Portia's Foolish Proposal

• Portia's Foolish Proposal

There should be a residency requirement for MPs & Councilors to live in the area they represent....

Foolish proposal

Published: Friday | July 30, 2010

Simpson-Miller

The Editor, Sir:
    I think the recent call by Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller, urging wealthy Jamaicans to take up residence in inner-city [COLOR=blue ! important][COLOR=blue ! important]communities[/COLOR][/COLOR], is a most foolish one. Why should they?
    If she truly believes this is a good move then she should lead by example and take up residence in her constituency or some other garrison/inner-city community. In the same way that PM Bruce Golding led by example when he took a 15 per cent salary cut and urged his Cabinet ministers to take a ten per cent cut in their salaries, which they did, Mrs Simpson Miller should lead by example. However, if challenged to do so, I suspect her defence will be that she does not consider herself to be a wealthy Jamaican.
    It is also worth noting that when Mrs Simpson Miller was urged by PM Golding to take a salary cut, she failed to comply with that request. Where is the sacrifice on your part Mrs Simpson Miller?
    I am, etc.,
    PATRICK A GALLIMORE
    pagalley@hotmail.com

Doesn't sound foolish to me. Impractical yes...but the issue clearly is symbolic

For what reason should everybody live in the garrison.

The surprising thing is that a lot of so call uptowners have their roots there or was born in the ghetto or some improverish countryside.

Won't make a difference.

look up the meaning of symbolic....please

I know some people who would love to see the security forces simply drop bombs onto the garrisons. Those are the people who need to live there for a month.

I think this forum is more important than people think.

I agree with Portia.

Blessed

I will move in as soon as she put the pot pon fiyah.

This will be good!

You think most of the people don't know or them ignore it?

Well, as she came up with the idea, have her lead by example!

Tick Tock, we are waiting..... LoL