• No Adams, You said police should not have killed Sing Sing

Tredegar gunmen should be killed – Adams
    "Kill them in the very eggs before they hatch"
    BY COREY ROBINSON Observer staff reporter robinsonc@jamaicaobserver.com
    Friday, August 13, 2010

var addthis_pub="jamaicaobserver";

FORMER Senior Superintendent of Police Reneto Adams says that the gunmen who murdered eight persons in Tredegar Park, Spanish Town, St Catherine should themselves be killed.
    "I heard that two (gunmen) have been killed; they had their day in court," said Adams. " I hope the other three have their days in court, and I mean within the next three days."

Retired Senior Superintendent Renato Adams speaking to journalists at the crime scene where eight people were murdered in Tredegar Park, Spanish Town, St Catherine early this morning. (Photo: Corey Robinson)
    The crime scene in Tredegar Park, Spanish Town, St Catherine where eight people were murdered this morning.(Photo: Corey Robinson)
    var caption4896950 = document.getElementById('photocaption4896950').inn erHTML; var caption4896936 = document.getElementById('photocaption4896936').inn erHTML; var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({ wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow dimensions: [370, 245], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image imagearray: [ ["http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/assets/4896950/adams_w370.jpg", "", "", caption4896950 ], ["http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/assets/4896936/deathlane_w370.jpg", "", "", caption4896936 ] ], displaymode: {type:'manual', pause:3000, cycles:0, wraparound:false}, persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session? fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds) descreveal: "always", togglerid: "slideshowtoggler" })
    1/2

"If you want me to be more explicit, have them found and killed," he said.
    The controversial cop said he turned up on the scene in empathy for the slain families, many of whom he said he knew personally.
    He also had advice for both citizens and commanders of the police force.
    "My policy and philosophy where criminal elements are that we are to identify them and treat them like the ferocious alligators that they are," he said.
    "Kill them in the very eggs before they hatch; that is my charge to the police force, this country and the people," he said, adding that his information suggests that the incident was gang related.
    The former head of the since disbanded Crime Management Unit, Adams and five subordinates were acquitted of murdering four people – including two women – in the village of Crawle, Clarendon, in early 2003.
    Related story:

I luv it!

Clearly, this is what he did during his tours of duty. Yet he walked free.

is there any doubt now? i never had any then, but some of us gwaan like it was not possible.

not to worry though, many people could not care less if that was his modus operandi.

Did Adams style on the spot court kill wrong man?

Clearly, this is what he did during his tours of duty. Yet he walked free.
          Wrong again! Man 'killed' by police still on the run

Published: Saturday | August 14, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

Arthur Hall, Senior Staff Reporter
          ANOTHER POLICE report has been called into question less than three weeks after the police information arm was left with egg on its face when a private video recording contradicted its report about the circumstances surrounding the fatal shooting of a man in Buckfield, St Ann.
          Early yesterday morning, the police claimed that they had engaged the gunmen who had killed eight persons in Tredegar Park, St Catherine, and fatally shot two of the men in the section of the community known as Brooklyn.
          According to the police, the dead gunmen were identified as Kevin, otherwise called 'Bilbo', and Jerome Williams, otherwise called 'Crab', both members of the Clansman gang, which operates in Spanish Town.
          But hours later, residents disputed the police reports and compounded this by identifying the two dead persons.
          The residents identified one of the victims as 15-year-old Derrick Anthony Bolton, otherwise called 'Crabby'. The other victim was identified as Lemone Turner, otherwise called 'Frenchman'.
          "Crabby is my son who is a dancer who stay in Brooklyn and practise him dancing, so me tell him not to come home until in the morning," Geraldien Williams, his mother, told The Gleaner.
          "The police dem hold him and dem ask him what the people call him, and him say Crabby, and dem say a him shoot the people a Tredegar Park, and a so dem kill him. It was a case of mistaken identity," Williams argued.
          Other residents were most upset that the police could have mistaken the young Crabby for the alleged gangster known as Crab who was recently released from state custody.
          "The police dem should a know say a nuh him name Crab, and dem should a never kill the youth," an angry resident said.
          No comment
          At press time last night, head of the Major Investigation Task Force, Les Green, said he would not comment on whether the police had killed the wrong man in the incident they referred to as a shoot-out. He pointed The Gleaner to head of the St Catherine North Police, Superin-tendent Assan Thompson, and Granville Gause, head of the Bureau of Special Investigations. Neither of them could be reached for comment.
          Earlier, a policeman told The Gleaner that while there had been misidentification, the 15-year-old was among the group of gunmen who had invaded Tredegar Park.
          The matter was expected to be addressed at a media briefing by Green yesterday afternoon but that briefing did not take place.
          Media personnel had gathered at the Spanish Town Police Station expecting to be briefed by Green before midday, but were later told that they would be briefed by Thompson.
          However, more than one hour later when The Gleaner left the venue, the briefing had not yet started.
          Personnel at the station said Thompson was putting in place measures to prevent a reprisal and to minimise the bloodletting in the community.
          A large detachment from the Jamaica Defence Force was also seen at the Spanish Town station preparing to be deployed in the troubled communities. The police later released the names of five alleged members of the Clansman gang and four members of the One Order gang wanted for questioning in connection with the killing of the eight persons.

Early yesterday morning, the police claimed that they had engaged the gunmen who had killed eight persons in Tredegar Park, St Catherine, and fatally shot two of the men in the section of the community known as Brooklyn.
            According to the police, the dead gunmen were identified as Kevin, otherwise called 'Bilbo', and Jerome Williams, otherwise called 'Crab', both members of the Clansman gang, which operates in Spanish Town.
            But hours later, residents disputed the police reports and compounded this by identifying the two dead persons.
            The residents identified one of the victims as 15-year-old Derrick Anthony Bolton, otherwise called 'Crabby'. The other victim was identified as Lemone Turner, otherwise called 'Frenchman'.
            "Crabby is my son who is a dancer who stay in Brooklyn and practise him dancing, so me tell him not to come home until in the morning," Geraldien Williams, his mother, told The Gleaner.
            "The police dem hold him and dem ask him what the people call him, and him say Crabby, and dem say a him shoot the people a Tredegar Park, and a so dem kill him. It was a case of mistaken identity," Williams argued.
            Other residents were most upset that the police could have mistaken the young Crabby for the alleged gangster known as Crab who was recently released from state custody.
            "The police dem should a know say a nuh him name Crab, and dem should a never kill the youth," an angry resident said.
            If what Crabbie's former connections claim is true...this is another brilliant example of police "intelligence work" leading to an "ID Parade" leading to a sentence of "guilty by name association" leading to the "death penalty" being administered.

Very efficient work on the part of the "justice system"....or perhaps merely "collateral damage"...for Crabbie and his connections.

More hatred for police..... more potential alienated gunmen created.

Nice picture

If what Crabbie's former connections claim is true...this is another brilliant example of police "intelligence work" leading to an "ID Parade" leading to a sentence of "guilty by name association" leading to the "death penalty" being administered.

Very efficient work on the part of the "justice system"....or perhaps merely "collateral damage"...for Crabbie and his connections.

More hatred for police..... more potential alienated gunmen created.

Nice picture
              THIS IS WHAT MISSLONDON ADVOCATES. MISSLONDON, WHAT DO YOU HAVE TO SAY TO THIS MOTHER? YOU WANT POLICE TO ACT AS JURY, JUDGE AND EXECUTIONER. YOU ASKED ME WHAT IF THAT WAS MY MOTHER WHO CHENG SING HAD KILLED, WELL WHAT ABOUT THIS MOTHER WHO HAS LOST HER SON TO THE STATE! CRIMINALS WILL ACT LIKE CRIMINALS, ITS IN THEIR JOB DESCRIPTION, BUT POLICE SHOULD ACT LIKE POLICE!

WOULD BE NICE IF YOU DON'T SHOW YOUR BLOODY FACE AROUND HERE ANY MORE MISSY!

No need for the hype. Innocent people get kill everyday a Jamaica...mi know nuff...sm fren, sm relative...some no so innocent get kill to...police get murder all de time...remember Mountain View....when gunman kick off yu door..whe yu a go do???? Jamaica is a warzone....is nuff collateral damage ago gwaan.

It's no hype, Exile. She personalised it, let me personalise it for you. I would rather lose a family member to a gunman than to know the state killed him wrongfully. Yes, him dead same way, but what does that do to my trust in the police, the people who have sworn to protect, serve, reassure and all that bull?

I don't buy the collateral damage argument. If yuh get shot in a crossfire because yuh guh run outta door fi see what a gwaan, dat is one ting. But when police draw yuh outta door and shot yuh wrongfully, that is quite another!

WOULD BE NICE IF YOU DON'T SHOW YOUR BLOODY FACE AROUND HERE ANY MORE MISSY!
                    Is ah requess dat...ar one directive?

Mi kno yuh ave di powa...yuh naah pull di trigga...mi mean press di button? LoL!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                      No need for the hype. Innocent people get kill everyday a Jamaica...mi know nuff...sm fren, sm relative...some no so innocent get kill to...police get murder all de time...remember Mountain View....when gunman kick off yu door..whe yu a go do???? Jamaica is a warzone....is nuff collateral damage ago gwaan.
                      You just described the vicious cycle..... time fi step offa dat cycle

well, di resident dem need fi inform pon di real perpetrators so that no more a dem killling ya nuh gwan.

true! but when di cops are crooked and murderous just like the criminals they want to report on...what to do? who is going to call the cops when they kill innocent people, mixing up a 15 year old boy for a 31 year old horse staring man?!? and den talk nonsense about, it nuh matter because he was also involved

joke ting!

Not inna de cycle..but hovering over it no help either...

Well...what is being done about the police force...the quality? I see them expell/retire 120...that just wont cut it....where do they get recruits? Out of our same sick disfunctional gene pool...maybe they need a different kind of training, psychological screening...profiling...something new...but where is this coming from? The funding, the programme? Law enforcement as we know it just eons behind...we need to start attract the young bright ones..pay them...have a school at UWi..joint police/army academy or sm community police centre....we need new ideas, creative ways to solve all this.