I am suffering from Jamaica withdrawal symptoms

Fun in America is mostly technology. BORING.

Correct. I was in Orlando two weekends ago (three nights) for a fambly reunion with three of my offspring 20, 16 and 11... none of them wanted to go to Disney etc even after my brother gave me two free passes to Universal, so why fight it? besides there were so many family members there (85) it was more fun to sit, reminisce, catch up, meet the new additions, have a drink (or three) and eat a food at the (villa style) hotel we all stayed at. (a place called Liki Tiki Village)

When all is said and done, the company you keep can make up for lack of ambiance... though my suggestion and wish is for the next fambly reunion to be in J-A !!

Please follow protocol and report when you get back in Sir. Thought yu still outside. Yu miss a lime Monday night.

Yes Islandman. My wife and I were at Pier 1 in MoBay at the Dancehall Queen contest, and was similarly immersed in the sea of perpetual filthy ganja smoke. The smoke is one thing, but what makes it worse is the blank stare of stupidity and ignorance on the faces of those smoking the dope. Most probably could not tell how many parishes Jamaica has, or what county St. James is located in. We need a new way of thinking in Ja.

Fun in America is mostly technology. BORING.
            Dat depen pon wich part yuh live an ow yuh connected an ow yuh flex. Inna Manhatten mi ave 10 ting fi du ANY nite...event an ooman fram any ah di 150+ nation inna di city ah profile....mi neva si nutten guhsuh anywhey else pon di planet.

Jamaica noice still....diffrantly

hayter!

Well I agree NY city is on a different level. Nowhere on earth do you have such diverse experiences and people in such close proximity. I love to experience other peoples culture so me always enjoy visiting NY.

Its a pity so many Jamaicans living there (and I am sure people from other places too) stay in thier little world and don't experience the full richness of the city.

Is not just Jamaicans. Many people stay within their familiar zones. I like to experience some parts of other peoples' culture but I am not going to go to a Cambodian bashment in the Bronx just too see how they get down.

So, yes, I'm sure there are a million things happening in NYC on any given night, but 99.9% of them we will not be interested in, and with good reason!

Sure, but the other 0.1% still leaves a lot of interesting things to do though.

I would not be going to a Russian bar to have a drink for any particular reason either. But how many people live in NY for decades and have never been to a museum for example? It would be nice if some black people would at least go look pon all the things them tek outta Africa even once in thier life!

all dem need fi do fi si dat is look inna di mirror.

mi get yuh, although i think that is a personal thing. if yuh have the interest yuh guh look. it is hard to be motivated to go to a museum etc if you do not have the interest.

Fair enough. My basic point though is that people can benefit from getting out of thier comfort zone now and again and see how other people live and view the world. If you nuh do that living in NY you never going to do it.

yes, but i thought we were talking about fun things to do. i mean, going to museums can be considered fun, or interesting, and if that is what you are talking about then certainly, Jamaica cannot compare to a NYC for "things to do".

Oh yeah we were. I forgot.

LOL.

Not to take anything away from the NYC, and I love central park, the food and diversity. The things I don't like is that people don't even talk to each other and if you say hi you maybe looked on like a rapist. I enjoyed the excitement but now I look more towards nature and the simple things. Working with technology, then going to places to see technology, slot machines etc are not my thing.

Vacation in America is made up of technology, hustling etc and mi nah go Idaho or no Tea Party remote town.

Sure, but the other 0.1% still leaves a lot of interesting things to do though.

I would not be going to a Russian bar to have a drink for any particular reason either. But how many people live in NY for decades and have never been to a museum for example? It would be nice if some black people would at least go look pon all the things them tek outta Africa even once in thier life!
                                in NYC as everywhere it all depends on one's interests and also the level of access one has.... to be able to fulljoy tings from an insider perspective.... that aspect is determined by one's circle of contacts.... an dat diffrant from one person to the next.

Apart from all nations being here in the population mix as well as all nations having official representation here due to that and the UN..... NY is the undisputed media capital of the werl as well as a financial.. fashion and arts powerhouse...... suh yuh ave tings ah gwaan 24/7 inna dem fields deh

....but yuh rite mose peeple nuh ave a clue wha gwaan...ar nuh ave nuh intress outside dem likkle community...