After listening to a lot more recent dancehall music than usual over the last 2weeks, I have to admit that there is more quality music being produced than I realised.
I hope a few more of them get some crossover success. Ot will help the industry to grow and support more artistes.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
okay. no problem with that. for some, crossover also entails americanising the music a bit, to make it more appealing to american listeners. i hate that!
I notice that a lot of them have a bit of a hip-hop flavor these days. Still dancehall for sure but the beats have definitely evolved, along with the Autotune effect.
Anyway my biggest problem right now is that I can't get that "Whats in my Cup" song out of my head.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
I ...
Anyway my biggest problem right now is that I can't get that "Whats in my Cup" song out of my head.
You too?
As I said on this program I think that is the biggest problem with Dancehall. They adoptation of too much hip hop strip and flavor.
Our originality forced them to listen to us. We need a few more innovator in the dancehall. I also said there is a lot of good music (dancehall) been produced. Too much payola inna the business so some not even get the airtime they deserve.
I will say it again, the music is far from dead.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.