Education the victim of tribal politics

Did they go to Barbados and Trinidad as well, or were those islands spared of this curse?

I agree with much of what you and Don1 say about the traditional Jamaican business class but I don't know if I agree that the younger generation have the backra massa views about business to the same extent as thier parents. As an example I don't think Joey Issa and John Issa are the same.

In spite of all Jamaicas problems I still see tremendous potential if we get certain basic things right. Jamaicans have to play a role in keeping the leaders feet to the fire. I am just not ready to accept that it is out of our hands and Somalia is our future.

Jawge I agree Mobay could easily be a big convention and entertainment city, it has all the basic ingredients: intl airport, close proximity to the US, great weather and entertainment.

Yes boss and put the response in another thread up top.

I agree Mobay could easily be a big convention and entertainment city, it has all the basic ingredients: intl airport, close proximity to the US, great weather and entertainment.

I notice a new fancy strip mall dem opening over Ironshore side. Other than that not too much a gwan.

Incidentally, they did not go to Barbados, or should I say they were not invited or allowed in Barbados. The reason being, the white British colonialists stayed in Barbados, and in fact are still there to this day. They used the Lebanese and Jews to replace them and continue the pseudoapatheid in jamaica on their behalf, to this day.

The Jews were in Jamaica before most others. Not a new thing. Spanish town had 4 Jewish cemeteries.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
              You are absolutely right Don1. Islandman, you have to remember that the so-called Jamaican business class is really not a class of true investors, they are really resellers, more or less sophisticated higglers, or should I say haberdashers, in the true sense of their Lebanese, or Chinese past. Of course their are a few exceptions. They make money off a poorly educated workforce. Afterall, you should not be fooled. The so called business-class in Jamaica is not made up of highly educated people either. Why would they want a workforce which more educated than themselves?.
              inna economics...dem kall di typical Jamaican capitalist a..... margin gatherer

No innovation required to be successful...just the ability to access capital and some foreign link up to import goods or services.

A few break the mould however...Carlton Alexander was one, Butch Stewart...warts and all..is another

The only mistake you are making Don1 is to think that they are not as bad as the ones in Haiti. It is the same set of players from Labanon, and jews from Portugal, and Spain. same families. They split up and some went to Haiti, Jamaica, Aruba, Liberia etc. They all have the same plan, it is only taking longer to reach their goal in Ja, than it took in Haiti, and Liberia. They are getting there slowly. The rate had been slowed by Manley in the 70's and 80's, but successive corrupt governments have placed them back on course. It has been more difficult in places like the Aruba, because they are still a colony of the Dutch.
                true dat....

Incidentally, they did not go to Barbados, or should I say they were not invited or allowed in Barbados. The reason being, the white British colonialists stayed in Barbados, and in fact are still there to this day. They used the Lebanese and Jews to replace them and continue the pseudoapatheid in jamaica on their behalf, to this day.
                  Yes...the Barbadian dynamic is quite different from Jamaica's. The planter class seems to have been tamer than the Jamaican varietal....producing a more educated and egalitarian minded elite class today....and a more educated, harmonious and productive society

The Jamaican elite politico-business class is horribly myopic and backward... producing...

... dat being said mi wuddeh waan live ah Barbados...dem peeple deh feel seh dem more english dan di chupid English dem

Plus our people were too licky licky and easily led.