Exporters earn $15 Billion in 1Q

• Exporters earn $15 Billion in 1Q

THE Jamaican export sector continues to perform well, despite economic challenges, particularly non-traditional domestic products and foods which earned $15 billion (US$173.7 million) during the first quarter of this year.
    Jamaica Exporters' Association (JEA) President Vitus Evans said that the revenues were approximately $6 billion more than that for the corresponding period last year, based on data from the Statistical Institute of Jamaica (STATIN).

Speaking at the JEA's Breakfast Forum at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, New Kingston, on Wednesday, Evans said STATIN's figures showed that non-traditional foods and products accounted for 52 per cent of the country's national domestic exports over the period. Products exported included: sauces and condiments; animal feed; juices; dairy products and eggs; alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages; tobacco; limestone; and ethanol.
    Evans pointed out that non-traditional food exports over the quarter yielded US$30.5 million ($2.7 billion), up from US$27.9 million ($2.3 billion).
    He pointed to factors such as the global recession, the decline in major export markets, fierce competition and increased safety and security requirements to enter targeted and/or established markets, among the hurdles impacting local stakeholders over the past two years.
    He said that the sector has the potential to earn much more, but is under threat as it struggles to maintain its market share when it is not able to supply, because of a shortage of local inputs and high duties to import raw material. The non-traditional sector is a major contributor to employment, accounting for over 77,000 jobs.
    He said that the JEA is aware that, for the sector to be competitive, it will require working with all stakeholders, including JAMPRO and the International Trade Centre (ITC), to develop a National Export Strategy for Jamaica.
    "We believe that the.strategy will help to strengthen Jamaica's export thrust. We have assessed the value chains of the 80 priority sectors, and we are working to address the challenges identified," he stated.
    Evans reaffirmed the JEA's commitment to working with the government and other stakeholders to realise Jamaica's National Development Plan, to make it the place of choice for individuals to live, work, raise families and do business.
    Additionally, he has also given the JEA's undertaking to advance the primary objective of the Export Strategy, which is aimed at increasing the sector's contribution to the gross domestic product (GDP) from one-fifth to one-third by 2013.
    "The JEA is committed to working with the Government and all stakeholders to achieve these objectives, as we believe that it is only through a vibrant export sector that Jamaica will emerge from its financial and social challenges," Evans stated.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...-in-1Q_7878762

Keep it going and at the same time continue to cut imports. It will be a long time before we start to turn things but every dollar export is a dollar saved.

yuh funny nuh ****************!

yes mi granny tell me 'one one Cocoa full basket" Keep it growing every quarter.

Granny rite...she is a betta economist dan yuh..

Jamaica CANNOT "reduce imports" and increase exports simultaneously for any extended period... the economy is not structured that way and the liberalized world is not either.

Jamaica has to increase exports at a faster rate than its imports ... i.e. through productivity gains or increased local valued added production from imported inputs.

Granny kno dat...

Most of the stuff imported in Jamaica are consumer items. We can do without nuff a dem so we can cut import while exporting more. If you look at our import bill you will see stuff like Car, gas, household items along with farm produce such as carrot, onions, orange etc. that we can produce.

If Jamaica serious they can cut import by 30% without anything affecting manufacturing and productivity of the country.

Most of the stuff imported in Jamaica are consumer items. We can do without nuff a dem so we can cut import while exporting more. If you look at our import bill you will see stuff like Car, gas, household items along with farm produce such as carrot, onions, orange etc. that we can produce.

If Jamaica serious they can cut import by 30% without anything affecting manufacturing and productivity of the country.
              You are living in a fantasy land..... I hope you don't really believe this nonsense post of yours.

What you speak of can only happen in a centrally planned economy where the Govt controls decision making.... and even then it will NOT produce productivity gains over time...history shows that..

In Jamaica we follow:

1. Consumer Demand/Economic Freedom...people have the freedom to import & buy what they want if they have the money to pay. You cannot successfully tell people what to buy or not to buy...even in the 70s when that was tried..the blow back was HUGE...it's called capital flight & currency devaluation

2. WTO rules..which Babylon uses to ensure that their goods, services and investments have market access..if yuh waan buck dat..dem aggo bite yuh hard

Get real..

People import what they want but it shows that if people import too much consumer goods without contributing to export they will alsways be in the cycle that you expect them to be come out of (the debt trap).

They can import anything but they need to pay a price that will discourage the import. Why you think the government trying to do away with waivers and using clause in WTO to cut some agriculture imports?

People import what they want but it shows that if people import too much consumer goods without contributing to export they will alsways be in the cycle that you expect them to be come out of (the debt trap).

They can import anything but they need to pay a price that will discourage the import. Why you think the government trying to do away with waivers and using clause in WTO to cut some agriculture imports?
                  Your argument has been put to rest...please don't compound the nonsense any more.

Pretty please.