivalence and disunity that surrounded the debate regarding the extension of the State of Emergency did not serve to further the interest of law and order. In fact, I suspect that it sent a message to the criminals that we the majority are incapable of agreeing on how to stop them. There is no doubt that the partisan game-playing charade, which the country was forced to ingest, did nothing more than to bolster the thinking and actions of the gangs, and has further entrenched the balance of power that they have held for a long time.
      Many of us understood that the State of Emergency, by its very nature, carried with it the risk of violating the human rights of Jamaicans, though unacceptable, and was biased toward the poorest communities, while ignoring those where the criminal "king fish" are reputed to be domiciled. We certainly understood that the State of Emergency could not substitute for normal policing work, and therefore could not possibly have remained in effect indefinitely.
      It seemed, however, that there were very positive results, the main one being the significant reduction in murders over the period when the State of Emergency was in force. At the very least, the lull in murders and other serious crimes created a space and lowered the temperature enough to have allowed for solutions and services to be garnered as an important step towards creating lasting peace in our volatile, inner-city communities.
      But what's more, the lull in crime created by the State of Emergency offered the beleaguered and battle-worn residents a respite from the daily barrage of gunfire and from the steady diet of murders. The media reported that the residents of Tivoli Gardens and other communities begged the security forces to remain so that they could continue to enjoy peace and a sense of safety, and by the time the State of Emergency was lifted, the polls showed that Jamaicans across the length and breadth of the country supported its extension.
      It is clear that the time has come for us to put our differences aside and unite around the issue of crime and violence and the emerging threat of terrorism. If we don't, the headlines will continue to be about bloodbaths and burials.
      With love,
      bab2609@yahoo.com

The right to life – and a living
        JEAN LOWRIE-CHIN

Monday, August 16, 2010

I had a long conversation recently with our dynamic new Ambassador to Washington, Audrey Marks. She has been explaining to some pretty big names on Capitol Hill that PM Golding had taken one of the greatest risks of his political life in the extradition proceedings against Christopher Coke. She is asking that “he and Jamaica need to be supported in the thrust to continue dismantling garrisons and revitalising downtown Kingston by providing security and socioeconomic resources similar to Plan Colombia”.
        Marks says that some of the senior US folks were impressed that Golding took such an unpopular (if belated) stand in his own constituency. There is certainly no perfect situation under the sun, and though I was disappointed by his handling of the situation, there was a significant reduction in crime during the State of Emergency. We agreed that in time Jamaica's respected electoral system will allow the people to have their say.
        This is in no way to defend Golding, but to defend Jamaica from those who would try to squeeze the last bit of political mileage out of every situation, even if it means squeezing the country half to death. Why in heaven’s name did the PNP “abstain” from the vote to extend the State of Emergency? Look at the heartless murder of eight Jamaicans at Tredegar Park on Friday morning! One colleague commented, “Don't these human rights people believe in the right to life?”
        Jamaica's political front definitely needs some fresh faces and so we commend colleague Betty-Ann Blaine on the formation of her new NNC party. Ah yes, the fate of third parties in Jamaica seems almost inevitable, but who knows? The NNC may merge with the NDM and give Jamaicans a viable third option.
        We should also acknowledge the relevance of Gordon “Butch” Stewart's call at this time, for less talk and more support for business. This is how we will keep our young people out of gangs. The problem of unemployment in Jamaica is a serious crisis and businesses are getting a beating, instead of being empowered to expand and create more jobs. Jamaica has no smog like Russia, no floods like Pakistan, no landslides like China, no desert like the Sudan, no war like Afghanistan. We have optimum conditions for productivity, but serious bureaucratic roadblocks.
        We also have the inspiring philosophy of Marcus Mosiah Garvey whose birthday we celebrate tomorrow. This should be a national holiday when we raise awareness of this most famous Jamaican National Hero, who was a champion of entrepreneurship and self determination. He was not a racist, and wrote about the achievements of America's white entrepreneurs in glowing terms.
        Two years ago on Garvey's birthday, my husband and I headed to the Bird's Nest in Beijing for our third evening at the Olympics. I declared that we needed to win some medals for Marcus – would you believe, it was that very night that our three women athletes made history with one gold and two silver medals (see report at blog linked below). A Russian who spotted our flag shouted at us, “Jamaica, you are great! 1-2-2!”
        My friend Mohan Jagnarine recently hosted a wedding here for his daughter. Some of his overseas guests were fearful of coming to Jamaica because of the recent negative headlines. “Once they got here,” he said, “over 90 per cent of them said they were surprised at how lovely Jamaica still was, and that they want to come back!”
        They went on a tour near Dunn’s River and a few fellows offered to take their money to buy them some beers. “They were afraid that they wouldn't see the guys again, but I assured them that they would and even promised to repay them if they didn't,” said Mohan. “Well, sure enough, the fellows brought back their beers and counted out their change to the last cent!” This is the Jamaica that people like Mohan continue to believe in.
        Archbishop Donald Reece spoke on the theme of faith at the 50th Anniversary Celebration of Our Lady of the Angels Church last week. He sang the chorus, “You got to move”, challenging us as people of faith to be adventurous, and to strike out in new directions in order to accomplish our Christian goals. This is no Bible thumping Christianity. This is an active Christianity that demands performance from every God-given talent and every God-given sinew we possess. It is still beyond me how a country that purports to be so deeply Christian could have allowed such wickedness to overtake us.
        Congregations need to move those sleepy parsons to do more and preach less. Voters need to move those crooked politicians out of Gordon House. Human rights activists need to be moved by the suffering of ordinary people at the hands of marauding gangsters. “We got to move!”
        Milestones
        Congratulations to the gracious Mrs Marigold Harding on her appointment as custos of St Andrew and deep appreciation to retired custos Bishop Carmen Stewart on her extraordinary tour of duty. Congrats also to the recipients of National Honours, especially Ambassador Sue Cobb, Arnold Foote, Monsignor Gregory Ramkissoon, Sister Susan Frazer, Dr Marion Bullock-DuCasse, Joseph M Matalon and Ken Chaplin. They are Jamaica's special blessings.
        Kudos to NCU's “Team XORMIS” for winning the Microsoft Imagine Challenge over all the leading universities in the world and their “Team Educ8” for making the semifinals. We saw the video of that glorious moment when Team XORMIS was announced in Poland and they ran up the aisle with Jamaican flag flying to the applause of a huge audience. Awesome!
        Best wishes to CVM executive director Dr David McBean who returns to his first love, telecommunications, and will be taking up a post with LIME in Barbados. This Westmoreland born Rhodes Scholar has given nine solid years to the resilient media group and will surely be missed.
        Sad farewell to Terry Wilmot who was laid to rest on Saturday. For her fellow Alpha Alumnae, she was far more than a psychic – she was loved for her fine spirit and admired for her intelligence and leadership as head girl in the 60s. She was also a very caring daughter and sister. Rest in peace, dear Terry.
        lowriechin@aim.com
        www.lowrie-chin.blogspot.com

COLUMNS

Get involved!
          LLOYD B SMITH

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

"All you silent majority sitting on your 'you know what'...you gotta get involved."
          - lyrics from a popular American song.
          Jamaica has too many spectators in the stands and too few players in the arena fighting for what is right and just. It's like everybody has got soft and cowardly. From all those citizens ensconced in their ivory towers, to talk-show hosts, newspaper columnists, armchair journalists, private sector moguls and self-styled men and women of God who spew caustic religious verbiage from their pulpits, we continue to be a nation of talkers, conceptualisers and idealists, playing the blame game to the hilt, while many have one foot in and one foot out of the island. Where is the commitment to Jamaica, land we love?
          What is even more alarming, if not frightening, is the rampant cynicism that pervades the society. Suspicion clouds everything and everyone. Take, for example, the recent formation of the New Nation Coalition headed by former talk-show host and children's advocate, Betty Ann Blaine. Instead of giving the group the opportunity to prove itself worthy of its intentions, many Jamaicans have weighed in on this neophyte political movement with a vengeance, casting doom and gloom on its efforts even before it has had a reasonable chance at proving itself as a worthwhile alternative. It was that famous anthropologist Margaret Mead who once said, "Never doubt that a small group of people can change the world. Indeed, it's the only thing that ever has."
          Both Dr Carolyn Gomes and Yvonne McCalla-Sobers and their relatively small band of followers stand out as sore thumbs for some Jamaicans who are yet to appreciate the tremendous work they are doing in standing up for equal rights and justice. We may not necessarily agree with all they say and do, but surely they remain a vital element on the Jamaican socio-political landscape, giving the nation a conscience which it seems to lack at this time. Then again, one of the bitter ironies of Jamaican life is that if you are black with a mission, you are likely to be ignored, ridiculed or ostracised. The revolution went to lunch long ago because the children of Marcus Mosiah Garvey have enwrapped themselves in mental slavery and a continuing inferiority complex. Truly, for them, anything black nuh good! Whatever happened to Flo O'Connor? Tut, tut.
          In today's Jamaica, if a black man or woman is very successful in the business world, he or she is immediately perceived as being involved in something illegal or immoral, or both. And every attempt is made to tear down that person. In this context, the spirit of volunteerism, which was once so strong and alive, in Jamaica has become almost extinct and I do believe that one of the reasons for this is that people are afraid of serving. It cannot be denied that entering politics is or should be the ultimate in terms of serving one's community and country, yet we see just about every politician as dishonest and evil. Even in the generic sense we perceive every politician to be a bad person.
          I well recall when I ran on a Jamaica Labour Party ticket in the 1997 general election how many of my friends bemoaned the fact that I had tarnished my image by entering the political arena. One female admirer of mine even wept bitterly, admonishing me for mixing up myself in such "a dirty, nasty business". As a result of our politics being seen in such a light, it is said that no self-respecting, decent, law-abiding citizen should think of entering such a profession. If we follow this flawed reasoning to its ultimate conclusion, then it means that only crooks and charlatans should become our elected officials. And in the final analysis, it would appear as if our premise has continued to come true.
          But is this fair to Jamaica, land we love? Shouldn't we be encouraging good men and women to enter politics? How else can it be cleansed and become a noble vocation?
          One of the unfortunate situations in Jamaica at this time is that there is the perception that no one can and should be trusted. The various scandals that have plagued both the JLP and the PNP since the attainment of political independence in 1962 and the ways in which they have been handled by the respective leaders have helped only to reinforce the all-pervasive perception that politics is synonymous with corruption.
          But should we abandon our hopes and dreams and leave the country to be overrun by rascals and predators? Lest we forget, there is the sin of commission as well as omission. If too many of us continue to sit in the stands, criticising what is happening, ranting and raving, pointing fingers but not doing one damn thing about it, then we are just as bad as the perpetrators. It is my view that the so-called silent majority is too lukewarm, and as the Good Lord says, if you are neither hot nor cold, then He will spew you out of His mouth.
          We need to take a stand. If one stands for nothing, then one will stand for anything. We need to stand up and be counted. Join a citizens' group, a Neighbourhood Watch, a Chamber of Commerce, a professional or pressure group; become an active supporter or member of a political party (or even better, form one - coalitions can wield much power), run for office even as an Independent, do some charitable work, help save an unfortunate youngster who needs help for self-advancement, speak out, shout out, bawl out, get involved! Now is the time for all men and women of goodwill to get out of the stands and get on the playing field. Jamaica needs you!
          lloydbsmith@hotmail.com