• wyclef jean considering running for President of Haiti

Haïti: Wyclef Jean à la présidence? L'idée ne fait pas l'unanimité

Haïti: La candidature probable à la présidence d'Haïti de Wyclef Jean est loin de faire l'unanimité à Port-au-Prince, certains dirigeants politiques criant à l'aventurisme, alors que dans la rue, les démunis rêvent de voir la star du hip-hop au Palais national.

"Ce qui se passe en ce moment c'est une réaction très émotionnelle. Avec Wyclef, c'est de l'improvisation, une aventure", réagit Evans Paul, dirigeant d'un parti d'opposition, à propos de l'effervescence suscitée dans l'île par la présence éventuelle du musicien dans la course à la présidence.

M. Jean, né dans la banlieue de la capitale surpeuplée d'où il a émigré pour les Etats-Unis à l'âge de neuf ans, doit annoncer sa candidature jeudi soir sur CNN, a fait savoir la chaîne américaine. Un membre de son entourage a confirmé à l'AFP que le musicien américano-haïtien se présenterait dans les prochains jours devant le Conseil électoral pour s'enregistrer officiellement.

Dans les rues de Port-au-Prince, les jeunes sont majoritairement séduits par l'idée, même si beaucoup ne veulent pas le voir abandonner la musique.

Réunis à un coin de rue à Pétion-ville, banlieue de l'est de la capitale, des petits commerçants ambulants et quelques chômeurs disent vouloir soutenir "Wyclef". "Ah oui! Il a montré qu'il peut faire quelque chose pour le pays avec sa fondation. Oui, nous voterons pour lui", affirment-ils en choeur.

L'ex-membre des Fugees est intervenu à plusieurs reprises après le séisme du 12 janvier, qui a fait plus de 250.000 morts et jeté à la rue environ 1,5 million d'Haïtiens, pour distribuer à ses compatriotes démunis, avec sa fondation Yéle Haïti, des tentes, de la nourriture ou de l'eau.

"Je vais voter à une condition: si Wyclef est dans la course", dit Emmanuelle, 21 ans.

"Il n'y a rien de rationnel dans tout ça", tonne à l'inverse Evans Paul, l'un des chefs du Parti "Alternative", jugeant que Wyclef Jean ne va pas faire avancer la cause du peuple, ni celle de la démocratie en Haïti.

"Cela me surprend d'entendre Wyclef se présenter à une campagne électorale. Je ne vois pas en lui un leader politique", tranche Jimmy, un étudiant.

De même, Maguy, une restauratrice, refuse de voir un artiste au pouvoir. "Qu'il reste là où il travaille si bien. La politique ce n'est pas son affaire."

"Je suis préoccupé", confie Serge Gilles, chef d'un parti de gauche. "On est en train de mélanger deux choses: la politique et l'art. Cela peut donner des résultats négatifs", prévient cet ancien candidat à la présidence, aujourd'hui opposé à la tenue des élections.

"La politique doit rester aux politiques", ajoute M. Gilles. Pour lui, la venue de Wyclef Jean en politique est la conséquence de trois facteurs: la confiscation du pouvoir par la dictature des Duvalier (1957-1986), la recherche d'un messie (élection en 1990 du prêtre Jean-Bertrand Aristide) et "l'anarcho-populisme" instauré par le président Préval qui a, selon lui, affaibli les institutions du pays, dont les partis.

Plus de 70 partis, regroupements ou groupements de partis sont néanmoins admis à participer dans les prochaines joutes, législatives et présidentielle, prévues le 28 novembre.

Le Conseil électoral provisoire haïtien (CEP), qui a ouvert jusqu'au 7 août la période d'inscription des candidatures à la présidence, a reçu cinq candidatures mais en attend plusieurs autres.
    Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
    United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
    happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
    Probably forthcoming...

yeah but...don't hom woulda haffi sort out him tax issues?

bredrin.. wi look like wi speak French on ya ??

i have been known to beg paron on account of my french from time to time...james robertson however....

bredrin.. wi look like wi speak French on ya ??
          see di translation yah !

Haiti: The application probably the presidency of Haiti by Wyclef Jean is far from unanimous in Port-au-Prince, some political leaders calling for adventurism, while in the street, the poor dream of seeing the star hip-hop at the National Palace.

"What is happening now is a very emotional reaction. With Wyclef, it's improvisation, an adventure," responds Paul Evans, leader of an opposition party, about the excitement caused in the island by the presence of the musician in the presidential race.

Jean, born in the crowded suburb of the capital from where he emigrated to the United States at the age of nine years, is expected to announce his candidacy Thursday night on CNN, said the U.S. television network. A member of his entourage confirmed to AFP that the Haitian-American musician would stand in the coming days before the electoral council to officially register.

In the streets of Port-au-Prince, the young are mostly attracted by the idea, although many do not want to see him abandon music.

Gathered at a street corner in Petion-city, eastern suburb of the capital, small peddlers and some say they want to support unemployed "Wyclef. "Oh yes! He showed he can do something for the country with his foundation. Yes, we will vote for him," they say in unison.

The former Fugees member intervened on several occasions after the January 12 earthquake, which killed more than 250,000 dead and thrown into the street about 1.5 million Haitians, to distribute to the poor fellow, with his foundation Yéle Haiti, tents, food or water.

"I'll vote on one condition: if Wyclef is in the race," said Emmanuelle, 21.

"There is nothing rational in all this" ton unlike Evans Paul, a leader of the Party "Alternative", holding that Wyclef Jean will not advance the cause of the people, nor that of democracy in Haiti.

"It surprises me to hear Wyclef stand for election. I do not see him as a political leader, Jimmy slice, a student.

Similarly, Maguy, a restaurateur, refuses to see an artist in power. "Let him stay where he is working so well. The policy is not his business."

"I am concerned," says Serge Gilles, head of a leftist party. "We are currently mixing two things: politics and art. This may give negative results," warned the former presidential candidate, today opposed the holding of elections.

"The policy must remain in politics," says Gilles. For him, the arrival of Wyclef Jean in politics is the result of three factors: the confiscation of power by the Duvalier dictatorship (1957-1986), looking for a messiah (election in 1990 the priest Jean-Bertrand Aristide) and "anarcho-populism" created by President Préval has, in his view, weakened the country's institutions, including parties.

More than 70 political parties, groups or groups of parties are nevertheless allowed to participate in future contests, legislative and presidential elections, scheduled Nov. 28.

The Provisional Electoral Council (CEP), which opened on August 7 until the registration period for candidates for the presidency, received five nominations, but expects more.

United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
          Probably forthcoming...

heh heh!

still french!

his wife is ja'can .
                Probably forthcoming...

When you use those online translators...ahhhh bwoyy; it jus nuh soun right!

Anyway, if he does become president there are some pluses: for starters...

1. He could sing at his own inauguration, save some dollahs and give a concert!
                  2. Need to fund-raise? give a concert!
                  3. Instead of a state of the nation address...no need to wallow in all the bad news.. just give a concert!
                  I'm sure the list is endless...

He may not qualify. The constitution states that you have to live inna Haiti for the last 5 years and since he is a refuge(fugees) he may not qualify.

Then again we have so many unqualify people inna our parliament so......

"give a concert"

He may not qualify. The constitution states that you have to live inna Haiti for the last 5 years and since he is a refuge(fugees) he may not qualify.

Then again we have so many unqualify people inna our parliament so......
                        rules can be adjusted in haiti sass .
                        Probably forthcoming...

...and broken in jamaica.

that's funny.

Apparently his uncle , who is Haitian ambassador to the US, is considering running for President too.