mi hope yuh not suggesting that i am in support of the actions of the police, since i neither said nor suggested any such thing...
i'm merely stating that the jfj might be better served to leave ching sing alone and let the case run its course...
focussing on the actions of the police in their response to solving crime and their dealings with the citizens is a separate matter... the video of the ching singh shooting could be used as a teaching aid...
btw, i think the police that did the shooting will be acquited...
but kingman..mi neva sugges nutten... mi jus ah talk to trute
no not like oj... in oj's case, there weren't any witnesses and their was and still is more than enough doubt...
i'm thinking based on what i saw on the video, public sentiment and the various precedents in similar incidents (mostly overseas) a good criminal lawyer could easily help in acquital...
Here in the states the Feds would seriously like to know why are you jumping to the defence of known criminals/terrorists under the guise of human rights. Your bank accounts,your phones, everything would come under scrutiny.
absolute rubbish.... and even this gibberish was true...so what? Yuh worship babylon till yuh tun foolfool
everyting kriss king son... like mi seh, the jfj and other human rights group has a role to play and i support the jfj's effort... however, in this jamaica society where issues are constantly being mixed together instead of being separated and addressed independently, the messages are often lost in the noise...
that is what i suspect is happening with the jfj... their role and message is getting lost in the mayhem...
everyting kriss king son... like mi seh, the jfj and other human rights group has a role to play and i support the jfj's effort... however, in this jamaica society where issues are constantly being mixed together instead of being separated and addressed independently, the messages are often lost in the noise...
that is what i suspect is happening with the jfj... their role and message is getting lost in the mayhem...
dem message lost becuz Jamaica is a spiritual wasteland...degeneracy is the new order...not the exception
I agree with their premise, but it actually hurts them to be impolitic. If they focus on abuse that the public agrees with, they will quicker get to a level where the police will operate in a more resticted manner and then they can go after the more "fringe" cases like this in a public manner.
In a nutshell, do your thing behind the scenes for this kind of case and upfront for the clear violations where even John Public is offended, ie Kraal/Braeton, Rasta singer with Japanese wife, etc!
I agree with their premise, but it actually hurts them to be impolitic. If they focus on abuse that the public agrees with, they will quicker get to a level where the police will operate in a more resticted manner and then they can go after the more "fringe" cases like this in a public manner.
In a nutshell, do your thing behind the scenes for this kind of case and upfront for the clear violations where even John Public is offended, ie Kraal/Braeton, Rasta singer with Japanese wife, etc!
John Public was offended by Kraal/Braeton?!? Don't recall that!
I don't think the JFJ should change a thing. If yuh start "picking your fights" then you could be accused of bias or whatever. All the issues need to be confronted head-on, nuh matter who like it or not!
John Public was offended by Kraal/Braeton?!? Don't recall that!
I don't think the JFJ should change a thing. If yuh start "picking your fights" then you could be accused of bias or whatever. All the issues need to be confronted head-on, nuh matter who like it or not!
John Public have a diseased mind inna certain tings...yuh cyaan tek dat an mek policy
It is a process of getting John Public to get to a higher level of understanding. Step by step.
The brute force approach wont work and you will have the masses working AGAINST what you are trying to achieve. Our peeps are stubborn and bull headed. A word to the wise...
I dont see your approach making for medium term success. What is the goal?
This is what you face.
Adams says what many think
Wednesday, August 18, 2010
Dear Editor,
For fear of being branded as barbarians, many of the pundits have condemned what Mr Reneto Adams said in reference to the Tredegar killings. However, I believe that he said what many are thinking.
I am a firm believer in capital punishment, so I believe in punishing the people in our society who take the lives of my fellow Jamaicans without even batting an eye. I am not an advocate for extra-judicial killings by the police. I am an advocate for justice, although some would argue that justice varies depending on your perspective. This is the view I hold. I believe that justice is fairness based on established standards, ethical consideration, procedures, and the law of the land.
Another person’s perspective of justice may be in stark contrast to mine. I will give an example: I am the fiancée of one of the young men who were murdered in Tredegar Park. I know who killed my spouse because I was hidden in the closet where the gunman could not see me but where I could see him. The following day I saw on the news that that same man was shot – execution-style – and killed by the police (an extra-judicial killing). In my estimation, justice was served. To the human rights activist, he is a corrupt cop who should rot in prison. One man’s corrupt cop is another man’s hero.
The anger and emotions incited by the Tredegar Park incident would lead even the average well-thinking Jamaican to feel similar sentiments to those expressed by Adams — even for a moment. Elizabeth Russell