• Bunting Defends Crime Thesis

Bunting Defends Crime Thesis
    Published: Saturday | July 31, 20101 Comment and 0 Reactions
    The Editor, Sir:

The July 28 editorial titled 'Flaccid arguments by The PNP', which dismissed my assessment of the strength and influence of the notorious 'Shower Posse', headquartered in Tivoli Gardens, represents either costly naivete or dangerous denial of the proverbial 800-lb gorilla in the room.

Your account of the People's National Party's interpretation of the recent fall in crime is inaccurate. We are not claiming that 'all crime' in Jamaica was the result of franchise operations of the Shower Posse. However, there is a mountain of information fingering 'Shower', also known as the 'Presidential Click', as the apex criminal organisation in Jamaica. My assertion is that 'Shower' co-opted, directed, or franchised other criminal gangs across the island and overseas, with a high degree of sophistication. It was the disruption of this machinery which lowered violent crimes, not the state of emergency per se.

Authoritative assessment

But this is not my invention; just refer to an authoritative non-political assessment - the US indictment against Coke in August 2009 - which asserts:

"The members of Coke's organisation, known as the 'Shower Posse', and also as 'Presidential Click' (the 'Organisation') reside in Tivoli Gardens, other areas of Jamaica, and in other countries, including the United States.

"Organisation members rely on Coke to assist them in their drug businesses here in the United States and in other countries. Because of Coke's international power and influence, Coke is able to provide protection to Organisation members involved in drug trafficking and other illegal activities, in the United States and elsewhere."

It is logical that Coke/Shower would provide similar protection to Organisation members in Jamaica in much the same way that it provides to them internationally. My thesis is that disruption of the leadership cadre of the Shower Posse has (at least temporarily) reduced its capacity to provide protection and central direction to gangs like Stone Crusher in St James.

This is the reason why there has been a dramatic fall in violent crimes in parishes like St James, even though these parishes were not covered by the limited state of emergency.

I am, etc.,

PETER BUNTING

Opposition Spokesman

on National Security

a cogent argument...

I think Police Intelligence would guide any discussion on this matter.

What is Bunting level of access to this information ?

What is the use of speculation on the part of the likes of Bunting when there is a large intelligence database on Gangs and their modus operandi ?

Mek mi guh check di head of NIB..

speculation? perhaps. but a solid one!

What is Bunting level of access to this information ?

What is the use of speculation on the part of the likes of Bunting when there is a large intelligence database on Gangs and their modus operandi ?

Mek mi guh check di head of NIB..

Using your own argument that there is this preponderance of intelligence in the possession of the security forces, what is needed is not a SoE but the relatively simple targeting of criminal enterprises and the criminals! Your Likle Brucie recognized that and stated it as reported in one of our daily newspapers.

You are running in place with your self-defeating presentation.

I said there was a preponderance of intelligence ?

Yuh love put word innah people mout...

Start ovah..

I said there was a preponderance of intelligence ?

Yuh love put word innah people mout...

Start ovah..
              Suh yuh a-seh di followin fram yuh ownah mout
              must be interpreted as, "let yourselves be guided by less than preponderance of intelligence"?

Police Intelligence VS Bunting Speculation..

Mi guh wid di Police Intelligence..

Wheh bout yuh ?

What an idiot. I actually saw Bunting as a small ray of light for the PNP, but he clearly has been infected by Portia's stupidity.
                  What is Bunting's reason for the murder rate now returning to pre soe levels? The shower posse have reformed in the immediate days after the soe? Lol

how do you explain the dramatic drop in crime in soe-free montego bay?

Mosiah, why must you repeat the crap being spewed by Bunting? There was an article where thugs in East Kingston was upset that thugs from Tivoli was hiding there. They didn't want them there because they didn't want what happened to Tivoli to happen to there area.

Now is it possible that the thugs in MoBay didn't want the same to happen to their area nor did they want to have the SoE extend to their area? The FACT is ... since the SoE expired murder is on the rise.

okay. let's say i accept that. It has become even clearer to me, with some recent revelations by your lying prime minister, that this whole soe was a sham.

suffice it to say, i am totally against its extension, for several reasons.

the police and soldiers need to just get off their lazy asses and get out there and do their jobs, free from political intervention, and with decency. stop murdering people! and stop treating people like criminals when they have not yet seen a judge.

when a detective can tell me that jamaican police don't investigate crimes, then...soe is not the answer!

okay. let's say i accept that. It has become even clearer to me, with some recent revelations by your lying prime minister, that this whole soe was a sham.

suffice it to say, i am totally against its extension, for several reasons.

the police and soldiers need to just get off their lazy asses and get out there and do their jobs, free from political intervention, and with decency. stop murdering people! and stop treating people like criminals when they have not yet seen a judge.

when a detective can tell me that jamaican police don't investigate crimes, then...soe is not the answer!
                          Your problem is you are making this about Bruce. Hope you realize that Bruce as PM have bodyguards. The only thing that seem to put the thugs on the back foot was the SoE but of course you people not interested in that .... political points seems to be the order of the day.

and the JLP was interested in it. keep on believing that.

Oh... the stories continue ... last tolled all MPs present voted for it, but since speculation seems to be the in thing round here carry on.