• BRIC to become BRICS??

Russia ready to discuss SouthAfrica joining BRIC - Medvedev

"We are ready to develop various forms of cooperation with our South African partners, including... in the direction of BRIC," Medvedev said after talks in Moscow with South African President Jacob Zuma.

"We understand that... the participation of the Republic of South Africa in the discussion of the wide range of issues that we discuss in the BRIC forum today would be very productive," he said.

BRIC aims to improve the current global economic situation and strengthen cooperation between the four countries, seen as the main forces driving the global economy beyond the traditional rich developed nations.

The second BRIC summit was held in Brazil in April.

MOSCOW, August 5 (RIA Novosti)

Interesting. Would be good for them.

If only Nigeria could attain some long term stability , then they along with SA could go a long way in pulling the continent forward economically.

On a related note, I have a Nigerian bredren who lived in Jamaica for years. Last year he decided to move to Ghana because he said there are many opportunities opening up in West Africa, BUT you have to have the contacts and know people.

Interesting. Would be good for them.

If only Nigeria could attain some long term stability , then they along with SA could go a long way in pulling the continent forward economically.

On a related note, I have a Nigerian bredren who lived in Jamaica for years. Last year he decided to move to Ghana because he said there are many opportunities opening up in West Africa, BUT you have to have the contacts and know people.
      Ah Nigeria.... so much potential .....completely WASTED

Like a certain Caribbean island we know and love...ongly wussa

It's a bit amazing that a Goldman-Sachs economist basically set up an international organization just by writing a paper and coming up with a catchy acronym.....

...and if I recall correctly in the original paper on the BRIC countries or one of the subsequent papers by Goldman-Sachs, a section was actually devoted to South Africa...

imagine that!

south africa has tremendous potential ... but more than that..it is realising some of that potential..

If Nigeria had better governance, and less corruption it would be bringing the entire world out of recession.

What a waste. It is not difficult to understand this waste if you are exposed to enough Nigerians and get a feel of how most of them think. Sad.