• Stop the borrowing, ‘Butch’ tells Gov’t

Hotelier slams administration’ approach to business sector
    BY PATRICK FOSTER Observer staff reporter fosterp@jamaicaobserver
    Wednesday, August 11, 2010

‘BUTCH’ Stewart does not share the view that Jamaica is a failed state. However, the Sandals Resorts and Jamaica Observer chairman feels the country could become one if the Government does not change its approach to businesses and curtail its borrowing habit.
    Speaking yesterday at the launch of the Observer’s annual Business Leader Awards, Stewart said that the Government had to unburden the business sector through more investmentfriendly policies that were “properly thought out”.

“I don’t believe that Jamaica is a failed state,” Stewart told business leaders attending the launch held at the newspaper’s Beechwood Avenue headquarters. “I believe, though, that if we continue doing much of the same that we continue to do from an economic point of view then we will become a failed state. You can only borrow for so long”.
    “We keep doing more of the same and continue to expect different results,” Stewart declared.
    He strongly argued that the Government had to recognise the role that the business sector played in the local economy, and address the problems affecting the sector.
    “The money that we keep borrowing these days to bridge the budget we only borrow it because the businesses are not doing well enough to support the needs of the country,” charged Stewart, who is also chairman of the Government’s investment arm JAMPRO.
    “We [Jamaica] are not doing well because the businesses are not doing well,” he said, adding that the country is made up of businesses and “the living standard of the country is only as good as the businesses”.
    According to Stewart, a reduction in taxes from the business sector significantly curtailed government’s ability to provide basic services such as the repair of roads. “There is nowhere else to get taxation to build roads, to build hospitals, nowhere else than through businesses,” he said. Stewart further contended that while some ills in the system were repeatedly blamed on bureaucracy, strong leadership at the Government level should deal with those problems. He argued that it was almost impossible for small entrepreneurs to survive in the current business environment. “A small man starting business cannot succeed in this country unless he is willing to play all sort of games,” said Stewart. He added that the money needed to finance imports on the wharf was inflated as goods are kept up to three months before being cleared.
    “With all the different costs they force you to keep it on the wharf, then they force you to pay storage,” said Stewart. “By holding up businesses you are holding up progress,” he added. At the same time, Stewart described the Government’s recent announcement of the complete removal of waivers as one policy that was not properly thought through. He contended that the manufacturing sector had to be facilitated in order to be competitive. If the Government cannot get its act together, he said, then it will fail on the economy just like the previous Government and others before did. The Observer Business Leader Awards will this year recognise the contribution made to the local economy by foreign companies.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...h--tells-Gov-t

Agree with what Mr. Stewart is saying, but as Luther said, "I wonder" is all this because word got out the the various lending partners disagreed with the tax waivers that was to be given to the tourism sector? I recall hearing Stewart's son talking about the issue and he certainly didn't sound pleased. Oh well.

Regarding the red tape, I heard Samuda complaining about the red tape causing the delay with the Caymanas project. As the Minister of Commerce, I would think he would be in the best position to address some of this red tape clogging up the process.

I wonder if others said it you would be so ready to agree?!?

You and I operate differently. Read this post. http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...26&postcount=2

Stewart blasts Gov't for investment difficulties

BY PATRICK FOSTER Observer writer fosterp@jamaicaobserver.com
          Wednesday, August 11, 2010

var addthis_pub="jamaicaobserver";

HOTEL mogul Gordon Butch Stewart says that Jamaica is the single hardest country in the Caribbean in which to invest and conduct business.
          Stewart, who in March was appointed chairman of Government's investment-promotion arm JAMPRO, said that the board has done its assessment and formulated solutions, awaiting a meeting with commerce minister Karl Samuda.

"Investors, both local and overseas, face enormous challenges in Jamaica, especially when compared to other countries in the region," Stewart said yesterday. "Jamaica is the single hardest country by several times to invest and get things done."
          Stewart, who is also chairman of the Jamaica Observer, was speaking at the launch of the newspaper's annual Business Leader Awards, which will, this year, recognise the contribution of foreign investors to the country.
          While Government repeatedly emphasised the importance of foreign direct investment, Stewart contended that the actions of both Government officials and the civil service ran contrary to investment.
          He charged that the civil service, for the most part, sought to block, instead of assist investors.
          "We would like to challenge the civil service so that it does not stand in the way of progress in Jamaica," Stewart declared.
          "What our civil service has to do is what I see civil service doing in other countries," he added, saying that in other jurisdictions civil servants found ways to make investments happen. "Find solutions, say it can happen," said Stewart.
          He also knocked the autocratic approach of government officials in dealing with problems faced by the local productive sector.
          "They don't come to you and say, help me create policy that is going to allow your business to succeed," said Stewart. "That does not happen here."
          Stewart, who as chairman of Sandals Resorts International operates 15 hotels across the Caribbean, argued that officials in other islands sought dialogue with their business sector in finding solutions.
          "In the islands that I operate, when there is a problem in a sector the government comes out and says what do you think," said Stewart.
          He contended that governments in Jamaica, over the years, harboured distrust for the business sector.
          "From history, the government people that you talk to argue back at you as though they know your business better than you know your business," he said.
          According to Stewart, proposals from the business sector are often viewed with great suspicion by government officials who feel they are being set up.
          "It is important for government to challenge itself and create a more business friendly environment, added Stewart. "Ask for assistance," he suggested.
          Referring to the length of time it takes to have development plans passed, Stewart said that a 2007 promise made by Prime Minister Bruce Golding to have the process completed in 90 days has not yet been fulfilled.
          "To get plans passed to do anything is worse than pulling teeth," Stewart commented.
          "People blame bureaucracy... but strong government drives those situations and make sure it happens," he said.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...ulties_7870626

ouch!!!

wha dat say? stop borrowing just because it will be used against you, or you disagree with the borrowing as financial policy? you didn't say jack there!

Well interpret how yuh want. After I made that post you gave a reaction? Suh nuh bother twist now.

Ah suh di tribalis dem tink bass.... not bout impak pon Jamaica...but ow tings impak dem tribe..

dem tink bad..LoL!

Look like di big, fat termite yah vex seh di lates pimp dem inna powa increase Jamaica debt stock by almost 60% inna less dan tree year.. wid nutten fi show fi dat

pesky termite... LoL!

How much tax the informal sector paying?

aks di tax police dem... but the sector certainly pays value added tax

sometimes not even that.

It is informal after all. More ad hoc than anything else.