willi, people lie for many different reasons.
That $200 MILLION @ 1.5% !!
Just remember a year ago we couldn't even get an IMF loan.
Is it better to have the IMF or .........
Yes we have to do our own reform but how many years it too us to even attemp at reform? Instead all we did was run up the dollar and inflation and talk bout first world by 2015.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostJust remember a year ago we couldn't even get an IMF loan.
Is it better to have the IMF or .........
Yes we have to do our own reform but how many years it too us to even attemp at reform? Instead all we did was run up the dollar and inflation and talk bout first world by 2015.
This is not your grandfather's IMF.... virtually ALL countries applying for Special Drawing Rights were approved... with multiples of the original limits. All they had to do was agree to the conditionalities...which themselves were softened due to the recession. Jamaica just took an inordinately long time to agree to a plan which met their conditions. The relaxed standards and easy money of the multi-laterals are in response to the recession...not any great skills by One Turd.
Jamaica is going nowhere without socio-political reform.
There is virtually no sustained discussion on that issue by the tribes or civil society... instead people are busy looking for 3% growth and celebrating loans & passing IMF tests.... the benefits of which will not trickle down sufficiently to take us anywhere as a people. This is a Republican Party type orthodox prescription which may work some places but will not in our neo-plantation society.
We are a very myopic people trapped in a failed paradigm.... and don't even realize it.
PatheticLast edited by Don1; August 18, 2010, 07:17 AM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
The fact is we had the loan on condition that we had to do the JDX, wage freeze and Sell Air Jamaica plus a budget revision.
How do you suppose we go from here and get capital etc. without the multilaterals? You think Chavez and China alone can dweet?
The fact is Jamaica have to do a lot of things to get better and one of those is to start growing its economy. Without any growth we are doomed. 3 percent only mean we have to start somewhere. It is 3 percent as oppose to -1 to +1 which has happened over the last 20 years. Pick your medicine. After we get the growth we can talk about higher growth and how fi trickle it.
If you notice there was no talk about how to divide -1. The rich man dem still a get richer even when a negitive growth.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
=Assasin;251129]The fact is we had the loan on condition that we had to do the JDX, wage freeze and Sell Air Jamaica plus a budget revision.
How do you suppose we go from here and get capital etc. without the multilaterals? You think Chavez and China alone can dweet?
The fact is Jamaica have to do a lot of things to get better and one of those is to start growing its economy. Without any growth we are doomed. 3 percent only mean we have to start somewhere. It is 3 percent as oppose to -1 to +1 which has happened over the last 20 years. Pick your medicine. After we get the growth we can talk about higher growth and how fi trickle it.
One either accepts this or not. It's ok if you don't.
If you notice there was no talk about how to divide -1. The rich man dem still a get richer even when a negitive growth.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
yuh cyaan chat nonsense an nuh expec fi get blow up..
I fail to see how any serious early stage company can contemplate executing a strategy without a debt component.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Why the fuss?
You are both saying the same thing in practical terms.
Nowadays, angels and VCs start off with convertibles which are both equity and debt hybrid instruments. Back in the day (before Dot.com bubble bust), you could get strait equity from investors. Not so nowadays, in the main.
Originally posted by Willi View PostWhy the fuss?
You are both saying the same thing in practical terms.
Nowadays, angels and VCs start off with convertibles which are both equity and debt hybrid instruments. Back in the day (before Dot.com bubble bust), you could get strait equity from investors. Not so nowadays, in the main.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Yuh mek ah foolish blanket statement.... nuff company nah consider debt now...especially when dem nah mek nuh profit...some ah dem nuh even ave a solid revenue stream...who ah guh len dem money?? nuhbaddy...suh ow dem fi consider debt as a "component".. LoL!
If di private equity man dem love dem business model...especially a net based model...dem cyan get straight equity...straitLast edited by Don1; August 18, 2010, 08:16 AM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE