Why are Murders falling without SOE? No Tivoli Garrison?

• Why are Murders falling without SOE? No Tivoli Garrison?

One a day not too bad considering where we are coming from.

Murders decline - eight killed in first eight days of August

2010-08-10 17:37:17 | (1 Comments)

Police statistics are indicating that the country’s murder rate continued to decline in the first week of August.

The data obtained by The Gleaner/Power 106 News Centre shows that eight persons were murdered in the first eight days of the month.

This compares to the 47 recorded for the first eight days of August last year and 35 for the corresponding period in 2008.

From January to May this year, the police recorded 738 murders or an average of almost five per day.

However, that rate fell to almost three per day for June and July, when 179 homicides were reported.

The drop coincided with a state of emergency in Kingston, St Andrew and St Catherine.

In the meanwhile more than 925 people have been murdered since the start of the year.

This compares with 970 for the corresponding period last year and 995 in 2008.

I hope MissLondon and Lazie don't come back on the forum for a few days.

Some from other areas got killed in Tivoli, some have no interest in being killed by soldiers, curfews restrict some and the US pressure have other slowing down.

Why?

Maybe they are more targeted killings go on - so less picking off of semi-random victims and more focus on killing policemen and possibly politicians.

Or dem shottas dem more fraid ah soldjie than ever before!

Soldiers now clearly have a commission by her majesty's Govt, like Agent 007. A license to KILL.

I hope this continues, it was trending back up to 5 a day in the immediate aftermath of the end of the SOE. When do the anti-crime laws take effect?

LOL?

Imagine if them did give the cop another 30 days. It seems like we woulda be murder free.

weren't you the one praising the effectiveness of the SOE, and predicting that Jamaicans would now be murdered left, right and centre? Oh, my bad!

It appears even our police like to be among our shottas, but wi just set up a Commission fi dem r a ss!

LOL!

sigh

ignorance is a bitch!

so it was trending up 5 days after the SOE. what happened on the 6th day to bring about a change?

i hope is not statistics yuh teach!

Well, if yuh don't count the cops' murders.

But I guess they weren't the ones killing 1700 a year. They just supplied the guns and ammo.

LOL!

weren't you the one praising the effectiveness of the SOE, and predicting that Jamaicans would now be murdered left, right and centre? Oh, my bad!

LOL!
                        Where did I make a prediction? The murder rate was trending back up to 5 a day immediatlet after the SOE ended. 1 a day is much more palatble, but Jamaicans are still being murdered left, right and centre. The SOE was effective and we are probably still seeing the effects now. Another month (or six) would have done wonders.

I hope the current trend continues, afterall we are talking about eight days here!

sigh

ignorance is a bitch!

so it was trending up 5 days after the SOE. what happened on the 6th day to bring about a change?

i hope is not statistics yuh teach!
                          LOL what?
                          It was trending back up to five a day!

Originally posted by Time View Post
                            One a day not too bad considering where we are coming from.

Murders decline - eight killed in first eight days of August

2010-08-10 17:37:17 | (1 Comments)

Police statistics are indicating that the country’s murder rate continued to decline in the first week of August.

The data obtained by The Gleaner/Power 106 News Centre shows that eight persons were murdered in the first eight days of the month.

This compares to the 47 recorded for the first eight days of August last year and 35 for the corresponding period in 2008.

From January to May this year, the police recorded 738 murders or an average of almost five per day.

However, that rate fell to almost three per day for June and July, when 179 homicides were reported.

The drop coincided with a state of emergency in Kingston, St Andrew and St Catherine.

In the meanwhile more than 925 people have been murdered since the start of the year.

This compares with 970 for the corresponding period last year and 995 in 2008.
                            I wonder what the rate would be if the SOE was extended to Clarendon? I guess due to political gamesmanship, we'd never know.

I recall seeing some numbers indicating which parishes accounted for most of the murders. Kingston, St. Andrew, Clarendon and St. James. People seem to be looking for a means to convince themselves that the almshouse they supported was the right call. Gwaan fool unuhselves.

Yuh ago tiyad fi see we face ....