Massive a thought came to me: What if crime

I don't think the issue with Jamaica is what tourists experience when they get there. Harrassment of tourists is a problem, but honeslty compared to other places *cough* Eygpt *cough*, Jamaica is not bad at all lol. Though vendors should be educated about the best methods to sell thier products and ways to communicate with potential customers. Almost everyone I know who has gone has loved it. Its getting tourists there in the first place.
    Btw, I have read that Eygpt and Jamaica were among the few destinations that British people are travelling to more this year than last year, as so many are deciding to stay in Britain.

Most tourist base their travel on their and family experience. I recently met a guy at work, who called me in his big office and asked me about Jamaica. He said his brother who travel nowhere went and told him the about his experience and this guy travel all over, but tell me he can't wait to go to Jamaica again. Meanwhile another co-worker years ago tell me she will never go back because of a very bad experience she had, she is a very nice person with a good stream of income that we could use.

You are surprise the amount of people who go because of personal recommendation(better than any travel agent).

Most tourist base their travel on their and family experience. I recently met a guy at work, who called me in his big office and asked me about Jamaica. He said his brother who travel nowhere went and told him the about his experience and this guy travel all over, but tell me he can't wait to go to Jamaica again. Meanwhile another co-worker years ago tell me she will never go back because of a very bad experience she had, she is a very nice person with a good stream of income that we could use.

You are surprise the amount of people who go because of personal recommendation(better than any travel agent).
        Yes I know, that goes with all countries but how many people have heard good recommendations but are scared because of the fear of crime? Jamaica has a high rate of returning visitors and like I said most people who go, love it. I just think the biggest issue is getting people to go in the first place. Once they go.... well you know how the rest goes! lol

Did you even read my initial post?

See it here:
            Local businesses often see their chances to earn income from tourists severely reduced by the creation of "all-inclusive" vacation packages. When tourists remain for their entire stay at the same cruise ship or resort, which provides everything they need and where they will make all their expenditures, not much opportunity is left for local people to profit from tourism.[/font]
            [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif'][/font]
            [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']The Organization of American States (OAS) carried out a survey of Jamaica's tourist industry that looked at the role of the all-inclusives compared to other types of accommodation. It found that 'All-inclusive hotels generate the largest amount of revenue but their impact on the economy is smaller per dollar of revenue than other accommodation subsectors.'[/font]
            [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']It also concluded that all-inclusives imported more, and employed fewer people per dollar of revenue than other hotels. This information confirms the concern of those who have argued that all-inclusives have a smaller trickle-down effect on local economies. (Source: Tourism Concern)[/font]
            [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']The cruise ship industry provides another example of economic enclave tourism. Non-river cruises carried some 8.7 million international passengers in 1999. On many ships, especially in the Caribbean (the world's most popular cruise destination with 44.5% of cruise passengers), guests are encouraged to spend most of their time and money on board, and opportunities to spend in some ports are closely managed and restricted.[/font]
            [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']Other negative impacts[/font]
            [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']Infrastructure cost[/font]
            [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']Tourism development can cost the local government and local taxpayers a great deal of money. Developers may want the government to improve the airport, roads and other infrastructure, and possibly to provide tax breaks and other financial advantages, which are costly activities for the government. Public resources spent on subsidized infrastructure or tax breaks may reduce government investment in other critical areas such as education and health.[/font]
            [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']Increase in prices[/font]
            [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']Increasing demand for basic services and goods from tourists will often cause price hikes that negatively affect local residents whose income does not increase proportionately. A San Francisco State University study of Belize found that, as a consequence of tourism development, the prices for locals increased by 8%.[/font]
            [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']Tourism development and the related rise in real estate demand may dramatically increase building costs and land values. Not only does this make it more difficult for local people, especially in developing countries, to meet their basic daily needs, it can also result in a dominance by outsiders in land markets and in-migration that erodes economic opportunities for the locals, eventually disempowering residents. In Costa Rica, close to 65% of the hotels belong to foreigners. Long-term tourists living in second homes, and the so-called amenity migrants (wealthy or retired people and liberal professionals moving to attractive destinations in order to enjoy the atmosphere and peaceful rhythms of life) cause price hikes in their new homes if their numbers attain a certain critical mass.[/font]
            [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']Economic dependence of the local community on tourism[/font]
            [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']Diversification in an economy is a sign of health, however if a country or region becomes dependent for its economic survival upon one industry, it can put major stress upon this industry as well as the people involved to perform well. Many countries, especially developing countries with little ability to explore other resources, have embraced tourism as a way to boost the economy.

Over the last 2-3 years I have taken about 6 or 7 different Americans with us on our trips to Jamaica and the line is getting longer. One of the things I make sure to do is have a little "orientation session" before I agree to them coming with us, to explain how Jamaica is kinda different.

If being offered a little weed is going to offend you, you probably should go to an all-inclusive. If all you want is a nice beach and some rum punch and not be bothered by anyone, then there are dozens of little islands that are probably better choices. If you expect the server at the jerk stand to be smiling from ear to ear and asking "is there anything else I can help you with?" you probably should go to somewhere in Florida.

Once we get past that then we can talk about the food, the music, the people and the attractions/entertainment.

But you right, nothing like word of mouth as a source of marketing.

A little nuh bad but sometimes it get tense. Let me give you an example. Five taximen fighting over one passing, one pulling him/her the other pulling the bag.

Majority a tourist don't business with JLP/PNP business or Bruce and Dudus but them interested in having a good time.

They are interested in safety though.

Did you even read my initial post?
                    yuh making some assumptions here. be careful, Jawge!

How much less of a percentage are we talking? They are not the only one importing willi nilli everything from abroad.

We have to shoulder some of the responsibility and pressure the Hotels and the government to make they buy locally and put tarrifs on the goods the import that can be produce locally.

Tufton trying on that front but he needs help. Obama just signed a waiver for manufacturing goods from abroad but the import piece is "only if the goods is can't be produced in the US". Why can't we have that kind of a law to gurantee that local produces are grown and marketed to these hotel?

Jawge I am sure a lot of AI guest go to Sumfest and Dunns River. We have to make attractions that they have to come and see and promote our little local stuff they will enjoy.