That $200 MILLION @ 1.5% !!

willi, people lie for many different reasons.

Just remember a year ago we couldn't even get an IMF loan.
      Is it better to have the IMF or .........

Yes we have to do our own reform but how many years it too us to even attemp at reform? Instead all we did was run up the dollar and inflation and talk bout first world by 2015.

Just remember a year ago we couldn't even get an IMF loan.
        Is it better to have the IMF or .........

Yes we have to do our own reform but how many years it too us to even attemp at reform? Instead all we did was run up the dollar and inflation and talk bout first world by 2015.
        We couldn't get an IMF loan?? Ridiculous.
        This is not your grandfather's IMF.... virtually ALL countries applying for Special Drawing Rights were approved... with multiples of the original limits. All they had to do was agree to the conditionalities...which themselves were softened due to the recession. Jamaica just took an inordinately long time to agree to a plan which met their conditions. The relaxed standards and easy money of the multi-laterals are in response to the recession...not any great skills by One Turd.

Jamaica is going nowhere without socio-political reform.
        There is virtually no sustained discussion on that issue by the tribes or civil society... instead people are busy looking for 3% growth and celebrating loans & passing IMF tests.... the benefits of which will not trickle down sufficiently to take us anywhere as a people. This is a Republican Party type orthodox prescription which may work some places but will not in our neo-plantation society.

We are a very myopic people trapped in a failed paradigm.... and don't even realize it.

Pathetic
        Last edited by Don1; August 18, 2010, 07:17 AM.

The fact is we had the loan on condition that we had to do the JDX, wage freeze and Sell Air Jamaica plus a budget revision.

How do you suppose we go from here and get capital etc. without the multilaterals? You think Chavez and China alone can dweet?

The fact is Jamaica have to do a lot of things to get better and one of those is to start growing its economy. Without any growth we are doomed. 3 percent only mean we have to start somewhere. It is 3 percent as oppose to -1 to +1 which has happened over the last 20 years. Pick your medicine. After we get the growth we can talk about higher growth and how fi trickle it.

If you notice there was no talk about how to divide -1. The rich man dem still a get richer even when a negitive growth.

=Assasin;251129]The fact is we had the loan on condition that we had to do the JDX, wage freeze and Sell Air Jamaica plus a budget revision.
            Thanks for confirming that the loan was available to Jamaica given agreeable conditions as I said.

How do you suppose we go from here and get capital etc. without the multilaterals? You think Chavez and China alone can dweet?
            Never said or implied this. Read more carefully.

The fact is Jamaica have to do a lot of things to get better and one of those is to start growing its economy. Without any growth we are doomed. 3 percent only mean we have to start somewhere. It is 3 percent as oppose to -1 to +1 which has happened over the last 20 years. Pick your medicine. After we get the growth we can talk about higher growth and how fi trickle it.
            No one is against growth... Socio-political reform of our plantation is as necessary or perhaps more necessary than this growth you speak of...in fact GDP growth will not be sustained without reform.

One either accepts this or not. It's ok if you don't.

If you notice there was no talk about how to divide -1. The rich man dem still a get richer even when a negitive growth.
            Strange point....whatever it is.

Yeah.. ever heard about convertible debt ?

I did day 'serious'.

Don't hurt your head.. is a Silicon Valley Economist ting.. outside of your scope.

yuh cyaan chat nonsense an nuh expec fi get blow up..

I fail to see how any serious early stage company can contemplate executing a strategy without a debt component.
                wooiee mi belly!

Why the fuss?

You are both saying the same thing in practical terms.

Nowadays, angels and VCs start off with convertibles which are both equity and debt hybrid instruments. Back in the day (before Dot.com bubble bust), you could get strait equity from investors. Not so nowadays, in the main.

Why the fuss?

You are both saying the same thing in practical terms.

Nowadays, angels and VCs start off with convertibles which are both equity and debt hybrid instruments. Back in the day (before Dot.com bubble bust), you could get strait equity from investors. Not so nowadays, in the main.
                    Internet based early stage companies are still getting straight equity injections even today

Ask Don Uno.. I mentioned it as a COMPONENT... not excluding other forms.

Eediat come talk bout if wi ever hear bout equity ?

LOL !

Chue him nuh know who him a deal wid.

and how many of them have a funding strategy that does not have a debt component ????

Serious ones that is...

Quit while you are behind.

Round 1 maybe, but from round 2 when the base widens, is pure convertibles start to talk. VCs want the seniority of Debt and the upside potential of equity. They have their cake and eat it too!

Yuh mek ah foolish blanket statement.... nuff company nah consider debt now...especially when dem nah mek nuh profit...some ah dem nuh even ave a solid revenue stream...who ah guh len dem money?? nuhbaddy...suh ow dem fi consider debt as a "component".. LoL!

If di private equity man dem love dem business model...especially a net based model...dem cyan get straight equity...strait
                            Last edited by Don1; August 18, 2010, 08:16 AM.

It is also is good strategy for the company.. but then again, I did qualify it as a serious company..

I will not go into the details..

Yuh eiddah know.. or yuh name Don1..

read up on convertible debt eediat and stap chat foolishness.

Serious company.. and serous subject.. that disqualifies you..