Jawge/Assasin...All Inclusive Hotels:

I hear you HL but to be fair, a decade ago even the main road was hell to drive on to get around the island. That is no longer the case. So there has been some progress. These days Negril to Port Antonio is quite an easy drive in terms of road access. The drivers on the road are another story though!

You are correct about signs to attractions which are off the main. Mayfield falls is another example. Is like them nuh want you to find it!

sorry what you sey?

How long mi leff Ja now (80s)? When dem build di new road in Ja? Far as I'm concerned they should have kept the old road because I loved driving through Falmouth. even Mobay itself ah gi mi trouble now much less.

Nuh worry yuhself because I was just told that the Mayor Falmouth agreed that the sign is small and is about to address it.

HL you are right; leaving St. James and entering Falmouth there should be major road sign (overhead) indicating that you are about to do so. Maybe it's a cost thing and the govt. may just can't afford those huge overhead traffic signs.

Falmouth nuh move it is in the same place for over 300 years and you nuh need nuh sign fi know seh you deh a Falmouth..galang man too show off bout drive past falmouth and did not know...

Last week i spent 1 week at RIU Ocho Rios. I would rank it among the best vacation I have ever had....!!!

Maybe a big part of the enjoyment was because I had a rental for the duration.

The guests at these All Inclusives--are herded on busses to different excursion points. They miss the real Jamaica in-between trips.

Places like the cockpit(?) country would leave lasting impressions on most visitors. I am awed by the views on every visit.

One major drawback in having non-all-inclusive tourism is: the roads lack proper directional signs. The assumption appears to be that all road users should know where they are going.

Three examples:
              • I always read about the new multi-purpose stadium in Falmouth. Apart from the sign on the main road--there are no noticable ones to direct you to the location (after you make the turn). I drove pass the stadium for about a mile.
              • same is true when i tried to visit the martha brae for some rafting. had to ask for directions...
              • same is true when we when horse back riding in Seville(?). Finding the ticket office for Hooves in St. Anns Bay was a nightmare....
              My point is...if Jamaica wants to be successful in incidential tourism, major work must be done in terms of directional and business signs.

Roads leading to the interior of jamaica are very poor. One man commented that most of the jamaican leaders 'need to be chopped up and fed to hogs!!!'

Additionally, a stronger police crack-down on the dare-devil drivers and driving is needed!!!

If these basic requirements are not put in place--the All Inclusives will always carry de swing.
              Good talk!
              It has always been little and poor road signs. ...as you said, it must be those responsible for putting up the sign believe only locals travel around.

...damn I would bet most living at home get lost when they leave their little area? It is a 'crying shame'.

Happy to hear you had a wonderful time.

I hear you HL but to be fair, a decade ago even the main road was hell to drive on to get around the island. That is no longer the case. So there has been some progress. These days Negril to Port Antonio is quite an easy drive in terms of road access. The drivers on the road are another story though!

You are correct about signs to attractions which are off the main. Mayfield falls is another example. Is like them nuh want you to find it!
                You actually went to Mayfield falls?
                If you did you would have been about 2 miles - 3 miles from where I was born and where the 'old home' stills stands - Coldspring, Great Valley, Hanover!

how much time Jawge pass falmouth when him deh a Jamaica??

Yep! Not the most recent visit but on a previous one.

Its fairly well known these days but it takes quite an effort to get there. I didn't mind the drive but you know how country people give directions:

"It nuh far, just a couple chain up the road" .

Going into Douglas Vaz constituency from both End there are two HUGE SIGNS telling that you are entering West Portland, the sign that say entering Portland is much smaller and unnu wonder why people vote fi him?

~en voz alto~ SAME TING!!!!

tectonic plate movement....

douglas vaz?

there was one bagarang surrounding the use of the name etc. i wonder if that is settled?

i found Mayfield Falls not worth the trouble so the lack of signage for that attraction is not something to worry about.