Jawge/Assasin...All Inclusive Hotels:

• Jawge/Assasin...All Inclusive Hotels:

Last week i spent 1 week at RIU Ocho Rios. I would rank it among the best vacation I have ever had....!!!

Maybe a big part of the enjoyment was because I had a rental for the duration.

The guests at these All Inclusives--are herded on busses to different excursion points. They miss the real Jamaica in-between trips.

Places like the cockpit(?) country would leave lasting impressions on most visitors. I am awed by the views on every visit.

One major drawback in having non-all-inclusive tourism is: the roads lack proper directional signs. The assumption appears to be that all road users should know where they are going.

Three examples:
    • I always read about the new multi-purpose stadium in Falmouth. Apart from the sign on the main road--there are no noticable ones to direct you to the location (after you make the turn). I drove pass the stadium for about a mile.
    • same is true when i tried to visit the martha brae for some rafting. had to ask for directions...
    • same is true when we when horse back riding in Seville(?). Finding the ticket office for Hooves in St. Anns Bay was a nightmare....
    My point is...if Jamaica wants to be successful in incidential tourism, major work must be done in terms of directional and business signs.

Roads leading to the interior of jamaica are very poor. One man commented that most of the jamaican leaders 'need to be chopped up and fed to hogs!!!'

Additionally, a stronger police crack-down on the dare-devil drivers and driving is needed!!!

If these basic requirements are not put in place--the All Inclusives will always carry de swing.
    Last edited by HL; August 10, 2010, 04:49 PM.

You are an idiot.... there is no way you can drive past that stadium for over a mile and not see it...end of this story

where were you looking to the construction site to the left?

hmmm...apparently there is, but then again you did start out calling him an idiot.....

Can't knock the AI concept. Last week I sent a Jamaican living in the states and visiting to one. He is from Spanish town and was complaining about how him never have a good vacation in Jamaica.

I told him man take your wife and go to a AI for a few days. I gave him an unbeatable price for 320 US dollars for 2 nights and 3 days. Since he has been back he has been living in my office and said he will be back next year. The good thing about the AI for me is I can budget, they provide baby sitting when I want and food for everybody when we want.

Staying at a AI don't mean you can't enjoy Ja. When my kids get bigger I don't want AI anymore unless a just me and the wifey want a little escape. The concept is good and can live within our tourism. It is not AI vs Tourism as Jawge a try portrait.

Yes sign is a big problem. Another thing is people giving direction. Those can be taken care of if people really valve tourism and their marketing.
        Last edited by Assasin; August 10, 2010, 04:57 PM.

No. I was looking for a sign that showed the location of a stadium

I saw one for some police constabulary or other.

Is there a clear sign that shows the location of the Stadium????.

Thanks!
          Last edited by HL; August 10, 2010, 05:15 PM.

what yuh saying, Sickko?

There isn't. In a North American city you will be informed miles before you reach the stadium and the turnoff to the stadium would be big and bold.

The guests at these All Inclusives--are herded on busses to different excursion points. They miss the real Jamaica in-between trips.

The above says it all. Boss back in the days when Ja practiced real tourism being lost among the locals was part of the whole experience (because you are not really lost but treated to the warmth of the people).

Yup I can recall heading to the "mother of all parties" (Frenchman in Ochi) and I asked my friend " did we pass Falmouth yet" He said long time. I said what? On my way back I made sure to look why I missed Falmouth: There was this small sign barely visible saying falmouth exit. I guess you are spoilt with the huge signs that are here telling you that there is your exit (at times two miles ahead if it's a major city).

Didnt you see the big chain-link fences and the parking lots plus the tops of the stands as you drove by..what were you looking for the sign that said "HL this is the stadium you are looking for?"

YOU did not know that you drive past Falmouth, but koo you too?

That HL nuh got nuh sense....

Trees and bush are allowed to grow--covering some of these signs too King Jawge.

A tourist would have a difficult time driving himself around..........

I have observed that Jamaicans in general have an open friendly disposition towards tourists.

Some (though) have a natural aggressive nature as displayed (above) by Scikko. It is this part we can do without.

Ok, the answer then is no. There are no clear signs that indicate the presence of a stadium.

Thanks!

So Jawge a tourist now? How him coulda drive past Falmouth?

yuh deaf or blind? "no large signs"!!! a wha really duh yuh?