Massive a thought came to me: What if crime

• Massive a thought came to me: What if crime

was reduced significantly in Mobay, how would it affect tourism? What would the big hotels tell their guests? Students should write papers on this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TAYITODNvlM

Set my people free http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66of2DgED_E

If crime was reduced significantly in Mobay and Jamaica in general, we would have to turn back tourists until we double the room count and flights.

Pretty much!

aaah Iman but we had the said situation once in JA. One of our weakness is tribal politics: Joshua showed the way with social changes to economically empower the populace, we did not follow up on it. Beat the devila nd give him his due: Eddie showed us how wealthy Mobay could be by having world music festival. JTB had to beg private homes to put up tourists (Iman mi say everbaddy eat an laugh out of that festival from the cane an jelly man up) Why wasn't it continued on a yearly basis? Instead crime and AIs sprung up in the friendly city.

But mi think a di bigman a mash up tourism wid them All Inclusives.

How comes the heart of the murder Kingston don't have one AI. You know the irony of it all? Butch and Issa building hotel in Kingston and it is not AI.

Jawge AI and other concepts can florish. We need fi teach our people tourism. It is not a hard concept and it nuh take rocket science although a little bit would help to do the stats and demography to target market and make it more profitable.

With the crime rate as it is, the All Inclusives have saved tourism in Jamaica. If the Dominican Republic and Cuba with lower murder rates than Jamaica need all inclusives to attract tourists, how else is the murder capital of the world going to attract tourists?
            I have said this before, but I will repeat, Jamaica's tourist industry has done very well given the murder rate. What other country has a tourist industry like Jamaica's whilst being one of the murder capitals of the world? Of course it could do much better, but then so could Jamaica as a whole.

there are other murder capitals of the world with good amount of tourists as well.

The fact is for most part tourists are safe in Ja and we have beauty and it is now competitive so people will come and have a good time.

Just drive down Philly/Atlanta/LA and other town tourist town in the US and you see that tourism still a florish. Remember when they use to target tourism in Florida?

One of the problems our tourism image faces is that people kind of expect big cities to have some kind of crime problem in the depressed parts so they have that awareness going in. With a tropical island people have a different thinking about what they are going to experience. Its a very generic image which does not play to our strengths.

I like that "Once you go you Know" line that they use in some of the ads. I would like them to do some more with it, expand on it to differentiate the Jamaican experience from the other islands.

there are other murder capitals of the world with good amount of tourists as well.

The fact is for most part tourists are safe in Ja and we have beauty and it is now competitive so people will come and have a good time.

Just drive down Philly/Atlanta/LA and other town tourist town in the US and you see that tourism still a florish. Remember when they use to target tourism in Florida?
                  Philly and Atlanta are not tourist towns for international tourists. Domestic tourists will obviously feel more at ease in their own country. I remember when Miami and New York was considered dangerous, that reputation seems to have gone or died down now because both cities, especially NY, have significantly reduced their crime rates. The same would happen in JA over time.

I can't think of other countries with murder rates similar to jamaica that are considered "tourist hot spots".

Yes Jamaica is beautiful with a popular culture and the vast majority of tourists go there without incident, but that doesn't change the perception of it being a dangerous place where you can't walk the streets by yourself. If you remove the option of all inclusives, I think fewer people would dare make the trip.

Sass the great Marcus Garvey said you must look for things in your interest. Why are you so keen on defending AI's?
                    Reports show that it does not help the economy of JA or the average Jakans.
                    Do you know that unlike JA in Germany you can stay at a small man's house if you cannot afford the big hotels?

Why is it that AI's are only in third world countries? Since its not rocket science answer that.

One of the problems our tourism image faces is that people kind of expect big cities to have some kind of crime problem in the depressed parts so they have that awareness going in. With a tropical island people have a different thinking about what they are going to experience. Its a very generic image which does not play to our strengths.
                      Thats true too, plus Jamaica's size.

"Philly and Atlanta re not tourist town for international tourists"
                        Say who?? They are both international tourist destination.

Isreal, Lebonan, Brazil, Mexico, Egypt, Jordon, for example are all major tourist destination along with so many other.

NY even in the worst of times was still a major tourist destination.

Many tourist and travellers understand that the crime is normally not in the midst of the resort area. I am not saying we shouldn't solve our problem but full speed ahead with tourism. It may also be the catalyst to help and solve the crime too.

I don't think anyone is defending AI's, however looking at things realistically, Jamaica's tourist product needs them at this moment in time. Significantly reduce the murder rate and its a different story.

"Reports show that it does not help the economy of JA or the average Jakans. "

What report show that?? We need all the concepts and innovation we can to make tourism SUCCESSFUL.

exactly people know that in big cities you have problem and in tourist resorts it is different. One of the major problem with Jamaica is the tugs and hustlers who harrass tourist.

Now imagine this picture. You hear how Jamaica violent and you go on a trip because you get good price and the beauty of the place, food etc. Once you land and come out a the airport people a hold on to your hand, a offer you ganja and a wait on you at your hotel gate. Even though they may not kill you but what impression you leave with?

Take all that away and you get good service and good treatment and you have a wonderful vacation, now isn't that a big difference?

Until you go is right but only that we want to gurantee the good service, not leave it up to chance.