Blaine to launch political party

Could it be the perception of the candidate coming forward to propose a third party, and not necessarily idea of a third party? What if a successful businessman/woman wanted to get involved, the perception might be different. Lee Chin, Butch Stewart, Capt Horace Burrell and others might be perceived different if they proposed a third party.

It is tragic a third party may be discounted even before it is launched.

if ever there was a time for a 3rd party, it is now. yet, look at the reaction to her announcement.

most jamaicans, to fill at least an exercise book leaf, think the prime minister should have resigned. yet, even with that, wi nuh waan see back portia any time soon. for most sensible peoples around the world, the solution would be 3rd PARTY STRAIGHT! Not us.

wi look like wi really doomed. the tribalism is so entrenched that wi not even realise dis might be wi last chance.
      Jamaicans are wedded to the JLPNP tribalism they grew up with...know and LOVE.

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
        when di money part come in to question, di diaspora allways go mute. dem have di biggest voice but as soon as donation fi gi dem disappear.
        Well there goes the US$2B+ sent to Jamaica annually by those tightwads....Jamaica's de facto welfare system

mi rather do it individually, mi nah fi pretend and make big promises that mi can't live up to.

Could Betty Ann Blaine really be considered less qualified or worthy than either Bruce or Portia? Really!

Some of the other names you called...

There is the need for a third party but I am very skeptical of these radio talk heads. They have no real substance.

I am also skeptical of the diaspora group as they get involve and re-generate a group every 5-10 years without consistency.

I was at one of the first launching as a kid of a diaspora conference when PJ chaired it a long time ago and they still can't have an organise group that can put even basic policies on the agenda.

Third Party yes.

mi rather do it individually, mi nah fi pretend and make big promises that mi can't live up to.
                A sole blower...

Boss don't listen to them it's a start in the right direction. Ja needs a fundamental change. The people have to say enough is enough.

Me surprised at the negative reaction to this.

I don't know much about the lady and her credentials but at least mek we see what she have to offer nuh? If she nuh have nutten we are no worse off than before. If she can generate some decent funding from the diaspora, and some participation from well meaning Jamaicans on the rock, then how can that be a bad thing?

Is like we only think change can come if a Messiah ride down on a white horse from the mountains and command it to happen to rhatid. It would be nice if it happened but how long should we wait for that? 2000+ years?

Blaine has to have more "substance" than Portia and Bruce combined!

Yuh looking at the "Effects of slavery 101". that's all.

I would advocate to allow the JLP 18 years to effect meaningful change.

If no luck then 3rd.. well 4th..actually 5th Party all the way. (NDM and Rasta ah nuh party ?)

It seems only fair..

I won't say no and I have only heard her once or twice but it just seems like every talk show host think they can be a leader.

It was sad for me to see the fall of Ms. Haughton which started after she started her party. While I don't know her personally, friends and family moved in a circle.

Golding has a talk show too.

Blaine has to have more "substance" than Portia and Bruce combined!

True. But remember is the people on the rock that you have to convince/win over, in order for her to get the votes.