11 y.o among the murdered ..capacity to what ?

• 11 y.o among the murdered ..capacity to what ?

Bloodbath - 11-year-old girl among 8 victims of massacre
    Police seek gangsters for Tredegar Park massacre
    BY COREY ROBINSON Observer staff reporter robinsonc@jamaicaobserver.com
    Saturday, August 14, 2010

THE shock and horror of the savagery unleashed by marauding gunmen on Tredegar Park, Spanish Town, St Catherine early yesterday morning was still vividly displayed on the faces of residents at mid-morning.
    The fearful residents huddled in tight groups as they discussed the brutal murders of eight of their neighbours, among them 11-year-old Alexifia Anderson.

A female resident of Tredegar Park is in tears as she leaves the section of the community where eight of her neighbours were murdered by criminal gunmen early yesterday morning. (Photo: Lionel Rookwood)

1/3

Shortly after 1:00 yesterday afternoon, police identified the other dead persons as Alexifia's mother Hopelin Dennis, 43; her sister Nekfifa Anderson, 23; and her brother Joel Anderson.
    The others, who were killed on separate premises, were identified as Eldon Heron, 60; his son, Eldon Heron Jnr, 38; Gary Stewart, 22; and Orrett Miller, 26. Another male was also hospitalised in serious condition for gunshot wounds.
    The police reported that two of the gunmen said to be involved in the early morning massacre were killed in a shoot-out. Police identified them as Jerome Williams, and a man known only as 'Kevin' or 'Bilbo', who they said were members of the 'Clansman' gang, which operates in Spanish Town.
    Residents of Tredegar Park said about 20 armed men, dressed in dark-coloured clothing, invaded sections of the community known as Monkey Town and Backbush where they opened fire on several homes, then set fire to some about 1:00 am.
    "Is pure head shot them give everybody in mi family. Mi go in there go see Joey on the ground; him get one of the shots in him back, and look like he was trying to call someone on his phone," said a man who identified himself as Hopelin Dennis' son.
    "Nekfifa get shot on the bed between the baby them. And me go in there go see my mother crawling under the bed. She never dead yet; she get shot somewhere 'roun here," the man added, pointing to the back of his head.
    "It look like the baby (Alexifia) jump up when she hear the shot them, and the bwoy them just put it on her same time," he added, tears welling up in his eyes.
    The residents said the thugs then went to another premises where others were shot, before moving on to other houses where they sprayed bullets indiscriminately.
    Two men luckily escaped with their lives after the hoodlums barged into their premises and stole several electrical appliances before setting the building on fire.
    "If we never run through the back you would come see us lay down in there," said one of the men, recounting his ordeal.
    Investigators were yesterday seeking five men, who they identified only by their aliases: 'Ears man', 'Deo', 'Fire Tail', 'Zeeks', and 'Isley Williams', in relation to the massacre, and said they would also like to speak with Clansman members Howard Jackson, otherwise called 'Thirty'; Novado Hodges; Simeon Elwig; Joel Jennings; and Glenton Anderson, otherwise called 'Brown'.
    They are also asking Michael Maragh, otherwise called '****** Mickey'; Rohan Hope, otherwise called 'Placka'; Everton Minott, otherwise called 'Rado'; and Marvin Baker, otherwise called 'Chiney', to report to the Spanish Town Police Station.
    Yesterday, retired senior superintendent Reneto Adams, who visited the murder scene, was begged by fearful residents to assist them in ridding the area of criminals.
    Adams said he was there to offer condolences to the affected families, and urged the police not to relent until the perpetrators are killed.
    "I heard that two (gunmen) have been killed; they had their day in court," said Adams. "I hope the other three have their days in court; if you want me to be more explicit, have them found and killed," he said.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

When poor people are victimised by terrorist , extrajudicial killings will be the norm, Has anyone ever wondered why these terrorist that do the frontline killings are not from uptown ?

You never hear an uptown man , bombing a house , or moving in droves of 15 to 20 in all out war against the security forces or against rival gangs ,or communities do we ? Killing kids and babies.

Could it be they have a social cushion ? How does that intertwine with our human rights agenda as it pertains to our social system , health care , food , jobs for the poor (cushion).

2nd point you dont see police liquidating them uptown boys in such a manner do you?

Who is the JFJ fooling by putting it all on the police force ? Is it the police responsibility to rehabilitate criminals or communities or so called garrisons , well they only know one way ....as adams say....Dem day in court soon come........XTRAJUDICIALLY.

FREEE CHIN SING XECUTIONER! MEK IM GUH REHABILITATE DEM POOR FAILED DISCARDED PEOPLE OF THE SO CALLED GARRISONS.....

A suh it set.....capacity to rehabilitate...kissteeth

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I feel your pain.

Unfortunately correct policy usually does not come from pain stimulus or emotionalism. Such approaches result in hysteria, chaos and...street justice.

Summary executions of "suspected" criminals without due process may "feel good" for a while and satisfy the need for revenge.....but ultimately just continues the vicious, self-replicating circle of disorder.

Difficult as it is Jamaica has to step out of that circle of disorder and the cycle of destruction. Excessive police violence is not a solution. Apart from the potential abuse of the innocent (AKA Human Rights concerns) for me it's an easy mathematical calculus.... since our shytstem produces criminals MUCH faster than we can allow the police to successfully kill them.... we cannot solve the problem that way.... it's mathematically impossible.... in fact the summary killings accelerate the production line of young would be criminals due to the anger it generates in the communities....
      We have many decades of experience with that phenomenon..... why people don't see the obvious is a mystery to me.

Jamaica must find a new way....getting rid of the criminals at the top and their tribal systems is a good start.....sanctioning & NORMALIZING excessive police violence or mob rule is NOT.

Time to move from our vicious cycle to a virtuous circle
      Last edited by Don1; August 14, 2010, 08:09 AM.

Expand on this virtuous cycle for me please Don1. Seems nothing is working....Tivoli is a distant memory for some...the crime and killing is back...nothing has changed.....criminality is rampant and pervasive in ALL sectors of Jamaican society...just dressed up differently....

Bloodbath - 11-year-old girl among 8 victims of massacre
          Police seek gangsters for Tredegar Park massacre
          BY COREY ROBINSON Observer staff reporter robinsonc@jamaicaobserver.com
          Saturday, August 14, 2010

THE shock and horror of the savagery unleashed by marauding gunmen on Tredegar Park, Spanish Town, St Catherine early yesterday morning was still vividly displayed on the faces of residents at mid-morning.
          The fearful residents huddled in tight groups as they discussed the brutal murders of eight of their neighbours, among them 11-year-old Alexifia Anderson.

A female resident of Tredegar Park is in tears as she leaves the section of the community where eight of her neighbours were murdered by criminal gunmen early yesterday morning. (Photo: Lionel Rookwood)

1/3

Shortly after 1:00 yesterday afternoon, police identified the other dead persons as Alexifia's mother Hopelin Dennis, 43; her sister Nekfifa Anderson, 23; and her brother Joel Anderson.
          The others, who were killed on separate premises, were identified as Eldon Heron, 60; his son, Eldon Heron Jnr, 38; Gary Stewart, 22; and Orrett Miller, 26. Another male was also hospitalised in serious condition for gunshot wounds.
          The police reported that two of the gunmen said to be involved in the early morning massacre were killed in a shoot-out. Police identified them as Jerome Williams, and a man known only as 'Kevin' or 'Bilbo', who they said were members of the 'Clansman' gang, which operates in Spanish Town.
          Residents of Tredegar Park said about 20 armed men, dressed in dark-coloured clothing, invaded sections of the community known as Monkey Town and Backbush where they opened fire on several homes, then set fire to some about 1:00 am.
          "Is pure head shot them give everybody in mi family. Mi go in there go see Joey on the ground; him get one of the shots in him back, and look like he was trying to call someone on his phone," said a man who identified himself as Hopelin Dennis' son.
          "Nekfifa get shot on the bed between the baby them. And me go in there go see my mother crawling under the bed. She never dead yet; she get shot somewhere 'roun here," the man added, pointing to the back of his head.
          "It look like the baby (Alexifia) jump up when she hear the shot them, and the bwoy them just put it on her same time," he added, tears welling up in his eyes.
          The residents said the thugs then went to another premises where others were shot, before moving on to other houses where they sprayed bullets indiscriminately.
          Two men luckily escaped with their lives after the hoodlums barged into their premises and stole several electrical appliances before setting the building on fire.
          "If we never run through the back you would come see us lay down in there," said one of the men, recounting his ordeal.
          Investigators were yesterday seeking five men, who they identified only by their aliases: 'Ears man', 'Deo', 'Fire Tail', 'Zeeks', and 'Isley Williams', in relation to the massacre, and said they would also like to speak with Clansman members Howard Jackson, otherwise called 'Thirty'; Novado Hodges; Simeon Elwig; Joel Jennings; and Glenton Anderson, otherwise called 'Brown'.
          They are also asking Michael Maragh, otherwise called '****** Mickey'; Rohan Hope, otherwise called 'Placka'; Everton Minott, otherwise called 'Rado'; and Marvin Baker, otherwise called 'Chiney', to report to the Spanish Town Police Station.
          Yesterday, retired senior superintendent Reneto Adams, who visited the murder scene, was begged by fearful residents to assist them in ridding the area of criminals.
          Adams said he was there to offer condolences to the affected families, and urged the police not to relent until the perpetrators are killed.
          "I heard that two (gunmen) have been killed; they had their day in court," said Adams. "I hope the other three have their days in court; if you want me to be more explicit, have them found and killed," he said.
          Well said Mr Adams. Mi want see which JFJ fassy ago disagree with that statement.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
            Expand on this virtuous cycle for me please Don1. Seems nothing is working....Tivoli is a distant memory for some...the crime and killing is back...nothing has changed.....criminality is rampant and pervasive in ALL sectors of Jamaican society...just dressed up differently....
            Aaah mi bredrin...true ting yuh talk.

Let me show you a hint the moral corruption that Jamaica and her misleaders operate under.... which we ALLOW.

In the middle of the Tivoli crisis when the tribalist leaders were scared shiitles and wetting their pants...there was unprecedented talk of how to fix the mess they collectively created.... talk of clearing these depressed communities and MORE IMPORTANTLY....raising US$BILLIONS to provide proper infrastructure, schooling & social services etc...

For a brief moment there was a hint at trying to get at long term solutions...but guess what?? As soon as the political goons we have as leaders sense that the pressure is off...it's back to the same old game of DIVIDE & CONQUER... and we have another opportunity lost. There has since been zero discussion and zero follow up regarding the needed investments in communities and the justice system.

We see these political goons having their mouthpieces even on this forum... spewing bankrupt nonsense in support of their tribe.

What Jamaica needs to enter a virtuous circle in my view is LESS power for politicians... I see that through some form of binding social contract bringing more non-tribal political forces to the decision-making table.

Respek

I woke up early this morning to catch up on things and when I read all of this it just seems so futile. When I call my 80+ yo mother and after the pleasantries start to tell me the woeful tales and then apologize about it....it pains...when I hear of the greed of some our so-called workmen trying to rip off an old lady they no better than the criminals....at least she has her faith to hold on to...
              Jamaica's problem is not politics...we have sunk into a anarchaical abyss....a disintegration of the moral fibre and social fabric...maybe the politicians have used to this for their own selfish ends even promulgated the breakdown....

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
                Well said Mr Adams. Mi want see which JFJ fassy ago disagree with that statement.
                There is no fassy in the JFJ, so...

so... unnuh agree wid di statement then. cool

yes. 100!

yes. 100!
                      100 dalla? mi nah nuh change. a so JFJ bruk?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                        I woke up early this morning to catch up on things and when I read all of this it just seems so futile. When I call my 80+ yo mother and after the pleasantries start to tell me the woeful tales and then apologize about it....it pains...when I hear of the greed of some our so-called workmen trying to rip off an old lady they no better than the criminals....at least she has her faith to hold on to...
                        Jamaica's problem is not politics...we have sunk into a anarchaical abyss....a disintegration of the moral fibre and social fabric...maybe the politicians have used to this for their own selfish ends even promulgated the breakdown....
                        Jah bless your old lady an keep her safe....

Yes we have descended into degeneracy....but fish and countries rot from the head.

The tribal JLPNP politics is primarily to blame... no doubt in my mind

Yuh realize the police admitted that one of those killed were actually innocent?

it's impossible for crime to be cleaned up without things like that happening.

so you think crime is being "cleaned up"?